We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Leela Palace Chennai
Nearby Hotels
$87
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$104
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$114
$102
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$151
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$63
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$71
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$63
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$210
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveler rating
1,382
244
54
21
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,382
244
54
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewchina xobay of bengalspectra restaurantbeautiful hotelpillow menuluxury hotelspecial thanksindian foodbreakfast buffetspecial mentionmemorable stayrooms are spaciousfront officeduty managerbusiness tripcoffee shop
Filter
Updating list...
1,619 - 1,624 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Leela was one of my special experiences of Chennai this year. We had organised my parents' anniversary party in their Grand Ball room. Right from coordinating the menu, to fixing the decorations, the music and the reception, all the staff at the Leela were extremely enthusiastic, accomodating and friendly. Everything was organised perfectly, the food was superlative and the service impeccable. I would recommend this hotel every time if you are planning on doing a big do here.

Room Tip: Get the sea view rooms, the view is amazing!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

A totally new hotel extremely confortable, very well imagined and achieved. Like a very large appartment with a splendid and luxurious bathroom and dressing.
Breakfast is really excellent, service in the bed rooms, reception, restaurant, is super organized and oriented towards a full guests satisfaction

Room Tip: we had an executive bed room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACDEQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Leela Palace on 15 & 16 th Jan 2013 in a wedding. Really it was very comfortable stay. Very warm welcome by hotel staff. Room size and Interiors was very good. Rooms were well decorated from Wooden furniture with mother of pearl. There were very tasty Chocolates and cookies in the room. There was a medium size balcony with room. Bathroom was well designed. Room was well equipped with all amenities like bathrobes, slippers, tea etc but lights were very dim and were not sufficient, even we couldn't see clearly our face in mirror.
Room temperature was low and we couldn't increase the temperature, so it was too cool. Staff was courteous and cooperative. Breakfast was good, South Indian Food was excellent rest was ok.
There were huge halls so functions were graceful. Landscaping is not so good. They should develop it. Lobby was very good.
Comfortable distance (15 KM) from airport. Car and cabs were easily available there.
The weak part of hotel was back side area which was visible from room. It was undeveloped slum area which was so dirty. Sea was behind this area. This area should clean.
Overall it was a nice and comfortable stay and we enjoyed a lot.

Room Tip: Choose sea facing room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaNyati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.

I have also taken good note of your suggestion for improvement.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

When we stayed in this property in Dec 2012 for a wedding which took place inside the hotel, it was only couple of weeks old. Hence, understandably facilities like the spa were not open. But the most positive experience here was the helpfulness of the hotel staff. I would be standing in the lobby looking for something or somebody and a random staff member would appear and offer to help!
Also the room was lovely with sea view. However, the plastic waste littered around the slum on the beach was not a delightful sight. Also my mom's room's ( next to mine) sea view was interrupted by construction.
The food was average, like any other 5-star. However, the variety of desserts and sweets were thumbs-up, Especially the chocolate muffins in breakfast!

Room Tip: Check out room view first. Do not take corner room like my mom's to avoid construction/building view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smitapkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback. I have also discussed your comment about the food with my Executive Chef and we are making improvement every day in order to strive for perfection.

Please rest assure that we are actively working to improve the surroundings as mentioned in your message.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My friend and his wife has come to visit us for a week.We decided to stay for two days in some good hotel and relax.This morning I tried to book rooms at Hotel leela Palace,chennai through their web but was shocked to see that the hotel website is not compatible with IPad .Everything was dark and unclear.Hotel of this level must have top quality website which can be accessed by iPad ,mobile etc also.So we opted for another hotel

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank cmotpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment on Trip Advisor.

I was obviously very sad to read about your technical problem and the fact that you could not book through your iPad and I sincerely apologise for this.

We have already discussed your concern with the IT department and I have no doubt that this technical issue will be resolve in a timely fashion and I thank you for bringing this to our attention.

You can always contact me directly for your future requirements and I would be delighted to assist you personally.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at The Leela Palace Chennai is the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews