We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Indeed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand by GRT Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand by GRT Hotels
Ranked #12 of 380 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2007

Must stay that it really lives up to its 4 star rating but service and ambience was 5 star! Really great restaurant in house as well. Overall the rooms were spacious, clean and nice. The lobby was a also a great place to just hang out and relax. We stayed there for 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves.

The staff were courteous and efficient at all times. After our previous experience at other hotels in Tamil Nadu during our 6 day trip we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Location is also perfect for shopping in Chennai. Would recommend it to anytime. Only drawback is the steep rates but then in India all good hotels seem to be charging sky high rates even with sub-standard service at times....

  • Liked — Service quality, ambience & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank szn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    275
    74
    14
    13
See reviews for
155
66
67
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2007

The GRT Grand in Chennai was a good, clean, modern hotel in a good position. The lobby is large and spacious with two restaurants - a general buffet and an Indian speciality restaurant. The food in both were excellent - especially the Indian restaurant where the dishes were extremley tasty and some of the best we have had in India!

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only drawback is that the hotel is in an Atrium shape thereby my room was quite noisy on occassions (people passing by, people in the lobby) as the sound travels through.

All in all a good hotel with excellent service, food and cleanliness!

  • Liked — Great food and business facilities (free wireless connection in my room!)
  • Disliked — Mainly a business hotel so lots of people are passing through on business.
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WelshScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

I spent two weeks professionally travelling around India. GRT Grand Hotel definitely was the best of the several hotels I stayed at. Arguably, it is not very Indian but then, you can just look across the windows (my room was on the top floor) and behold the view of the city. Rooms are large, spotless, service is very friendly (albeit a bit - silently - pushing for tips), the buffet restaurant is nice and reasonably priced for such a hotel. Actually I liked Chennai, a hectic city during daytime, not really beautiful but enticing, paradoxically relaxing when compared with northern Indian cities. Yet the hotel's atmosphere is quite different from what you find in the surroundings and makes it a real haven to rest and work.

Helpful?
2 Thank gmt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

Hotel is excellent. I will stay there again and again. But the people who are in charge of booking hotel's tourist car (in the lobby) are not straight forward. We called from our room to rent a Ford Icon for 4 hours. They said it is available and the rate is Rs.750.00. When we went down to the lobby, the guy said that Icon is not available and he is arranging for a Tata Indica from an outside car rental agency. We agreed. When we asked the rate for Indica for 4 hours, the guy said "it is same as Icon..Rs.750". We could not believe this. Same rental charges for Icon and Indica? Indica should have lesser rate. That is what our previous experiences were. Since we were in a hurry, we had to agree. At the end of the 4 hours trip, we gave the driver Rs.750.00 in cash and he gave no receipt. We think the lobby guy and the car rental agency or its driver are hand in hand in this type of things.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank simpletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

A very nice modern Hotel with good helpful and friendly staff. Rooms very spacious and well appointed, but not very 'indian'. The Buffet restaurant was OK but the a la carte menu was better and cheaper if you don't have a huge appetite. The in-house Indian restaurant was absolutely superb, both food and decor. Wine was also available. The Spencer Plaza Shopping Centre is only a cheap TukTuk ride away, and all the tourist attractions are within easy reach.

  • Liked — Clean and efficient
  • Disliked — Irregular restauarant opening times
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2006

I only stayed here one night and certainly everything was 5-star.

However, you expect that when you are paying $240 a night (for a suite mind you) for a hotel in India.

Very clean and bright, and the staff are extra friendly. I had some great chats with some of the food and beverage supervisors in the bar ...

The restaurant, The Copper Pot, is excellent and moderately priced. I have had curry all over the world and the lamb curry they do is up there with the best.

Overall, this is definitely 5-star, but just a little too expensive, especially considering it is next door to the Residency Towers which is about half the price for an equally comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — A bit too expensive
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WaynePenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2006

We married in Chennai in December 2004 and my in-laws booked this hotel for our wedding night. We knew it was reasonably priced, as we were on a budget, but didn't know what else to expect. What we did get was a large professional clean modern hotel! The room was a decent size, clean and great decor with a nice bathroom. The lobby is impressive and the in-house restaurant served great food! Cant recommend this hotel enough! I stayed one night at the very expensive Sheraton before my wedding and the GRT grand was just as good for much much less. We were also pleased to see they left a cake and a basket of fruit in our room to make our special day more special! Nice to see a hotel that takes time to do the little extras. Stay at the Grand days and have a comfortable, friendly stay.

  • Liked — Value for money and clean bright rooms
  • Stayed December 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AyersAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#3 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#26 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#23 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#6 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120 Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing