We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #7 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning hotel”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed at the Leela Palace Chennai, my first time at a Leela property and I was completely blown away. The room was stunning, beautifully laid out and very comfortably furnished. The electronics and controls were just amazing and every little thing to ensure your comfort was available at the press of a button. Huge bathroom, a great walk in closet and a fantastic dining and sitting area just added to the experience.

The only somewhat negative aspect was that the Indian and Chinese specialty restaurants are open only at night and one cannot eat the simply amazing food available there in the afternoon. Because of this, one is stuck with room service or eating at the coffee shop. I am not a big fan of buffet meals, so this was a bit of a problem, especially on Christmas day when the restaurant did not even have an A La Carte option at lunch time.

The staff were incredibly well trained, courteous and helpful and all in all, its an absolutely amazing hotel. I am definitely going to stay at The Leela hotels more if this is an example of their hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose the Junior Suite. The larger ones have a city view and the slightly smaller ones have an ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjunrao76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    216
    45
    18
    6
See reviews for
283
277
86
535
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was ready to blown away by quite frankly the Leela splendour. But I was left underwhelmed.
The location is a wee bit out of the way and the rooms not as sumptuous as I was expecting. We chose a pool facing room as I wasn't too keen on the sea view (the sea isn't a caribbean blue if thats what your expecting). Don't get me a wrong, it was a perfectly nice room, with a really large bathroom. The shower area had a leak under the door and we were left with a huge puddle overtime we attempted a shower! My friend across the hall had a sea view room and it was nice as well, but we preferred ours since it had a little more privacy.
The reason I even wanted to write a review today was to mention the food at the Leela. In my opinion its the best food you will get in any 5 star in Chennai!
Spectra has a great spread for breakfast and the brunches are fabulous!
Room service was great, with the food arriving hot and perfectly tasty. A special mention to the deserts that were top notch.
China XO- The ambience and the slightly odd seating (affording a more cozy feel) and more importantly the food was wonderful. Do try the sea bass and peking duck. Best peking duck I've ever had in India!
Sadly the highlight of the food was let down by the service. The general attitude of the restaurant staff for breakfast was sad to see. The crumbs weren't wiped off and used jam pots were left on the table from a previous guest. Every time we asked for anything we couldn't help but notice the wait staff looked down right bored. I must mention, this only occurred at Spectra and we noticed it at Brunch on Sunday too. Quite a dampener when your eating delicious food.
A mention to the courteous valet service and friendly staff outside near the car alighting area.
The Leela is definitely a nice hotel. A few tweaks would be appreciated, but please don't tweak the food!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback. I was however extremely sorry to read about your disappointment about the level of service you have experienced at Spectra and can assure that we have taken your comment seriously.

What you have describe is certainly not the type of service we aim to provide at The Leela and I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you at Spectra in the near future where, I am sure, we will be able to provide you with a much more positive impression.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Being familiar with Leela standards I had a very high expectations for this Hotel. But I have certainly underestimated the reality! Starting with the location, rooms, restaurants... - it is another fascinating World in Chennai! I strongly recommend all the travellers to take a look at this new Hotel in Madras and not to miss the opportunity to indulge yourself with the great stay in South India! Though they say that no one would appreciate too sweet comments, I could mention only 1 thing which I hope the Management will improve in the coming months - the WiFi, which I believe most of the customers expect to get for free these days!

Otherwise, for those who are already in Chennai - please do not miss lovely Sunday Brunches at Leela (prior reservation is advised!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freezesover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A very good & calming place to stay in. Liked the decorum of room and arrangements. Safety system of hotel is appreciable. Housekeeping is extremely good. Food here is delicious too. Staffs were friendly & cooperative too. The only concern I found was the service extended by staffs during meal at Spectra. I kept on looking for people continuously during my course for help. This is something Leela needs to improve on. Therefore my rating goes, 4/5. All the best to Leela and team!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omsingh279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis_12, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback. I was however extremely sorry to read about your disappointment about the level of service you have experienced at Spectra and can assure that we have taken your comment seriously.

I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you at Spectra in the near future where, I am sure, we will be able to provide you with a much more positive impression.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is one of the best 5 star hotel near sea beach in chennai. It takes 30-45 minutes from Chennai airport to reach the hotel. Rooms on sea side are the best to have great view. Spectra restaurent in the lobby, swimming pool on 3rd floor are other aminities to go for. The hygiene standards inside the suits as well as in the passages, restaurent everywhere else is excellent. Go for it to enjoy! Value for money.......

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaysali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Though I had stayed at other Leela Palaces like Goa, Kovalam, Mumbai etc, but not stayed at Leela Palace Chennai yet. All Leela properties are execllent, massive, but Leela Palace Chennai is best of all. It's a royal palace to stay, in each & every corner there is a feel of luxury. I had personally checked their rooms and other facilities and provided booking for our guests to stay. Organised lot of business meetings at their board rooms and banquet halls. Recently in Nov'13 we organised our distributors meet at Leela Palace, Chennai. All our guests are very much happy and feel good to organise the meeting at Leela Palace Chennai. Their service is excellent, foods are very tasty, all their staffs are very cordial & pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tushar_Choudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days during a conference. It was quite amazing and relaxing. The room was quite spacious and luxurious. Aside from a one-off power failure at the very last hour of my stay, everything else was to a very high standard. There were three very good restaurants in the hotel. The food in the Indian restaurant was delicious; the best Indian food I ever had in my life. I have to admit that I did not try any other restaurants in India . They could have been as good. All and all a 5* treatment. I would definitely go back to the same place in my future trips.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the sea view at higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
2,714 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
987 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,406 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,064 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Property: The Leela Palace Chennai
Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing