We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Quite Amazing!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Palace Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #1 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply Quite Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at the Palace Hotel for 5 days a few days after the doors were opened to the public.

Having stayed at the Burj Al Arab, there were a number if comparisons to be made with Dubais finest. The service was second to none, with staff going far beyond the call of duty in hoping to make your stay comfortable. Rather than give directions, staff walk far out of their way to take you to your required destination. Management are actively seeking criticism to improve the service which is provided.

The hotel provides a range of new white BMW's in either 5 or 7 series chauffeur driven vehicles with complimentary water and flannels on an hourly or very reasonable half day rate. The drivers are friendly and knowledgeable and clearly heavily reliant on tips; tips I was happy to give.

The poolside service is quite attentive, though not intrusive and you are greeted with a courtesy hamper containing chilled bottles of coconut water and plain water resting on crushed ice, and chilled flannels to take the edge of the Chennai heat.

The rooms are a mix of traditional opulence and modern technology, with mood lighting settings, phones every where you turn, and the latest computer and AV inlets to plug your equipment in to. There are the usual robes and slippers you would expect from a 5 star hotel but an additional silk robe and slippers for lounging in. The beds are superb and they go the extra mile in providing you with a pillow menu (yes I just said that) with a choice of approximately 15 pillows to aid your slumber!

The lobby level buffet restaurant provided some of the best food I had ever eaten. I ordered off the menu and the head chef was happy to assist - this at no extra cost. I would often arrive to the table with my iPad or work papers and the waiters would immediately present a separate stool for my work paraphernalia.

I was challenged to find something to complain about by management and managed to find something. The fine dining restaurant in the basement, was fine indeed, but no better than the buffet dining available in the ordinary restaurant. This is not because it was below par; far from it and as good as the under sea restaurant at the Burj on both the service, and food front. The problem simply is that the buffet restaurant being so good, you would expect the fine dining to far surpass which is simply impossible!

Great gym, new equipment, staff on hand to assist and complimentary fruits and water on offer.

At the time of my stay the hotel bar was not open but I was given a tour. WOW!!!! It is absolutely amazing and would put many a New York or London swanky modern bar to shame. It will undoubtedly be the place to be seen in Chennai.

BAD BITS

The Wifi is provided at an additional cost, and I would have liked to have had Internet connectivity throughout all communal parts of the hotel once paid the cost for it but this is not available poolside for example.

The images of the hotel give the impression that it is sea side though it really is not. It is situated on what looks to be reclaimed land or on the edge of a swamp. There is no beach front which is a real shame as that would have completed the hotel offerings. That said, although the hotel are keen to boast their sea views, having enjoyed such a room, they are not views worth paying extra for.

This hotel is not an all suite hotel like the Burj, but all in all I would rate it higher than the Burj simply because of the service provided, the opulence being tasteful yet still extravagant, and the food being an extravaganza for the taste buds!

Would I stay here again? Absolutely!!!!

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for sea view rooms - the view is not worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

I have also taken good note of your suggestion for improvement.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    194
    41
    17
    4
See reviews for
238
248
72
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I did not stay in this hotel as I am a local. I had taken a client of mine for lunch and I was highly impressed by the Property which was excellent, the food which was outstanding, the staff who was well behaved and professional. I only felt that the senior staff was very snooty and made me feel that they should have contributed professionally. This could have added value to this classy hotel. I am sure the management of Leela will look into this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oppraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

I have also taken good note of your suggestion for improvement and will certainly share this with my Management team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The best buffet spread in the city! You can choose from Greek, Italian, Japanese, Indian and a bit of French. Very authentic taste. The watermelon and feta salad was crunchy and yum. Sushi was fresh and the wasabi awesome. Dahi tikki was great. The Moussaka though was the winner. The dessert spread was large with the compote de rhubarbe melting in your mouth.
You can finish off the meal with a green tea or coffee.
Get a place by the window so you can look out at the sea/ marshes. Was expecting much more of a seafront, after seeing the adverts. But cocooned inside, its the perfect luxury locale and good value for money. They have a separate buffet price for kids btw.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fairelepont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We have indeed created Spectra, our all day dinning restaurant, in such way that the guests can enjoy a large variety of international cuisine

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived after an all night flight from LA, via Hong Kong arriving about 4 AM at the hotel in Mid December, 2012. We were leaving on a cruise the next day and there were hotel staff 40 waiting to greet us and get us to our rooms and this is at 4 AM!. The room was AMAZING. Beautiful marble bathroom with 4 phones, wonderful dressing room/closet with marble ledge for suitcases -- great for unpacking. Impecible bedroom. Probably the finest hotel I've ever stayed in anywhere. The breakfast buffet was amazing.

Room Tip: We looked across the courtyard at the pool, city view and were not disappointed. The ocean view did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

i stayed here foe 2 nights.the hotel is very nice i never saw a hotel room like this this is the only hotel has a large room space for even standard catagery.the toilet and bathroom is separate nice sea view but the hotel is not infront of the sea.the hotel building is not fully hotel i think so some it park will be there new hotel.foods are really good but very costly.in this hotel they provide me as a cab is bmw car to pick up.really good hotel book directly in hotel website because they are giving offer a lot if u do it in any other its costly than hotel website,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vimalgiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was there to attend a wedding hosted by friends and since it was the first visit I was curious to know what the New Hotel offers.First on arrival my car was driven by the Hotel staff to parking lot.Good.Then I went to have breakfast- appam and stew.Very good taste.But there was a very big Q and I told the Staff to make other arrangements to fix another stove and he did it promptly and The Q moved faster.The LUNCH spread delicious,varieties and hats off to the chefs.Very nice Hotel,courteous staff.Good atmosphere.Lavish interiors.Really it is feather in the cap to the promoter Capt Krishnan who owns this palace.Keep it up Captain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Truth337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Indias first six star hotel ? In Chennai ? Incredible but true . The new water front Leela Palace in this southern city is not only the best hotel in town but quite possibly the best in India. With the opening of this new location Leela comes of age and stakes its place as the countrys leading luxury hotel group. Modern, stylish , supremely comfortable and designed with a self confidence that sets it apart from anything else on the sub-continent. Think Four Seasons in Chicago or Manhattan or Mandarin in HK. Opening prices of just $150 a night. Outstanding value for money.Outstanding staff.

Pros : Waterfront location, amazing public areas , excellent restaurants ( An American diner overlooking the water and Jamavar an Indian restaurant which had just opened when we were there . New Chinese and Italian offerings are in the wings ), friendly service , excellent pool . Large rooms with balconies. A French (?) General Manager with an eye for superb service and perfection .

Cons : Just opened. Area around a building site. Waiting for a liquor license . Suites not available yet. Outside areas and steps into garden need better lighting at night.

Conclusion : This Leela Hotel will revolutionize the Chennai and India hotel scenes. If you thought the Leela in Delhi was good then the service and welcome here is even better. Truly international service. Modernity done with real flair. The waterside location a big, big plus in this steamy southern city. By the time the final construction is finished and the liquor license approved this will be the destination of choice in India.

Room Tip: Ask for waterside room looking onto the Bay of Bengal, preferably a Club room. Avoid rooms looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KellyNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback and I sincerely thank you for such an extensive review, really appreciated.

I have also taken good note of your suggestion for improvement.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#16 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Property: The Leela Palace Chennai
Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing