We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Set in the exclusive residential district of Poes Gardens, this is a secluded, quiet and safe area of Chennai. The Chief Minister's private residence is close by, so the area is awash with police.

Nice leafy environment but nowhere really to sit out.

The rooms are huge, well appointed, with aircon, wifi and lovely bathrooms. Decor is basic but everywhere is spotlessly clean.

Very friendly staff. Home cooked meals if requested. It is more of a guest house than a hotel, with no bar or formal restaurant.

If you stay here, try the excellent Entekeralam restaurant which is nearby.

We paid 4000 Rs for a large double and at that price in central Chennai I think it rates 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hanu Reddy Residences. We have a beautiful terrace garden where you can sit and enjoy the lush greenery around. I invite you to experience the terrace on your next stay with us. I am sure you will enjoy it.

Regards
Nirupama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 223 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Centrally located, well-furnished, very well managed, clean service apartments. Complimentary breakfast and room service were good and rather convenient because the apartments are situated in a quiet, beautiful residential area with no eateries around.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Hanu Reddy Residences. Thank you for your review and comments.

Nirupama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hanu Reddy was a delight. It was quiet, serene, comfortable, clean and very centrally located.

To start with Nirupama, the hands on manager is a star! Her personal care and warmth shine through, as you stay in Hanu!

Mine was a business meeting and it was a perfect place to have a small, connected and intense business meeting. The hall and services were very good. The staff were amiable and very cooperative.

A definite turn on is the open air buffet South Indian breakfast. And they provide the menu you ask for in business meetings (hoping the same with personal stays) with the warmth and smile of tamil hospitality. Rooms are spacious, clean and the surroundings are also very clean and nice ambience/decor.

Filter coffees....umm...

A definite come back place for me...

Priya, New Delhi.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor appealed to me more for reasons of privacy and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating officer at Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you and your group at Hanu Reddy Residences. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I look forward to serving more filter coffee to you.

Regards
Nirupama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent a month finishing my latest book at Hanu Reddy Recidences Poes Garden. It was the perfect place for working: very peaceful and friendly. All my requests were taken care of in an efficient and speedy way. I had a pleasant working space on the terrace on top of the building, and I also had nice and peaceful evening teas and cognacs there with my friend.

The peaceful environment does have the slight drawback that the Recidences are some distance from any form of public transport and auto rickshaws are few and far between. For an avid walker like me that presented, however, no problem. The food at Hanu Reddy Recidences, unfortunately, is not exceptional, but there is an excellent Kerala restaurant a stone's throw away, and many other very good eateries within a reasonable distance on TTK and Cathedral roads.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hinupatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure and honour having you as our guest. I am very happy that it proved to be a conducive place for you to finish your book. I assure you that by your next visit we will be able to provide you with food suitable to your taste.

Thank you for reviewing us.

Nirupama Reddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed in Hanu Reddy Apartments for a week in January. These apartments are located in a very central location in Chennai - and in a posh residential area. It is truly a home away from home. The management, in particular Ms. Nirupama, the manager, and the staff are wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

The breakfast (included in the price) is superb - especially if you like south Indian food. The staff also go out of their way to accommodate special dietary needs. The rooms are well maintained and located in a very tranquil surrounding.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongDistanceVoyager5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hanu Reddy Residences. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to hosting you again

Nirupama Reddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The apartments is situated in a posh residential area so it's peaceful surroundings. The rooms are big with comfortable beds and all necessary amenities. Rooms and public spaces are clean and well maintained. Their garden seating offers food which is well made with fresh ingredients but you need to order your food in advance. The breakfast is limited to South Indian items or continental. Staff is pleasant and helpful. Important places like Mylapore, T Nagar are closely for any visit to market or the main temple. We will definitely return to stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abinashjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you with us again

Nirupama Reddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hanu Reddy Residences, in Poes Garden, and we were delighted with everything from start to finish.

From the time when I called from Canada to make the booking, - the response time was very quick from when I left messages, which truly impressed me, up to the time of arrival and then check out, the services were great and efficient.

The owners personally ensure that all guests are comfortable, request any feedback, and ensure that your requests for breakfast, lunch and dinner are met. The Residence staff are very polite, and always willing to help you, more than the expected norm. The chef who normally makes the breakfast, also obliges to requests for breakfast - for example, my husband requested for 'Salty Pongal' one day, and he happily complied. The breakfast that is included in the price is sumptuous, and consists of a variety of dishes, including cereal and toasts for those not wanting to have a typical south indian breakfast.

The rooms are clean and well maintained and any requests for extra linen, pillows etc. are immediately provided. I have to say that I was quite impressed with the wi-fi quality and speed in the rooms and in the building, including the outside dining area.

With regard to the hospitality of the Management, I cannot say enough - they are the most gracious hosts, generous with their time, approachable and one of the nicest family that I have ever met. Their personal attention to the care and requests of customers are heard and met, and I should say that the grounds the Residence exists is the most amazing - i.e. covered with lots of trees, plants and shrubs, including the terrace. The grounds were cleaned often by the staff, and so were the terraces, which was conducive to doing Yoga as well.

There are a number of long-term guests staying there from different parts of the world, which says a lot for their hospitality and the management of the residences.

I would highly recommend this property for people who are looking for a place that is like home away from home, and will be staying there again when I do go to Chennai.

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe room rather than a standard room and for long term stays a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antaara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest

I am happy that you enjoyed the famous Music season in Chennai staying at Hanu Reddy Residences. We are in the heart of this cultural extravaganza that is so typical of Chennai and were fortunate to have had many guests at the residences who travelled from all over the world to be a part of this. We hope you will be here again for the next season.

Thank you for your recommendation.

Nirupama Reddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Residency
#31 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
577 reviews
Savera Hotel
#43 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,012 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
909 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
953 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden

Address: 41 / 19 Poes Garden, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 662 Specialty Lodging in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $54 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and tranquil environment amidst greenery is the hall mark of Hanu Reddy Residences. The walls in each building are adorned with large pictures that tell our unique stories. Each frame has been created from 50 year old trees handmade by our master craftsmen. These bungalows have been upgraded with all the amenities of a modern building. Spacious rooms, comfortable bathrooms and great service make for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hanu Reddy Residences Poes Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing