We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Tomb of St. Thomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Thome Church

San Thome Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.00*
and up
Peacock Trail Walking Tour in Mylapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Probably the most magnificent and prominent reminder of Chennai's colonial lineage, the San Thome Church bears a colossal amount of history since A.D. 52, the year when St. Thomas traveled to India, though the Roman Catholic basilica was built in the 16th century by the Portuguese. It was then rebuilt by the British in 1893. The imposing structure reaches a height of 155 feet and emanates peace and architectural splendor with its tall spires over the tomb of the saint. The sea makes a wonderful backdrop to the pristine white structure. The San Thome Church is considered one of the pilgrimages for people around the world.
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Tomb of St. Thomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

St. Thomas gave his life for our Lord and this is where he is buried. Pictures are permitted in most parts of the complex, but be aware that photography and video is not permitted in the tomb area itself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vidiot1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    333
    96
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman Governorate, Jordan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worthwhile pilgrimmage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I jumped in a tuk-tuk and got taken down to this church, which is one of the main places I wanted to visit whilst in Chennai. the drive there was very interested as I went pretty early in the morning so there were heaps of people on the street (when isn't there in India) going about their morning rituals. When I arrived at the Church, my tuk-tuk man was happy to wait for me (only paid him 50% of the agreed fare is probably why) and I went and had a look around.
There is an immediate sense of reverence that hit me when I entered the Church. The alter was beautiful and the stained glass relief behind the alter was magnificent (see photo). I spent some quiet time in reflection and then went off in search of the relics of St. Thomas who was martyred at the site.
The area where the relic is stored had a bit of the dramatic about it-like having a relic of that magnitude isn't enough! Anyway, there was an opportunity to see the relic and spend some moments in reflection as I was the only one in the room at the time.
This was a very interesting and personally enriching thing to do and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in that type to thing as something to do for sure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank R0hanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,661 reviews
2,243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,036 helpful votes
“What a lovely church.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a lovely white church with a very warm interior.
Other than the ancient relics, you can also find some lovely statues and beautiful colored windows in the church.
The acoustics in the church, however, leaves a lot to be desired and the noisy street can be heard inside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Like Saint Peter Cathedral in Vatican - San Thome Church in Chennai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Like Saint Peter Cathedral in Vatican - San Thome Church in Chennai is the only second church in the World which is built on the tomb of The Apostle.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Krzysztof F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great to see the relics and the tomb. The church itself has a beautiful interior. There are inexpensive programs and water available for purchase and its not far out of the way. A worthwhile stop in a city that is not really a tourist destination. Dont expect western style tourism but most of the exhibits contain english explanations. The three cathedrals descriptor at on the staircase makes you think about the vast expanse of catholicism.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Thome Church also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to San Thome Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing