We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #5 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are in Madras, (or Chennai... whoever gave the city this horrible new name), then no need to look any further. This place has it all...brand spanking new, excellent and well trained staff, beautiful decor in the traditional style, great food, excellent amenities and spacious and luxurious rooms. You will not be left wanting for good service. The concierge who collected my luggage from the taxi had read the label on my bags and greeted me by my name. The front office lady who saw me off was genuinely interested in my views about the hotel. The rooms have an added touch of a walk-in wardrobe which I have not seen in other luxury hotels. The comfort levels in the room will be obvious if you check out the photos I am uploading. The bakery has an amazing spread of pastries and cakes that will be difficult to resist. In short, I plan to go to this hotel again just for the experience.

The only thing I would change in the hotel is the location of the gym. No hotel should have a gym in the basement with no light or fresh air. Any fitness enthusiast would abhor the idea of working out in such a place. I recommend that the gym is shifted to somewhere near the pool area with good views and loads of natural light. That would really make it the only oasis in the desert.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sahsameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,487)
There are newer reviews for The Leela Palace Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,376 - 1,382 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

I had booked the room through Hotels.com. The booking mentioned clearly Sea View Room, Buffet Breakfast & Free Wireless Internet.

Pros:The check inn process was very smooth, the room service was great, swimming pool staff was amazing, dinner at spectra was fantastic, the buffet breakfast spread was mind blowing an great.

Cons: Free Wireless internet, i was denied by Mr Rashid (Front Desk Office) after explaining an calling 06 times, still all in vain. Later the Duty Manager Mr Anshul sorted out the issue, because i was a GHA, Gold Member.
During check out i had requested just an additonal hour till 13:00 hrs, the Front Desk Staff would confirm after checking, after 5 minutes Mr Abishek called an asked whether he could send some one to pick the luggage from the room & my bill too was ready. This is the most pathetic thing i have ever experienced in my entire life, this is the way guests are denied late check out . . . Keep it up Leela Palace Chennai.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHARAT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor and I am very sorry that we did not managed to meet or exceed your expectations on certain aspect of your stay.

The incidents that you have described are certainly not representative of the type of service we aim to provide at The Leela Palace Chennai. We have obviously discussed these matters internally to ensure that such matters do not reoccur.

Once again, I sincerely apologise and really hope that you will return to the Leela Palace Chennai where I am sure we will be able to provide you with a much more positive impression.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Leela, Chennai for several nights with my girlfriend and it became a home away from home. I knew I was in for a first-class experience when we got out of the taxi and noticed an employee hand polishing the brass rails leading into the lobby where we were then greeted by two lovely women in saris who placed jasmine garlands around our necks and dabbed our foreheads with kumkum.

What stands our the most for me is the quality of the staff which was truly amazing! I've stayed in the Ritz NY and Paris, the Four Seasons in Maui, and many other top-tier hotels around the world and I have to say that the quality of employees at this establishment (maybe it's just southern Indian hospitality?) beat out the Ritz, or anywhere else I've ever stayed, hands down. Friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely attentive employees from the lobby to the restaurants, pool and newly opened bar, as well as room cleaners, each individual I encountered on a daily basis was professional. This hotel was built recently so everything feels fresh and brand new. The room we stayed in was one of the standard ones but felt like a small apartment. Marble showers, whirlpool bath with an ocean view & sound system linked up to the TV, plenty of closet space. Above all, I couldn't believe the rates: US$170 range as of April, 2013. Which is an extraordinary deal considering that a buffet breakfast was included (this may have been a corporate or introductory rate, but check with hotel). While we were there they opened up their new bar, Library Blu, and drinks were on the house! The music was cool and the outside patio area, lit up by giant torches, was delightful. The head chef of the hotel talked at length with us at breakfast about their high-standards, including washing the vegetables in purified water, and the food was truly wonderful in the Chinese restaurant downstairs as well. Every buffet at breakfast, lunch, or dinner in the main restaurant was extraordinary. Coffee and tea selections (Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee, and hourglass timers for tea!) first rate.

On the downside, there isn't anywhere to really walk outside the hotel grounds. The beach and ocean are tantalizing close yet all but inaccessible. Nor does the neighborhood appear all that comfortable a place to stroll around. If you're feeling adventurous you can walk down the hotel's entranceway, as I did, and find a cheap rickshaw around the corner to take you anywhere you want. However, air-conditioning and the possibility of having a reliable driver for the day may outweigh the incessant hassles of rickshaw travel in India -- up to you.

All in all we stayed in three different hotels while in Chennai and the Leela was without a doubt our favorite. Even if you don't think that "luxury" hotels are your thing you really shouldn't miss an opportunity to experience what quality and class look like and it puts to shame many other so-called "5-star" hotels around the world.

Room Tip: I believe there's a loud generator at one end of the hotel, so be aware of that.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

An enchanting place , giving you more than your money's worth. Spacious, welcoming, exquisite interior, Lovely flames, fitting BMW saloons...... you need to be there to know more. The Lunch Buffet is real value for money.... vast spread from different cuisines : japanese, Indonesian, Continental, Indian, Chinese and more

Room Tip: Beach facing room........ exciting
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thiruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a new lavish Leela property, the only 5-star Hotel in Chennai, right by the sea near Adyar.
It is built modern but the interior space & decor are like a richly furnished late 19th century Chettinad-style Palace, lots of glass furniture, chandeliers, with paintings, sculpture & objet-de-art all over. A long, open lobby & lounge with full-sea-view on the entire rear length gives a very pleasant feeling as you enter. A 30-metre swimming pool, open to the sky on the 3rd Floor, is very inviting in the hot & humid climate of Chennai.

The sea-view rooms, at a premium charge, are really worth it - very large & roomy, divided into a bed/lounge/study with wooden flooring, and walk-in-closet/shower stall/toilet/bathtub with marble/tile floor. Both sides have full-front sea-views, and waking up early morning to catch the sun rising over the ocean was indeed special ! The decor of dark teak furniture with mother-of-pearl inlay, a Leela trademark, gives a rich, sumptuous feeling.

The bed was large & very comfy, with a choice of pillows. The large, flat-panel TV is fully adjustable for frontal viewing even from the bed, which is very convenient. Wireless, data port on phone, tea/coffee maker, mini-bar (high rates !), Bath & Dressing robes with matching slippers - all make it very convenient. Two sinks on opposite sides are provided in the bathroom, again very convenient for a couple.

I'd tried out their Library-Blu Bar, Jamavar (Indian) & Chinese-XO restaurants, which unfortunately did not match up-to their newly-advertised reputation ! The decor was rich & pleasant, but the food & service need to be improved. Strangely, for a leading Indian Hotel Brand, they did not stock any Indian wines or spirits, which meant you had to pay additional exorbitant taxes to the already high prices for alcohol. The Breakfast Buffet at the Spectra Coffee-Shop, however, was one of the best I have seen in Chennai - very large & open seating, choice of cuisine, prompt & courteous service with freshly-brewed coffee !

All in all, a very pleasant stay with a spl. sea-view, and if they can improve the food & service it will then be real value for money even at the high prices charged.

Room Tip: Definitely, an Upper Floor Sea View room !
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLP-KUMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We have duly noted your comment about the food quality and rest assure that we are always listening to our guests and make changes to enhance our quality. I would sincerely appreciate if you could contact me and provide me with more specifics so we can take necessary action.

We will also look into getting a selection of indian wines as per your suggestion.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Chino XO new restaurant, great looks, oppulent private dining room and efficient staff. If you want to have traditional chinese from Hongkong then this could be the place. Food is not yet there it was quite average.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ask99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage of our new chinese restaurant, China XO.

We have duly noted your comments on the food and rest assure that we will constantly listen to our customer and enhance our quality.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at the Leela in January for 3 nights. This place is definitely a palace and was amazing. The staff we exceptional as were the foyer, room and all other parts of the hotel. This hotel is a credit to all staff and Pascal Dupuis who make it such a pleasure to stay. The restaurant I ate in for breakfast and a couple of evening meals was absolutely exquisite and all staff were so knowledgable about the food as well as Chennai and India. Be prepared to talk cricket. I definitely want to return!!! Thank you very, very much Leela on your fabulous job!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingisgreat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback, especially on the opening stage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,848 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,019 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,455 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,168 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $146 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing