We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #5 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Pros
Location outside city center in a calm area. Rooms of very high standard. Service in general very attentive. We can highly recommend the indian restaurant in the hotel, excellent quality and service. Nice pool area.
Cons
You have to wait for taxis (30 minutes), only Tuk-Tuks are available outside the hotel for immediate service. Hotel limousine service on the expensive side. Still some demolishing work ongoing outside the hotel, but seems to come to an end soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeltweitOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us. I have duly noted your other comments and I apologize for the inconvenient you have experienced with the demolition work next door.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,365 - 1,371 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed there just one night stop over.

Was very nice. Spacious rooms, perfect service great food.

Unfortunately a big construction zone next door but noise wont get into the rooms however at poolsite pretty loud these days.

SPA not done yet but shall be opened in 1-2 month.

They provide 1st calls pickups from airport with BMW 5 or 7 series...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us. My sincere apologies for the disturbance you have experienced with the construction next door.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed at this property for two days in April.It is a luxurious property .The rooms were of adequate size with walk in wardrobes.The bathrooms were swish with all the ameneties especially the view from the tub of Bay of Bengal.They had a pillow menu and a blue ray disc player.They had arranged a cake for us as it was our anniversary visit which was nice.The food there was amazing specially the morning buffet.The food at there Indian restaurant is also nice.The gardens and landscaping was also nicely done.The staff was very hospitable.The pool was also nice,they also have a kids pool.
The only glitch was that wifi is chargeable in this hotel at high rates which is strange considering smaller hotels are giving it for free.But all in all nice,comfortable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Stay at a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were here as part of a Kuoni tour of Southern India. We were welcomed warmly here and it is quite a swish hotel. The room was a good size, although a standard room, and there was plenty of space, with the usual AC, safe, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge etc. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom had separate bath and shower, free toiletries and was very nicely fitted out with twin sinks and plenty of lighting. There was a separate room for your suitcases like a walk in wardrobe so you were never falling over your stuff in the bedroom. There is wifi in the room but it’s charged for. There is a pool and spa with a hairdresser and salon. There are two a la carte restaurants, one Chinese and one Indian, but by far the best value for money, and entertainment, is the buffet. The evening we were there was themed – street foods of the world, and as well as Indian (things you wouldn't dare eat on the street but were fantastic) there was Japanese, Mexican, American, Arabian, Thai, so many. There must have been well over 100 individual dishes on offer. There was an (unlimited) alcohol price, and a non-alcohol price which included water and soft drinks. Staff were enormously helpful in explaining what things were but also bringing things to your table, dishes were cleared quickly, and there were lots of desserts and ice cream. Breakfast was also fantastic. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I enjoyed my business stay at the Leela Palace during Jan. 2014. I loved my room and my Bay of Bengal sea view. The hotel is beautiful, the grounds and landscaping
are lovely.

My room - loved my room, so many nice and unique touches which came with my room. Long term guests appreciate the business desk area with a plentiful supply of computer/tech outlets. Super quiet room, comfortable bed with a pillow menu option. Wifi, not so great, nor was it always reliable. Very poor for business travel.

I enjoyed the Lunch and Dinning Buffets with the various round the world food stations. Service could be very slow. There were times I had to leave my table to find wait staff to serve beverages or get my check.

The drivers, desk staff, front porters, and housekeeping were all wonderful. Housekeeping was great and always timely.

If there were any requests, the hotel always was prompt in helping. The only odd thing was requesting an ironing board, I was told I could only have the board for 2 hours. When I requested the board, I had plans to use the board much later during the day, so when the staff delivered the board I had to rearrange my schedule.

Room Tip: Variety of restaraunts, the room comfort can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 935teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us. I was however sorry to read about the few gaps in some of the service aspect and I sincerely apologize. Rest assure that it has been addressed with the concern Managers and I thank you for bringing these points to my attention.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were upgraded on arrival to the junior suite, and comfortably accommodated our family of three. There was a kitchenette which was a bit pointless. We had superb views from every window including the bathroom of the Adyar River flowing into the ocean, and fisherman's village. We could see daily life of the fishermen out with their boats, the buffaloes and herons and birds in the river - great to wake up to! Staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent choice at breakfast, and a very good Chinese restaurant.
When we were staying the building next door was being demolished, so the dust created meant we couldn't use the pool which was a shame. Only thing that spoiled it for us was being served raw chicken at the main restaurant on our first evening. We ate out after that, even though all the staff were very apologetic.
Our first choice in Chennai.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean/ river views. Go for suite, and one facing south to get ocean and river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us. However, I was sorry to read about your food experience on the first day and I sincerely apologize for this.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Was there on 9th Feb ,14 in connection with a pre -wedding night dinner ,The ambience really needs to be lauded.Great...The decor of the Ballroom was superb.The food too was really good.I enjoyed the Passion fruit desert-superb. .

In all a great place to go......

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jaya53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
3,090 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,223 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#9 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#11 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,583 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#31 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,397 reviews
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#18 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $168 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing