We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic home food”
Review of idly Vilas - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
idly Vilas
Description: This is anew restaurant & and foreigners will like this traditionally serves South India Tiffins & meals.
Restaurant details
Description: This is anew restaurant & and foreigners will like this traditionally serves South India Tiffins & meals.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic home food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

After long time I had excellent food with my friends. . Especially the Andra idilli nd end up with paneer soda..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeartVenkatesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast and evening snacks”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A recent player,good stuff at reasonable price. Serves different types od Idly and Dosas served a place where rice uppama is served

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suraghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Variety of Idly's.........”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hi
I never thought there could be so many different types of Idly's.
This place is on Radha Krishna salai or (R.K.Salai).It is not a big joint,but a cute place where you have a option of eating different variety of idly's...
They have 4 types of chutney which was also excellent.
It was something nice and i will go there for a quick bite when ever i pass by and have their Chilly-Idly.(my Fav)...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Variety south indian tiffin at its best”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

When Murugan Idly was started, we all were happy that there was a place to have variety idlys. But they charge too much for something that does not even equal to idlys that we make for breakfast at home.
Idly Vilas has a lot of variety that I have only heard of like kalyana parota (sweet), guruvayur payasam (definitely better than what u get at guruvayur), mini rasam vada (at its best) and many more.
We have started going to beach just because we can have bf/lunch/dinner on our way back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjai2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast Place”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It is one of the economical & tradional tamilnadu style to eat B fast.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uttara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed idly Vilas also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing