We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty beach”
Review of Marina Beach

Marina Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Private Chennai Tour: San Thome Church, Kapaleeshwar Temple, Marina Beach and...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This expansive beach is Chennai's most famous tourist attraction, though the undercurrent is too strong for all but the strongest swimmers. Look out for the "Kannagi" statue on Marina Beach, which tells the story of the legendary character from a South Indian epic.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dirty beach”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The beach was so dirty and its famous too the local people are gathering around and enjoying there day at beach . local market was ok and food at beach was bad and the humidity stinks. my first experience at beach side was not good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amar_renu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    906
    744
    218
    131
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
640 reviews
446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Attraction it's not.”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Sorry another dirty Indian beach with loads of rubbish scattered along it with rundown rickety stalls along the sand. To the Southern end near the Lighthouse there are filthy slums and foul smelling drains.
Why doesn't someone start a campaign to clean these waterways ?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris101111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of a kind beach with too many folks around”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a must stop if you are in Chennai. This is one of longest beaches with typical conservative folks around i.e. bikinis etc are not a norm here. Only boys and kids enjoy to the fullest and women have to wear full clothes ( since nobody else is in bikini there ). This is a beach with quite a long shoreline and strong waves but very crowded in evening. This is not your typical resort or bathing beach but for a evening walk beach , away from city. I enjoyed spicy eatables available around at reasonable prices.

In fact , I made repeat visits to the place in my week long stay. Be safe and enjoy the beach, women need to be a bit careful from boys roaming around in groups.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sabir_amu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dirty, stinky, beach”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

There is no escaping the vast amounts of trash. I also nearly had a major cut from broken glass. It is a reflection on the citizens of Chennai who shamelessly throw trash on the beach. When I tried to stop a few, I was abused in Tamil and one citizen translated it in English as it is not my personal beach, so who am I to tell them. In summary, the trash is sickening and makes this a terrible place to go. If you can be completely oblivious to the trash then it is ok, but I don't know how you can be. It is a shame that neither the locals nor the government is doing anything. I want to come back and start a group to clean it. How can Indians be so dirty is baffling. Also the facilities are poor---no restrooms, no designated areas to cross from parking lot to beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seantraveler1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
681 reviews
446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,071 helpful votes
“Marina Beach--Longest Urban Beach”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Marina Beach at Chennai, Tamilnadu is a natural urban beach along the Bay of Bengal Sea. The beach runs from near Fort St. George in the North to Besant Nagar in the South, approximately a distance of 13 Kms making it the longest natural urban beach in the country, and the World's second longest.. The Marina is primarily sandy, unlike the short, rocky formations in Juhu Beach in Mumbai.

This is one of my most favorite places as I have spent many evenings at this beach during my childhood. I used to play at this area along with my friends during week ends. We used to sit and observe the waves coming from far off the Sea and touching the shore and going back gradually.It is a wonderful thing to watch.

Vendors selling many eatable items are many and they go round the visitors and sell their items. Prominent are Sundal (made up of Boiled chana), mangoes cut into pieces and sprinkled with chilly powder and salt which is mouth watering. I cannot forget those days. It is still in my mind as fresh as today. Whenever I visit Chennai, I make it a a point to visit Marina Beach.

Bathing and swimming at the Marina Beach are legally prohibited because of the dangers, as the undercurrent is very turbulent.

It is the most crowded beach in the country and attracts huge visitors daily and it is doubled during weekends and festival days..Of late, the beach and the water has become much polluted
because of plastic wastage, Human wastage etc.

It is interesting to know that all along the length of the promenade, stone statues adorn the roadside area of the beach starting from the "Triumph of Labour" statue,(shown in many films) the first statue erected in the beach, near the memorials at the Anna Square to Mahatma Gandhi statue near the lighthouse. Most statues are of national or local legends while others have symbolic significance like the Triumph of Labour statue.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KASIRAO5646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Beach also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Marina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing