We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cousin of Taj Groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Ranked #29 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although the heritage badge is appropriate, this doesn't mean that sanitary standards should be substandard. The public toilets were filthy, one of our rooms was not cleaned (hairs in toilet, urine on toilet seat) and the white bed linen had some questionable stains. There were mosquitoes everywhere, one poor guy was responsible for the complete eradication of the mosquito population equipped with an electronic mosquito zapper. Not a hope in hell.
That said, staff were eager to please.
The whole place just felt a bit tired (and smelly). With so many great hotels to choose from, it just is not worth going to this Taj.

Room Tip: I just would not pick this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barb.eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 990 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Taj always lives up to it's name. But @ this particular hotel they go above and beyond. Absolutely superb hotel and service.

To those looking for 5 star safe travel in India, in my opinion should only book with the reputable chain hotels, like The Taj, The Leela etc. other local 5 star individual facilities which are not part of recognizable names should not be booked because the service is more like 2 star or worst in those hotels.

It's worth the money @ the Taj.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank SP2131
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was so impressed with this hotel -- service was excellent. I arrived after long flights from US and was warmly welcomed and provided with an upgraded room (overlooking pool, which is lovely). A complimentary light meal was delivered in minutes. Travel staff easily made arrangements for tours. Was there for 3 nites and wish I had had more time -- truly an oasis.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I liked these: Ambiance, very spacious rooms. Rooms were clean and offered a good feel. Courteous staffs. All my demands were met (early check in, early packed breakfast etc.). We had all our meals here, Good taste and decent varieties. Cozy bed, sofa, etc. Had everything I would require. Good privacy.

Did not like: Mosquitoes: although they had 3 all outs in my room, there were mosquitoes in rooms as well as washroom. They should probably use a spray before checking the guests in.
The tiles in the rooms were loose at some places and was producing irritating noise when stepped on. Internet was charged outrageously.

Room Tip: Had taken a king size bed room. Was good and offered privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bihadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Ok, not the most luxurious hotel in India, but I loved it here. It's just steeped in history and the staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast basic, but good choice of styles. I had a great room. It was enormous and so was the bathroom. If you prefer character and history over having every modern convenience you will love it here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickDud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This so called heritage hotel has finally been stripped of any vestiges of history, charm and service.
My grandparents got engaged here in the 1940s and I last visited in 2001 when it still had a little something about it.
Now it has really lost its way.
Arrival is charmless - the once grand arrival guest were granted by beautifully dressed staff is now a pseudo military exercise.
Granted security at any large city hotel after the Mumbai attacks especially one in the Taj Group does understandably mean security but teh way the Connnemara has done it has ruined it.
The door way is really awkward and the silly security guard uniforms serve no purpose - Bring back the beautiful bearers in turbans.
Once inside, if you arrive of an evening, the glistening foyer which is beautiful will be filled with the beats from the worst of club music coming from the adjacent bar. Why ruin that foyer which is the best looking part of the hotel with tacky noise pollution.
The room we had was clean and comfy but was pokey and came with the constant hum of air conidtioners on the roof of the Verandah restaurant - all rooms anywhere near the the verandah will have this noise.
I really don't want a massive transfer sticker of a giant mosquito staring at me from the window warning me not open it. The bathrooms were clean-ish - no fault of the housekeeping staff who did a great job - just that the fittings getting a bit long in the tooth.
The once traditional barbers where many an international cricketer went for a hot towel shave has been replaced by a cheap looking hairdressing salon that wouldn't look out of place at the wrong end of a British high street - no style.
Also gone is the live Bharatanatyam dancing which made the restaurant in the garden a must.
I mystified by reports here that people consider this place 'heritage' apart form the shell which isn't much to look at most is 1990s modern.
The pool used to be beautiful but now it looks tired and the gardens not so beautifully kept.
We only ate at the Connemara for a couple of breakfasts but they have an embarrasing thing going on with the service which I try to recount here without being rude to the staff who were only trying to do there best.
Guest who are mid way through a mouthful of breakfast dont want to explain to interested staff where they have come from, where they are visiting, what they do for a living. It's fine out on the street or in cheaper digs but not when you are trying to eat and relax in a smart top end hotel.
At one breakfast our meal was interupted three times by seperate staff who wanted to chat. None of the domestic guest got the same quizzing. We spoke to a local businessman friend about this and he described it as 'over hospitalising' which is spot on. Training needed.
The real killer for the Connemara is that is you spend five minutes looking at other hotels in Chennai you will find much, much better for the same money or less.
On this latest visit we had a second booking at the Connemara on our way back via Chennai - we cancelled it in favour of staying at the Raintree on Anna Salai - price was the same, included free wifi and airport transfer and the food was a mile above the connemara offering- see seprate review for this first class hotel. Also looking good for similar money is the Hyatt - super modern but fabulous.
Meanwhile Taj group need to take a serious look at what they are doing with the historic Connemara spot. I hope they can turn it around.

Room Tip: Ask for away from any air con units. that means if you are pool side away from the verandah area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gadflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,223 reviews
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#18 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,230 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
3,090 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#9 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,123 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#11 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai

Address: Binny Road, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $109 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai is the city's only heritage hotel, built in 1854 as the Imperial Hotel, renamed Albany in 1886, finally re-established as The Connemara in 1890. It was an Art Deco look that the Connemara sported when it ‘reopened’ in 1937. And the legendary architect Geoffrey Bawa added his touch to the tower block and linking pool in 1974. Today, it is infused with the spirited style of Vivanta by Taj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Connemara, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Taj Connemara Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing