We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Leela Palace Chennai
Nearby Hotels
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$71
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$150
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$52
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$63
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,708)
Filter reviews
1,708 results
Traveler rating
1,379
244
54
21
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,379
244
54
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewchina xobay of bengalspectra restaurantbeautiful hotelpillow menuluxury hotelspecial thanksindian foodbreakfast buffetspecial mentionmemorable stayrooms are spaciousfront officeduty managerbusiness tripcoffee shop
Filter
Updating list...
1,615 - 1,620 of 1,708 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Indias first six star hotel ? In Chennai ? Incredible but true . The new water front Leela Palace in this southern city is not only the best hotel in town but quite possibly the best in India. With the opening of this new location Leela comes of age and stakes its place as the countrys leading luxury hotel group. Modern, stylish , supremely comfortable and designed with a self confidence that sets it apart from anything else on the sub-continent. Think Four Seasons in Chicago or Manhattan or Mandarin in HK. Opening prices of just $150 a night. Outstanding value for money.Outstanding staff.

Pros : Waterfront location, amazing public areas , excellent restaurants ( An American diner overlooking the water and Jamavar an Indian restaurant which had just opened when we were there . New Chinese and Italian offerings are in the wings ), friendly service , excellent pool . Large rooms with balconies. A French (?) General Manager with an eye for superb service and perfection .

Cons : Just opened. Area around a building site. Waiting for a liquor license . Suites not available yet. Outside areas and steps into garden need better lighting at night.

Conclusion : This Leela Hotel will revolutionize the Chennai and India hotel scenes. If you thought the Leela in Delhi was good then the service and welcome here is even better. Truly international service. Modernity done with real flair. The waterside location a big, big plus in this steamy southern city. By the time the final construction is finished and the liquor license approved this will be the destination of choice in India.

Room Tip: Ask for waterside room looking onto the Bay of Bengal, preferably a Club room. Avoid rooms looking over the busy inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KellyNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback and I sincerely thank you for such an extensive review, really appreciated.

I have also taken good note of your suggestion for improvement.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Leela was one of my special experiences of Chennai this year. We had organised my parents' anniversary party in their Grand Ball room. Right from coordinating the menu, to fixing the decorations, the music and the reception, all the staff at the Leela were extremely enthusiastic, accomodating and friendly. Everything was organised perfectly, the food was superlative and the service impeccable. I would recommend this hotel every time if you are planning on doing a big do here.

Room Tip: Get the sea view rooms, the view is amazing!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

A totally new hotel extremely confortable, very well imagined and achieved. Like a very large appartment with a splendid and luxurious bathroom and dressing.
Breakfast is really excellent, service in the bed rooms, reception, restaurant, is super organized and oriented towards a full guests satisfaction

Room Tip: we had an executive bed room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACDEQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Leela Palace on 15 & 16 th Jan 2013 in a wedding. Really it was very comfortable stay. Very warm welcome by hotel staff. Room size and Interiors was very good. Rooms were well decorated from Wooden furniture with mother of pearl. There were very tasty Chocolates and cookies in the room. There was a medium size balcony with room. Bathroom was well designed. Room was well equipped with all amenities like bathrobes, slippers, tea etc but lights were very dim and were not sufficient, even we couldn't see clearly our face in mirror.
Room temperature was low and we couldn't increase the temperature, so it was too cool. Staff was courteous and cooperative. Breakfast was good, South Indian Food was excellent rest was ok.
There were huge halls so functions were graceful. Landscaping is not so good. They should develop it. Lobby was very good.
Comfortable distance (15 KM) from airport. Car and cabs were easily available there.
The weak part of hotel was back side area which was visible from room. It was undeveloped slum area which was so dirty. Sea was behind this area. This area should clean.
Overall it was a nice and comfortable stay and we enjoyed a lot.

Room Tip: Choose sea facing room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaNyati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

I have also taken good note of your suggestion for improvement.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

When we stayed in this property in Dec 2012 for a wedding which took place inside the hotel, it was only couple of weeks old. Hence, understandably facilities like the spa were not open. But the most positive experience here was the helpfulness of the hotel staff. I would be standing in the lobby looking for something or somebody and a random staff member would appear and offer to help!
Also the room was lovely with sea view. However, the plastic waste littered around the slum on the beach was not a delightful sight. Also my mom's room's ( next to mine) sea view was interrupted by construction.
The food was average, like any other 5-star. However, the variety of desserts and sweets were thumbs-up, Especially the chocolate muffins in breakfast!

Room Tip: Check out room view first. Do not take corner room like my mom's to avoid construction/building view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smitapkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback. I have also discussed your comment about the food with my Executive Chef and we are making improvement every day in order to strive for perfection.

Please rest assure that we are actively working to improve the surroundings as mentioned in your message.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews