We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Chennai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #5 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very impressed with the Leela Chennai. Great Luxury hotel no expense spared to create the signature Leela opulence.
Service was brilliant & the restaurants superb!!!

Would highly recommend the Leela if you need a great stay in Chennai.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apterex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,323 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The Leela is amazing. Such a beautiful opulent hotel. The staff are so friendly & attentive. Out room was beautiful with so many luxuries. The pool area is fantastic with towels, high quality sun beds, slippers & robes, not to mention the dressing area. Location wise there's not much outside apart from a few places to eat. As you'd expect it's expensive to use mini bar (£11 for Vodka miniature). My only criticism is that I'd expect free Wifi not 300 rupees an hour.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank UkPeteD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed in Leela Palace from 10th March till 15th March it was an wonderful trip, I really enjoyed my stay there. There is no words can ever discribe how beautiful the hotel, people and delicious food. The hospitility rendered was superb good.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the pool nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann7241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a great hotel with a fabulous sea view, especially from the higher floors. The rooms are very nice and have a nice feel of understated luxury.
The bathroom and the closets are quite big and the bed is also extremely comfortable. Very suitable for an extended business stay.
The bar has a good collection of beers.
The laundry service is excellent with timely delivery of clothes.
Airport transfer is through luxury BMW 5 series and you arrive in style!
Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I had brunch in China XO and it was pleasant experience.
I enjoyed with mouth watering dumpling and some good dishes.
I also liked the interiors and setup of the restaurant as well as hotel
I love to be in this place again with gettogether

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor about your experience for the Dim Sum Brunch of China XO.

Your positive feedback about the restaurant is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future to experience our other restaurants.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

From The Leela on the beach of Chennai you can watch the Raman effect in style and comfort. True to Raman's discovery, the sea does not reflect the exact colours of the sky but shows it in different colours . The great scientist, C. V. Raman saw in it a mystery of Nature which changes the frequency of the light falling on an object as it reflects the rays back. One can celebrate the Raman effect almost on all days through the glass wall of your room here with a view on the vast stretch of Bay of Bengal, a luxury on the world-famous Marina, as here you escape the heat on the sands during the day and the glaring lights on the sea shore at night. This is the one and only hotel to give you the best chance to view the sky and its touching the sea in the distant horizon without any distraction, save some flocks of birds from Siberia making a momentary V-formation.

The hotel menu too was authentic and natural, capturing the smell and colour of the indigenous dishes with a full complement of adds-on which are all but forgotten in other places. Added to it was personal care which was unbelievable. The staff seemed to have learnt that I had won an award for writing. When the Manager greeted me to say congratulations, I thought it was a customary ritual more to complement themselves than me! I was pleasantly surprised to find a huge bouquet of flowers with a note to express their joy.

As the twinkling stars came on to dot the cloudless sky, I could hear a gentle roar of the waves. It was music to my ears, usually battered by the roar of automobiles speeding by most other hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Choose sea- facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babu19331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

i stayed here for 2 nights.. the hotel is very nice.. the normal standard size rooms are also quite big and spacious.. the staff at the leela were extremely enthisiastic accomodating and friendly.. i had a beautiful stay at leela chennai

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank agarwalridhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
2,991 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,189 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,514 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,220 reviews
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $131 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing