We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful brand new hotel from leela located near seashore in chennai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #1 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful brand new hotel from leela located near seashore in chennai”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Its brand new property of Leela group located at wonderful seashore. Excellent rooms and interiors. Good hospitality and services. Good continental food. Good breakfast. Excellent bar and food. Good calm and pieceful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavan_thakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    208
    44
    18
    6
See reviews for
252
262
76
497
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was certainly a lovely hotel, perfect in its lush decor - but - I just I think that fabulous location and view, is let down by the rubbish pile near the homes in the distance. This little sea side village could be made to look really charming with a bit of paint and removal of the rubbish. Surely this is in the hotel's interest - perhaps a bit of assistance in cleaning up the area, that is in direct site of a lot of the rooms in the hotel. There was also an odor in the hotel that was not pleasant and I wondered if it came from outside- there is a watercourse that feeds into the sea. Our stay was for two nights, we used the pool, and the gym and ate in the restaurant. The gym was a bit gloomy. The pool was excellent in pleasant surroundings. We also stayed in the Leela Palace in Delhi and found that experience better than the Chennai hotel. I loved seeing the buffalo in the water, fascinating to watch them.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive positive feedback.

I also agree about the surroundings and the Leela is making every efforts in the last 2 years to clean up the surroundings but with very little success I am afraid. But our persistence will certainly pay off one day.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is possibly the only hotel with a view of the sea located in the heart of Chennai. Its simply beautiful. Rooms are very elegantly furnished, and provides a great experience.
In fact my daughter and her friends also spent many nights there and the everyone enjoyed the service, the views and mostly how beautiful the property has been the consistent feedback of all.
the breakfast spread is simply huge and you will have serious difficulty in choosing what you want to have.

Room Tip: If you get rooms that face the sea, it will be a totally different experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dileepsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is by far the best hotel to stay in Chennai particularly if you wish to stay on the beach front. Having said that, there is no access to the beach, since the hotel sits at the mouth of the Adyar River.

We stayed here for two nights.

We had a sea-facing room (highly recommended) on the 7th floor; that offered good views.

The food was fantastic typcial of the Leela. The staff was very friendly and genuinely helpful. They were quite particular in attending to the personal needs of the guests, so common in the high end hotels now a days.

The check-in was quick. The room service prompt and proper.

Room Tip: Take upper floor room. Avoid city side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParthUdayShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

After staying 5 nights at Hyatt Regency Chennai we moved to the Leela Palace Chennai to get a glimpse of the sea. Despite the building works next to the Leela Palace that may annoy some visitors, this hotel was a delight from start to finish and as many fellow travellers have noted already, everything is simply amazing here: the service and the incredible & proactive staff, the design, all the wonderful flower arrangements everywhere, the meals etc.etc.

Paid exactly the same price for the Hyatt Regency Chennai as well as for the Leela Palace and had the pleasure of visiting two different worlds really. Both five star, both so different.

Room Tip: All twin-bedded rooms have big balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaavoTapani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Leela Palace Very Nice.

Very Good amenity and Nice Breeze From Marina Beach but the thing is most of the Rooms Being unbooked May be because of the Location.

I like the Food Items Especially Fish Fry and Desserts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ananthakumarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Spent Christmas, 2013 here.

Service in this hotel is truly amazing. They are very, very fast to respond and very professional.

The food is out of this world. The breakfast buffet is enormous, similar In Size to Las Vegas top hotels.

Room was massive with a very modern bathroom with everything you could every want. Loved the fact that there was a separate room for the luggage.

Beautifully designed with Indian art work throughout the property, so you constantly have the feel of pure luxury.

Location: it's about a 10 min Motor-Rickshaw drive from the centre and sites, was not a problem for me. It is on the beach but I would not swim there. Pool is great!

I think this chain gives the TAJ group a run for their money. I would stay I this, or other Leela properties again for sure.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Property: The Leela Palace Chennai
Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing