We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Ranked #22 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at Connemara...as always with Taj - excellent service, courteous staff, and good breakfast....the plumbing needs some improvement though as one of the wash basins got choked...
Apart from that, had a good experience

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvm234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 989 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was delighted to experience the personal touch and attention demonstrated by the staff at Taj . A special mention to bhaskaran from verandah to have taken such wonderful care of us . The staff understand varied needs of the customers n responds in a manner that is truly satisfying n delighting ... A hotel must go .. Must c .. Must try !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritu009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the TAJ - CONNEMARA for 4 nights over the xmas period. The personal touch and attention to detail could not be faulted.
Our room was spotless, the staff were both friendly and professional, the food was appetising.
Value for money. Smiling faces.
What more does a person need ?.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stay at this hotel!! To set the standard let us begin with the laundry delivered in a leather box with a red carnation. Overwhelmingly superb service during our 3 day stay here. After 7 months in India, spending Christmas here was one of the most pleasant and thoroughly satisfying experiences yet. The buffet breakfast was the best I've sampled and the buffet lunch on Christmas day was a massive spread of vast proportions, flavours and delights. Of the three hotel restaurants, we went to Hip Asia 3 nights in a row as the food and service was so fresh and entertaining we couldn't even bring ourselves to try anything different. We've been in many hotels in India in the last 7 months (including many from the Taj chain) and this is the best by a considerable margin. A massive room with lounge, spotlessly clean, and the most amazing and attentive staff. The impeccable and personable service is a standout feature and reflects on the good training and ongoing management. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

An old, colonial style hotel, and showing its age a bit! We had a room in the older wing, it was a bit musty as we went in and always damp. This is probably due to a very old central air conditioning system. The bathroom taps had green algae embedded in them!

The food here is excellent, especially at the Verandah and Raintree restaurants. We dined almost every day of our one month's stay in the hotel.. I'm sure there were much cheaper alternatives up the road, but in India, you get what you pay for where food is concerned, and as for taste, cleanliness and excellent presentation, the hotel didnt disappoint! The Verandah offers a variety of Indian, Italian and Ango-Indian items. The Raintree has spicy Chettinad cuisine, and the decor and ambience is very pleasing. Hip Asia has Thai, Malaysian Viet and Japanese food. We enjoyed the thai here, and the small sushi platter we had was ok, though not brilliant. Nice decor here too.The distil bar has a good variety of drinks and cocktails and some yummy starters. The staff in all the restaurants gave very good service. At the Verandah, they remembered our special preferences for breakfast as we were there every day.

The house keeping service depended on the staff assigned, for the first 3 weeks of our stay it was excellent because we had one very good housekeeping staff member! The last week was a bit hit or miss done by various staff and trainees. Reception and billing was satisfactory, but certain staff in the Travel department could be curt at times and are not very polite. They lost out on our business because of this, we went on a few sight-seeing trips by ourselves and didnt use the hotel cars at all, other than to and from the office which was included in our room rate.

The management is very hands-on and courteous, and we were invited to a party for long-stay guests.Overall, a pleasant stay, and we would come again.

Room Tip: If available, go for the newer block. The older rooms are musty and are showing their age.. Dont us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bishopsgambit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although the heritage badge is appropriate, this doesn't mean that sanitary standards should be substandard. The public toilets were filthy, one of our rooms was not cleaned (hairs in toilet, urine on toilet seat) and the white bed linen had some questionable stains. There were mosquitoes everywhere, one poor guy was responsible for the complete eradication of the mosquito population equipped with an electronic mosquito zapper. Not a hope in hell.
That said, staff were eager to please.
The whole place just felt a bit tired (and smelly). With so many great hotels to choose from, it just is not worth going to this Taj.

Room Tip: I just would not pick this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barb.eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Taj always lives up to it's name. But @ this particular hotel they go above and beyond. Absolutely superb hotel and service.

To those looking for 5 star safe travel in India, in my opinion should only book with the reputable chain hotels, like The Taj, The Leela etc. other local 5 star individual facilities which are not part of recognizable names should not be booked because the service is more like 2 star or worst in those hotels.

It's worth the money @ the Taj.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,197 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,189 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
2,995 reviews
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai

Address: Binny Road, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $109 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai is the city's only heritage hotel, built in 1854 as the Imperial Hotel, renamed Albany in 1886, finally re-established as The Connemara in 1890. It was an Art Deco look that the Connemara sported when it ‘reopened’ in 1937. And the legendary architect Geoffrey Bawa added his touch to the tower block and linking pool in 1974. Today, it is infused with the spirited style of Vivanta by Taj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Connemara, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Taj Connemara Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing