We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“china xo.....extra ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #7 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“china xo.....extra ordinary”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

the newly opened leela palaces new chineese restaurant was truly amazing ...great food ...amazing service.....stafff was good....special mention to thier supervisior rishab ...who was excient and very helpful......good decor....only that thy didnt open the outdoor sitting,,....otherwise everything perfect.....we felt like havng food in china.....one more who really was very warm n welcoming was ashu ...dont remmember his name..but overall expeience was amazing....will come again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lodha_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future so you can also enjoy our other restaurants.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    216
    45
    18
    6
See reviews for
283
277
87
535
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Leela Palace Chennai offers you great experience. Though the location is not very exciting, the food and service is. Staff is highly courteous and pampers you a lot. The spread of breakfast is really good. Good for family breaks.

Room Tip: Insist on rooms numbers with even numbers- they are sea facing and offer excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YogeshSriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was looking to make my mom's b'day extra special and figured I should gift her some time off at the city's most luxurious hotel and have her celebrate the b'day in style. Choosing The Leela Palace was the best decision ever.

The experience was great from the get go. Heading over to their website and seamlessly reserving their weekend stay package, booking their BMW 5S hotel transfer and requesting them to make special arrangements for my mom's b'day.

On Friday evening, the chauffeur driven BMW (must-try) showed up at the specified time and whisked us away to the Palace. On arrival, we went through several pleasantries and greetings and were escorted straight to our room on the 7th floor by one of the hotel staff. The room upgrade (180* view of the sea) was a pleasant surprise and the check-in formalities were completed in our room in a jiff. Great first experience so far. There was also a lovely rose bouquet, a b'day cake and a personalized b'day greeting to my mom's surprise.

Our stay - The room is an experience by itself. Beautifully appointed room with the Leela touch in every nook and corner. A perfect blend of luxury and modern amenities I felt. Good on entertainment, well-stocked mini bar. I have stayed at a number of star hotels in India and internationally and this was definitely up there among the best if not better. The view of the Bay of Bengal from our room was a sight for sore eyes. Wish it lasted longer :)

Hospitality - The staff here are very hospitable here, true to their motto "Guest is God". Friendly, always adorning a smile and greeting us when possible. Be it the entrance, the front desk/concierge , the restaurants, the room service. Service was top-notch. You really do get the feeling of being well taken care of, like you would expect in a Palace.

Food - China XO is their Chinese-themed restaurant. Good on food and service. Could have been better though. Spectra is their 24hr restaurant doing the buffets and the buffet spread is pretty good. Very attentive staff and the food was quite good. I'm sure their restaurants will get better with time.

So to sum things up, there are some places where you really need to forget about everything else, leave your worries behind and indulge in the lap of luxury and hospitality. This is one of them.

If I really must complain (nit-picking) about something:
- The service was a tad slow at China XO
- The roll-away bed could have been well made and covered. The folding bed has sharp edges on the side
- The power outlet for the electric kettle didn't work

Tho thumbs up for The Leela Palace, Chennai!

Nishant

Room Tip: Definitely a sea-facing room on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetoxicmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

I have also taken very good note of your suggestions and can assure you that we will look into these matters very seriously as guest comments are the only way towards perfection.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are in Madras, (or Chennai... whoever gave the city this horrible new name), then no need to look any further. This place has it all...brand spanking new, excellent and well trained staff, beautiful decor in the traditional style, great food, excellent amenities and spacious and luxurious rooms. You will not be left wanting for good service. The concierge who collected my luggage from the taxi had read the label on my bags and greeted me by my name. The front office lady who saw me off was genuinely interested in my views about the hotel. The rooms have an added touch of a walk-in wardrobe which I have not seen in other luxury hotels. The comfort levels in the room will be obvious if you check out the photos I am uploading. The bakery has an amazing spread of pastries and cakes that will be difficult to resist. In short, I plan to go to this hotel again just for the experience.

The only thing I would change in the hotel is the location of the gym. No hotel should have a gym in the basement with no light or fresh air. Any fitness enthusiast would abhor the idea of working out in such a place. I recommend that the gym is shifted to somewhere near the pool area with good views and loads of natural light. That would really make it the only oasis in the desert.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahsameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I had booked the room through Hotels.com. The booking mentioned clearly Sea View Room, Buffet Breakfast & Free Wireless Internet.

Pros:The check inn process was very smooth, the room service was great, swimming pool staff was amazing, dinner at spectra was fantastic, the buffet breakfast spread was mind blowing an great.

Cons: Free Wireless internet, i was denied by Mr Rashid (Front Desk Office) after explaining an calling 06 times, still all in vain. Later the Duty Manager Mr Anshul sorted out the issue, because i was a GHA, Gold Member.
During check out i had requested just an additonal hour till 13:00 hrs, the Front Desk Staff would confirm after checking, after 5 minutes Mr Abishek called an asked whether he could send some one to pick the luggage from the room & my bill too was ready. This is the most pathetic thing i have ever experienced in my entire life, this is the way guests are denied late check out . . . Keep it up Leela Palace Chennai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHARAT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor and I am very sorry that we did not managed to meet or exceed your expectations on certain aspect of your stay.

The incidents that you have described are certainly not representative of the type of service we aim to provide at The Leela Palace Chennai. We have obviously discussed these matters internally to ensure that such matters do not reoccur.

Once again, I sincerely apologise and really hope that you will return to the Leela Palace Chennai where I am sure we will be able to provide you with a much more positive impression.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Leela, Chennai for several nights with my girlfriend and it became a home away from home. I knew I was in for a first-class experience when we got out of the taxi and noticed an employee hand polishing the brass rails leading into the lobby where we were then greeted by two lovely women in saris who placed jasmine garlands around our necks and dabbed our foreheads with kumkum.

What stands our the most for me is the quality of the staff which was truly amazing! I've stayed in the Ritz NY and Paris, the Four Seasons in Maui, and many other top-tier hotels around the world and I have to say that the quality of employees at this establishment (maybe it's just southern Indian hospitality?) beat out the Ritz, or anywhere else I've ever stayed, hands down. Friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely attentive employees from the lobby to the restaurants, pool and newly opened bar, as well as room cleaners, each individual I encountered on a daily basis was professional. This hotel was built recently so everything feels fresh and brand new. The room we stayed in was one of the standard ones but felt like a small apartment. Marble showers, whirlpool bath with an ocean view & sound system linked up to the TV, plenty of closet space. Above all, I couldn't believe the rates: US$170 range as of April, 2013. Which is an extraordinary deal considering that a buffet breakfast was included (this may have been a corporate or introductory rate, but check with hotel). While we were there they opened up their new bar, Library Blu, and drinks were on the house! The music was cool and the outside patio area, lit up by giant torches, was delightful. The head chef of the hotel talked at length with us at breakfast about their high-standards, including washing the vegetables in purified water, and the food was truly wonderful in the Chinese restaurant downstairs as well. Every buffet at breakfast, lunch, or dinner in the main restaurant was extraordinary. Coffee and tea selections (Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee, and hourglass timers for tea!) first rate.

On the downside, there isn't anywhere to really walk outside the hotel grounds. The beach and ocean are tantalizing close yet all but inaccessible. Nor does the neighborhood appear all that comfortable a place to stroll around. If you're feeling adventurous you can walk down the hotel's entranceway, as I did, and find a cheap rickshaw around the corner to take you anywhere you want. However, air-conditioning and the possibility of having a reliable driver for the day may outweigh the incessant hassles of rickshaw travel in India -- up to you.

All in all we stayed in three different hotels while in Chennai and the Leela was without a doubt our favorite. Even if you don't think that "luxury" hotels are your thing you really shouldn't miss an opportunity to experience what quality and class look like and it puts to shame many other so-called "5-star" hotels around the world.

Room Tip: I believe there's a loud generator at one end of the hotel, so be aware of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

An enchanting place , giving you more than your money's worth. Spacious, welcoming, exquisite interior, Lovely flames, fitting BMW saloons...... you need to be there to know more. The Lunch Buffet is real value for money.... vast spread from different cuisines : japanese, Indonesian, Continental, Indian, Chinese and more

Room Tip: Beach facing room........ exciting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
2,714 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
987 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,407 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,064 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Property: The Leela Palace Chennai
Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing