We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in center of Chennai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Ranked #15 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value in center of Chennai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel arriving very early a.m. Reception was great and the room was extremely comfortable. Wonderful large swimming pool which is a nice relief from the heat and dirt of Chennai. The breakfast at Verandah is enormous and I tried two of the other restaurants for dinner, both great. (Hip Asia has a variety of choices from Thai to Vietnamese and Raintree is a great introduction to south Indian cuisine). The staff was wonderful throughout the hotel. The desk clerk even offered to set up an appointment for a massage at the neighboring Taj Club House hotel when the in-hotel spa was booked. He even offered to take me across the street himself if I was nervous about walking on my own. This is a historic old hotel (totally renovated) and make sure to look at the wonderful photos from the 1930s displayed all around the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DW123418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    353
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
156
170
83
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at this hotel in December 2013. The check in was smooth and the room very comfortable and elegantly decorated. However, the telephone was not working and it took many reminders to get it fixed. The front office staff was also cold and curt.

However, this was more than amply made up by the excellent support we received from Mr Gajanan Borde who seemed responsible for our wing. He volunteered to get an alteration of one of our clothing just purchased when we asked him for a needle/thread so that we could do it. He organised for the phone to be fixed, the complimentary basket of fruits to be provided. He made the visit worthwhile and his pleasant smile will always remain with us.

The room was well equipped with all facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RusiGovernor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I am a Silver member of Taj Group. I was in MAA for a trade roadshow and stayed in Taj Connemara in Sep 2013. The rooms very very nice and the breakfast was simply superb. It is not crowded and the staff are very friendly. I would totally recommend this property for stay in MAA.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Overnight stay during a business trip. One of the first things i heard was that it is over 150 years old and that does mean something. Also found out that some people frequented chennai and choose to stay only at the this hotel. Relaxed setting, lots of families around, great food both at dinner and at breakfast. Value for money. Nice swimming pool and attentive hotel staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idsvishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I spent the final few days of a tour of Southern India here. Although it was not yet our wedding anniversary, the hotel had made us a special cake which was left in our enormous upgraded room to welcome us to Chennai. It was a good start which just got better. The food in this hotel was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. With a few days sightseeing to do, it was always good to return to this haven of peace in the middle of a bustling city.
The pool looked great although we never found time to use it. Maybe next time?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan551767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights during a convention at Chennai. It was an extremely pleasant and comfortable stay. Taj hospitality is unmistakable. The hotel has an ethnic old world charm and yet very modern. The rooms a very spacious with a work area spaced out overlooking the swimming pool. I really liked this concept. Unlike other hotels where the work area is facing a wall, this was a very different concept. The room had a five wing fan with an old world charm (you may not need to use it because of the excellent AC system). The layout of the room is also superior than the modern standard layout of the rooms.

The toiletries were very good quality, and the bathroom very spacious and excellent. Bath tub + shower cubicle. Spencer Mall is adjacent so some shopping is always possible even if you return late from work, though the mall is pretty ordinary, rather an inferior one.

The food is excellent, and the best part is the desserts. Complimentary Breakfast has lot of options and of very good quality. Chicken and Fish preparation are also very good.

Overall, my stay here was extremely good and I strongly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the swimming pools can give you a pleasant working table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank not_on_a_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

As a business traveler, I have been spending time between 7/8 pm till 8/9 am in hotel rooms. Typically I land up sleeping in a room.
Vivanta Chennai is now my regular and favorite place for stay in Chennai. The hotel staff somehow manages to guess my preferences and I keep on staying in rooms that have not only great view but is comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#16 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Address: Binny Road, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai is the city's only heritage hotel, built in 1854 as the Imperial Hotel, renamed Albany in 1886, finally re-established as The Connemara in 1890. It was an Art Deco look that the Connemara sported when it ‘reopened’ in 1937. And the legendary architect Geoffrey Bawa added his touch to the tower block and linking pool in 1974. Today it is infused with the spirited style of Vivanta by Taj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Connemara, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Taj Connemara Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing