We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Nearby Hotels
$79
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$218
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$218
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$72
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Towers(Chennai (Madras))
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$62
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$80
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$81
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$169
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset Greenways Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveler rating
493
356
103
26
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
356
103
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelspencer plazarain treethe heart of the cityexcellent serviceswimming poolbusiness tripraintreechennaiambiencehospitalityrenovationmadrasraj
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
741 - 746 of 988 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Connemara is not a hotel, but more closer to a home where you feel the warmth of the staff who provide extremely personalized service across all levels. The food is amazing - all meals and staff has been the most genuine and friendly I've ever seen in any 5 star hotels. Being small is nice in this case, because its a small hotel with few rooms, but with the best quality Taj service

Room Tip: a pool side room would be the best!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brishikesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I am frequent business traveller and a Taj member. I stay here quite often. Some of the rooms are excellent. A few deserve a refurbishing.
Their service levels are exemplary. Check in , Check out , Restaurant service levels are worth the stay.
Breakfast is authentic south indian cusine coupled with other cusines. The dinner buffet has a great scope for upgradation.
The service level at the dining , check in , check out is a pleasure

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karthiknatarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Room was good, but the dinner disappointed me. there were cockroaches on the table. I know this but in breakfast the buffet was awesome. they provided the service bi early because i was supposed to leave bit early in the morning had that dinner wouldnot have spoiled my mood it it would have been good

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vidhi_goel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Sadly, this hotel is so old (about 150 years) and I don't know if it can be brought back to its former glory. What the rooms lacked the service staff tried to make up for. One of their staff actually took me over to the mall next door to help me find some silver jewelry. It was the best service I'd ever had in an Indian hotel, but I think if I return to Chennai I will stay at the newer Taj down the street. The hotel was heavily perfumed - mostly likely to mask the mildew.
The food was great - I ordered the non-veg Thali in the room before I left on an international flight and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. I love South Indian food!

Room Tip: Right next to Spencer Mall - the oldest mall in South Asia - its worth going to check out.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

True Taj Class. Centrally located..and hence makes it easy to move around. If you are business traveller , then it is "the"place to stay. Heritage structure, comfortable and spacious rooms, very clean.Has a good spa. The Asian resturant is awesome. The coffee shop could be better. Prompt and efficient check in and check out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambydatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews