We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know how this place rated so highly”
Review of Raj Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raj Park Chennai
Ranked #79 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Booked the Ramada Raj Park based on Trip Advisor's high ranking, but after staying there I'm not sure how it got such a high score. Mediocre hotel with indifferent staff. We booked a room for two adults and one child through asiatravel.com at $80/night. When we checked out, the cashier tried to charge us extra for our child. When I objected and showed them the booking, they removed the charge but somehow we ended up paying more than $80 - they played a currency trick and added the charge in dollars but removed it in rupees, which ended up in the hotel's favor, of course. When I caught this and objected again, the front office staff became obstinate and argumentative and refused to change the bill. They must train their staff to argue with customers if it puts extra revenue in the hotel's till. Cheesy place. Find another hotel in Chennai.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrow_henley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 316 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2006

Stayed here for one night, travelling home to the UK from elsewhere in India.
Car pick up at airport and drop off next morning excellent.
Hotel slightly old fashioned but spotless, food reasonable, good value
Also used hotel can and driver for some sightseeing and shopping - absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank John121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2006

I stayed in this hotel for a month in August 2004, when my office booked it for me. I loved it so much, I booked it myself when I returned to Chennai on business last year. I stayed for one week in September 2005, and again in October 2005 for a weekend.

You know it's a class hotel when you have a richly brocaded and turbaned doorman greet you out of the car with a salute - this being the airport transfer they arrange for you. The lovely chandeliered and marble - like entrance & reception is sleek and impressive.

I stayed in a double room which was around Rs 2400 per night. The bed is practically king size, cable TV, refrigerator, all rooms AC with complimentary mineral water - very important details in a city that regularly reaches 45C during the summer! The decor is modern in that it's heavy wood furniture with very minimal design elements. Two chairs, a desk, and a wardrobe are all provided, and the smooth marble-like stone floor is wonderfully cool to walk on. Quite elegant design. The bathroom surfaces appear to be green marble, and there is a bathtub as well as shower - the bath being quite unusual in other hotels of this price range.

Room service, well the food in general, was varied and all to good standard. 24/7 room service menu offers selections from Chinese, Western and Indian cuisine; the restaurant serves buffet meals that mirror this blend. The breakfast buffet offers fresh fruit, juice, DIY toast, and a rotating selection of croissants, French toast, pancakes as well as the local idly and sambar (you HAVE to try this once!) and dhosa. Truly something for everyone.

I recommend this hotel quite highly. The only down side is there is no swimming pool, which I sorely miss due to needing the regular exercise. But the polite efficiency of the staff make anyone forget any shortcomings in the gym/ fitness department.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraIngalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
singapore, singapore
18
Reviewed October 26, 2004

Checked into this hotel for 1 day last aug/september when I missed a connecting flight. I booked the hotel room from the airport, and i could get a 25% discount , maybe u can get more if u book it online ahead..

The hotel/room environment was excellent along with the room service. The price of the food looked a bit expensive, though if u are converting to dollars it might not be much.

The only sore part was that, i was told i would get a free shuttle ride to/from the airport, which i got for the ride to the hotel from the airport. But the next day, when i was checking out, i asked the helpdesk, about my shuttle ride and they were looking at my invoice, saying it wasnt mentioned there.

I didnt argue with them and found my own transportation back to the airport..

**** out of 5

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nambawanwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajPark, Front Office Manager at Raj Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tampabayusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sihu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Mylapore
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#45 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,052 reviews
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#59 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
677 reviews
Mylapore
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#58 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Raj Palace Sundar
#32 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
141 reviews
T. Nagar
The Iris Hotel
The Iris Hotel
#66 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
199 reviews
T. Nagar
The Residency
The Residency
#28 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raj Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raj Park Chennai

Address: 180 Tt Krishnamachari Road, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Ramada Rajpark Chennai)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $50 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raj Park Chennai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raj Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raj Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Ramada Hotel Rajpark Chennai
Ramada Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing