We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Ranked #16 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting food”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Quite the business hotel, with the frills of a full service one! A nice set of restaurants. The buffet spread too is sumptuous enough!

Love the pool, but surely would wish they'd keep non-resident guests off the place. You really have random blokes who'd have come for some event at one of the banquets strolling around!

The staff do have some more scope to warmer than they are!

Room Tip: Ask them for a newly refurbished room on the pool side and also do remember to tell them that you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgekoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    356
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
158
171
83
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A great experience. Stayed in a deluxe room. The room was reasonably sized. The bed was amazingly soft with a choice of pillows. I have never slept so well. The bathroom was sparkling with a bath tub and a shower stall. But could not get enough hot water for a bath in the tub, and the shower would become luke warm in a few minutes. The food is great with an amazing breakfast buffet spread. Hip Asia is a great restaurant for Asian food. The service is excellent. I got whatever I asked for including some medicines which I needed in the middle of the night (12 midnight). The daily complementary seasonal fruits make for a healthy snack. Air conditioning is excellent. Staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block if you want to avoid a trudge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docgautham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great hotel. Close to the railway station. We were there for 2 days as one of us had a meeting in the city. The staff is very friendly. The entire hotel is only 2 floors. We did not eat from the buffet, but ordered snacks and drinks as were out the entire day. The room was beautiful. Old, heavy furniture, dark hardwood floor. The staircase was beautiful. I wish they would have a free business center or give us free wifi. It really is a pity that in this day and age they are stingy about basic amenities like that. Bathroom is well stocked and the turn down service was lovely. Would definitely stay here if we have to go back to Chennai.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegLionHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed in this piece of heaven located in the midst of crowded Chennai city for 2 nights and had a very memorable experience. The staff was very courteous and the range of hospitality services was fascinating. Two things struck out the most. Firstly, the attention to detail the staff was exemplary, right on the first day we were greeted at the breakfast table by our names, the room had small feel good personalized messages, although these seem like small things but they make a big difference in the stay. Second, was the beautiful interiors of the hotel, they made you forget about the hustle bustle of the city outside. All in all, it was definitely worth it to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shashwat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here in December 2013. The hotel is really beautiful and relaxing. However, the rooms are not too great. Bathrooms were just fine. Charges are high for the services provided. Service was rather slow. Food was good however. Had the price been around 25% lesser, would change my review to 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniruddhpadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Everything I would expect from a Taj associated hotel.
Excellent service, rooms, staff, food etc.
Always helpful and on hand.

But, no free WiFi - in this day and age in a 5 star hotel.

Please note hoteliers - I will never again stay in a good hotel which does not offer free, always on WiFi.

We ate in the associated RainTree restaurant, where we had a Chettinad feast fit for a King (or Raj). Absolutely superb food, really recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying in the Taj - we were in Chennai unexpectedly due to having our passports stolen in kerela so we had to visit the embassy. So despite spending a stressful couple of days in chennai, the taj was very relaxing. They allowed us late check out without additional charge as we were tied up in the immigration office. The food in their informal dining restaurant was excellent, we had dinner breakfast and lunch and all were really good. The restaurant staff gave us the added extra of suggestions of local delicacies.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,112 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,361 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
2,649 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Address: Binny Road, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai is the city's only heritage hotel, built in 1854 as the Imperial Hotel, renamed Albany in 1886, finally re-established as The Connemara in 1890. It was an Art Deco look that the Connemara sported when it ‘reopened’ in 1937. And the legendary architect Geoffrey Bawa added his touch to the tower block and linking pool in 1974. Today it is infused with the spirited style of Vivanta by Taj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Connemara, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Taj Connemara Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing