We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very luxurious hotel....need to improve the surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #5 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Gurgaon, India
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very luxurious hotel....need to improve the surroundings”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was my first stay at a 5 star hotel. The hotel is really beautiful, splendid, rooms are highly comfortable and luxurious. It was a pleasant stay except for two things. Firstly I booked two rooms of same category but on arrival I got the rooms on different floors which was quite uncomfortable. I was very sick that day and I requested for change of rooms but the staff was unable to help me out. Secondly, the hotel in itself is very good but the surroundings are equally dirty & unhygienic. The 'sea view' from the rooms is actually very depressing and not at all worth. The staff is very courteous & helpful. Dinner was excellent. Overall the ambience is superb.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNikhil143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive positive feedback.

I was however sorry to read that we did not managed to provide the room allocation to your satisfaction and rest assure that we have taken good note for your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    216
    46
    18
    6
See reviews for
288
280
87
546
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a fabulous property located by the Adyar Seaface. The property definitely gives you a feeling of being in a palace. We recently completed two stays here.

First stay - Everything went great ! Room was great; amenities were as promised; food was great.
Only bad news in our first stay: We ate at Jamavar, the Indian restaurant. The food and the service levels were about "M'eh". Service did not justify the steep price in the restaurant (e.g., water glass not filled; kept waiting for food to be served; kept waiting to get the final check).

Second stay - Lots of issues! (granted these are first world problems).
1. House-keeping just did not cut it this time. We had to spend an hour or more every single day tracking some of the room amenities.
2. "Palace operator" - All calls go to this number. On our second night, the calls were not being picked even while we waited more than 20 rings.
3. Room equipment - things like the phone in the room did not work for almost one day. Again took a lot of our effort to get someone to repair the phone. LOL! I felt like I was dealing with BSNL / Airtel folks!!!

4. I totally agree with the comment from a different reviewer on the general hygiene in Spectra restaurant. I "opened" a "cherry jam" bottle....only to discover that there was no jam in it.
It was a used bottle that was "re-sealed". That was scary.
(I did not talk about this particular issue with the hotel management; as we had so many other issues to talk about).

5. One of the front desk managers (name withheld) promised to not charge us for our laundry as it did not arrive when it was promised. However, at check-out we were charged for the laundry. We did not create a fuss about it. We even saw this particular manager during our check-out, but he did not say anything about our final bill......
So, not only they did not deliver our laundry on time; they even charged us for it!

In order to give credit when its due:
1. The rooms are huge; Bathrooms are fabulous. Somehow, I feel no hotel has figured out how to properly have a shower stall without water leaking through the floor. Thats just the way shower stalls work I guess.
2. Breakfast buffet spread is huge. Wait-staff in Spectra were very good (especially Rakesh and Som - who took great care of us through our stay; they knew what coffee we liked or not).
3. The bakery produces some amazing stuff. Must have treats from here!

Finally - we got to chat with several front desk managers; We met with the General Manager a few times as well. Pascal and Javed seemed sincere in their concerns with our stay. Unfortunately, it was a busy season and they could only try so much. Seems like their colleagues somehow could not deliver.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snod73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am very sorry to read that we did not managed to meet or exceed your expectations on this occasion. The catalogue of issues that you have described is certainly not representative of the type of service we aim to provide at The Leela Palace Chennai.

I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to welcoming you and I am sure that we will be able to provide you with a much more positive impression.

Once again, our sincerely apologies and I would be delighted to look after your reservation personally so please do not hesitate to contact me on +91 9952957567

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore District, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Good location in a city like Chennai... the hospitality and comfort at its best.
The room are spacious and well decorated for its standard.
Special mention is about the bathroom is good with features but only thing missing is the hair dryer...which is required for this standard...
overall a beautiful hotel ...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank grnk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback. I was however sorry to read that we did not explain you the location of the hairdryer during your room orientation and can assure you that there is one in every room.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was there for a 2 night stay. the hotel is good with nice rooms, but i had to face a unexpected things which i will never forget. the hotels wi-fi does not work in all the rooms specially in the room which i had put up. secondly the first day of my stay the hotel was overcrowded and the management was very poor. the b'fast provided to us was not even comparable to a 3 star with service far below the expected levels of Leela Palace and then to top it all there was a major problem which i faced was the bathroom drainage which suddenly stopped working and room was filled with water within a few seconds as the water from the shower area overflowed to the room.it was quite a shock to see that. Overall it was a mixed experience..

Room Tip: large rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumit269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am very sorry to read that we did not managed to meet or exceed your expectations on this occasion. The catalogue of issues that you have described is certainly not representative of the type of service we aim to provide at The Leela Palace Chennai.

I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to welcoming you and I am sure that we will be able to provide you with a much more positive impression.

Once again, our sincerely apologies and I would be delighted to look after your reservation personally so please do not hesitate to contact me on +91 9952957567

Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Leela Palace chennai is another feather in the cap for the Leela Group. I believe it has been there since Jan 2013 unfortunately most of the cabbies are not aware of the property. The immediate vicinity is not great and the approach road is bad, but the Hotel, trust me is mind blowing. the rooms are spacious with walk in closets. Its luxury at its best. The staff is helpful and cordial. The banquet hall is huge . The breakfast spread at Spectra deserves a special mention. Loved the desserts. Shall definitely

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, please do ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijubalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Rarely does a hotel provide a service which knocks you off your feet. Leela Palace Chennai does just that. In several steps from the . The pool is something to behold, something you take a picture of before you jump in. The staff is incredibly helpful and will do anything to ensure your stay is the best. The restaurants are second to none and their mastery of international cuisine is only outdone by the delicious Indian entrees.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Arriving at the Leela is an impressive experience with huge burning candles and flowers every where. The entrance and the lobby are beautifully decorated, and are also the rooms. The bathtubs in the rooms are enourmous, and there are lot of extra amenities like chocolates, bathrobes, walk in closets etc. There is a lot of staff present all the times, and you do feel, you are in a luxury hotel. The breakfast is the best I ever had in a hotel, (except for maybe the Radisson in Lübeck) - with a continental, asian and indian part. You can have fresh made eggs after your own choice, dhosas, fresh fruit salads, dim sum etc. Unfortunately there were problems with our water in the room, so we had a lot of people going in and out.The swimmingpool area is on the 3th floor, with towels and bathrobes provided, and you can ask for food to be served at your sunbed. There are 3 restaurants, I tried the Chinese, which was really good. The Leela is not much more expensive than many other quality hotels in India, and would be very much more expensive if it was in Europe. For us it has been fun to have a whole suite for an affordable price in a real luxury hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopenhagenCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,770 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
996 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,424 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,107 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Property: The Leela Palace Chennai
Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing