We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix required...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai
Ranked #320 of 405 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Spacious rooms, ambiance is very good, restaurants are quite well organized as well. Few hanging wires, bathroom leaks and many other issues were left unattended. At times, looks like a half done hotel room. This hotel needs a big fix

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBCMBLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 182 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Ajay D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

In our opinon it was the worest hotel we have stayed so far,as we are doing round trip of south India. The hotel has well passed its sell by date. no hot water for5days when complained they gave us bucket of hot water. all the electric needed mulitple adapters and kept blowing fuses,rooms not cleaned and the bath was neaver cleaned while we stayed there. every time you order the room service ,staff expect to tip them as the service was too bad. also they diid not leave any towels so when bring them you had to tip them. repair you own room safe and toliet flush. no tea and coffee or milk but kettle was provided. food was tasteless and cold no varities. asked for scramble eggs for breakfast informed us that do not know how to cook. manger was in need of replaceing. all the staff in the dinning room watch TV instead of servicing the guest.at reception we heard alots of customers complaing. we will never go to that hotel ever again. If you ever watch Faulty Towers on TV In England that is the best to describe this hotel.

Room Tip: none keep clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snow569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had been to Vijay Park Hotel in Chennai when i was on a business trip in Dec 12. The hotel rooms are just terrible, terrible, terrible. Its only an insane person who would like to stay in the hotel. The beds are uncomforatable, bedding smell dirty and are terrible, rooms dont have any facilities, Airconditioner is worst, the switches are broken, The bathrooms are the worst. The water there smells bad. What can i say, better to stay in a cheap lodge than this hotel.
Worst experience of my life and the worst value for money....

Room Tip: Terrible hotel to stay. What looks outside is not at all inside the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwanikx36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked the banquet hall well in advance but on the day of Bday they change dthe hall without informing us.The managers are so irresponsible that they did not bother to apologize.

We had a big fight and they were not looking at us when we were talking.

We were irritated and angry when we left.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varuntcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I visited the Vijay Park Hotel, Chennai during the months of March and April this year. The Hotel is a good Budget Hotel. The food is edible. The best part about the rooms being that they are good sized. Though the interiors of the hotel can be definitely improved. The television only skied local channels which is of no help. The house keeping staff too at times does not follow the language. However they have an excellent Bar on the top floor. On a whole its a fine Hotel which may be improved.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are fair enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shouveek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a good hotel for business visitors , located on road which gives excess to easy commuting. good luxurious room.
Worth the pay , you can ask for free lunch and corporate discounts which shall make it within budget.
Average restaurant , maybe one need to travel and find sarana bhavan for better food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samir83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Aminjikarai
Radha Regent
Radha Regent
#41 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
475 reviews
JP Hotel Chennai
#46 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
203 reviews
Hotel Royal Plaza
#76 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambica Empire
#118 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
166 reviews
GreenPark Chennai
#20 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
1,066 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#54 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai

Address: 12 Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Chennai (Madras) 600106, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 405 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $31 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing