We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They delight you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand by GRT Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand by GRT Hotels to your Saves list
Grand by GRT Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
₹4,499 (INR)
Ranked #12 of 370 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They delight you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

GRT Grand is my first choice for stay in Chennai. It is located off Anna Salai, close to most big business houses, and 45 mins away from the airport. The hospitality is the best i've seen, with very no-nonsense but helpful staff. The hotel has some of the best reastaurants in town, and a good fitness room. The rooms are tastefully decorated and fairly large, even if it is the single occupancy, deluxe rooms. The bathrooms are clean, and beautiful, especially executive rooms and above. The mini bar is well stocked, and the TV has a wide range of channels for our viewing. I have never had a bad moment here, and look forward to going back for the next trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pratsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    241
    69
    13
    12
See reviews for
120
54
57
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

GRT Grand- Value for Monay

We Booked this Hotel on a hurry for my stay at Chennai because of an urgent meeting with Client.
We were Spectial about the Hetel at situated in the busy area of T Nagar.However it was a pleasant surprise once we reached Hotel. The Hotel was an absolute Value for Money.Situated on the Main T Nagar Road offering different Coushines for Breakfacst was ammezing.In particular the Speciality Restaurant as too good as it offers speciality South Indian foods.Located at the Central of the Business District of Chennai.Value for Money and Great Comfort.In particular the Specility Food Restaurant is awsome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhranshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The service at The GRT Hotel was excellent, check in and check out team was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were very uniquely decorated, not like the usual boring hotels. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were very nice too. The whole room and bathroom was extremely clean.
The restaurant in the hotel was excellent and could find many variety of food.
Walkable distance to Chennai's super busy shopping area where you can buy anything you wish for your family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSathish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a conference, this place is a very well maintained property - this was my first impression. The room prices were quite reasonable for what it offered. I absolutely loved the buffet breakfast which was quite a spread...the service like checkin checkout was also very smooth. Of what I read at the hotel, its one of the oldest in chennai but looked very contemporary to me...thanks to the central location, I wont think twice before checking in...

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank earth69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

It is a good hotel with a business center. I felt that the place had a damp smell, especially the bathrooms. Would have liked to see more lights. The view was good from the top of the eighth floor, and my guests enjoyed saying, 'they had never seen Chennai look this way from the top'....removes you from the crowded streets and gives you privacy. Foods were excellent. Satish the overall manager for all restaurants was very very friendly and very helpful. The staff in the kitchen even made me a rasam (soup) when I felt I wanted to eat light. Overall would recommend anyone going to visit Chennai to stay here. Just write to them to make improvements in their bathrooms by upgrading these. They are sparkling clean but could be better lighted and better looking.

I stayed in December of 2008 and January of 2009. Not October as stated above.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vishart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

As you pull up to the curve, you are politely greeted and welcomed in to a lavish and nicely decorated lobby. I check in and are relatively enjoying the stay in my room, the morning staff and breakfast is pretty good. During one of the many days of my stay at GRT Grand, I notice something moving on my bed, to my utter horror, I find out it was a cockroach. One on the bed, the other on the counter. This hotel is so expensive that they should ensure that a single cockroach doesn't exist in any of the rooms. We chose to stay at an expensive hotel to avoid these nasty bugs, but ended up paying for it. The first time we informed, a simple spraying was done. The second incident was on our last night of stay, and some nice staff members changed our bed and sprayed. Only to my asking was an upgraded room offered, at 10pm when we were to leave at 3 am, so of course we declined the offer since there was no point since we were in the midst of packing up as well

. The big bosses and supervisors didn't care about customer service or the bugs, they just smiled and said "Sorry M'am". Nothing was done to compensate and we stayed over a week at the hotel.

My advice, skip the GRT Grand, and pay to stay at the Marriott, unless you want to pay for an expensive and bug infested room.

A hotel like this doesn't deserve the name Grand, or it's "4 Stars". Who do they think they are charging those high rates for their rooms?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polkadots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

GRT Grand Hotel, T Nagar, Located in the center of Chennai city, GRT Grand combines excellent amenities with renowned South Indian food. Its really awesome and pleasant hotel. I had spent 4 days here on business trip. Rooms are clean and in good condition. But when we reached in GRT we feel that we are out of not only Chennai, out of India. Interior was amazing. food is delicious and very tasty. All types of foods available like soUth indian,punjabi,gujju thali etc.Maintanence staff were helpful & friendly with us. Swimming pool is clean and good condition and we enjoyed a lot of fun in that pool. The place where this hotel is located is good connection to all important terminals of buses, trains and flights. Overall it is a good and wonderful experience for me staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SATISHKUMAR812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
The Accord Metropolitan
The Accord Metropolitan
#26 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#22 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#10 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residency
#27 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#21 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#37 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing