We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Azulia - new mediterranean restaurant at the GRT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand by GRT Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand by GRT Hotels
Ranked #12 of 380 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Azulia - new mediterranean restaurant at the GRT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

The old chinese restaurant on the first floor has been replaced by an expensive mediterranean restaurant called Azulia, with a very friendly and talented lebanese chef Chahine.

Very personalized service, chef recommended dishes (I can certainly recommend the chicken and fish sausages, and the inspired take on hummous - oh, and the entrees - seabass, lamb etc - were amazingly tasty), decent local wines (Grover / Sula), live music.

Came to about $40 per person with food and wine for a 8 person party - expensive by Indian standards, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hserus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    275
    74
    14
    13
See reviews for
155
66
67
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

An excellent city hotel. Comfortable room - we were upgraded to the club floor. Free fruit, newspapers, tea and coffee making and free internet access. The two restaurants on the ground floor were good, although expensive by Indian standards. Staff were efficient and friendly. The General Manager has just won an award for the best young manager, and I can see why.

  • Liked — Great comfort
  • Disliked — Prices in the main a la carte restaurant were high for India
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

Hi,
I lived in this hotel for a business trip and its simply amazing. The room service is excellent and the staff is so hospitable. Also the buffet served is magnificient and has a wide range. Also the hotel is situated in the heart of the city. The best part is the swimming pool and the excellent rooms. This place is value for the money and has excellent conference rooms for business too. Its a home away from home. This hotel also arranges sight seeing tours and pick up and drops. Simply loved the place . Will definitely visit again

  • Liked — Spaciou rooms and a gr8 ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Seema N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

once when i went to chennai ddnt know where to stay so through my friends i booked my room in GRT Grand. rooms were so nice, and everything was neatly arranged., i recommd my friends also to go an dstay there wen dey are in chennai. even they had the sam eimpression about the hotel,

  • Liked — clena room
  • Disliked — no comments
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shweethaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

This was my first visit to Chennai for business, and didn’t know quite what to expect in terms of the hotels available for the business traveller in the area. This choice arose as I allowed my firm to book it (as it was the best hotel closest to where I needed to be working). On first arrival I was not enthralled to be staying there.

The reception area is quite large, and basically forms a central atrium which all the rooms then adjoin onto on each floor. Check in was efficient, and as expected numerous staff to direct and carry things for you.

The rooms were just about OK. On the positive side they were quite big, with a separate area with a small sofa and an arm chair.

On the negatives for the rooms (of which there are a few more)

:- furniture, furnishings and beds looked pretty old
:- given the climate outside (very hot and humid), I don’t think the rooms were properly sealed, as when you left the a/c running, wet patches appeared around the edge of the room on the carpet
:- bathrooms could do with a complete re-vamp as they just looked tired and worn, and don’t give the appearance of being that clean (even though/I hope they were thoroughly cleaned).
:- although the central atrium does give the hotel a feature, there are two major downsides to it: a) you could hear the pianist playing away till 10pm, as well as the noise from all the guests in reception reverberating up to all the rooms, and b) the smell from the Copper Point restaurant on the ground floor wafts up to all the rooms.
:- lots of traffic noise from outside, and during my stay there was a temporary temple outside during a festival which played a recorded message every 15minutes which was extremely annoying.

In terms of facilities, the gym and the spa area do look quite newly refurbished. The gym has running machines, along with a cross trainer and a couple of bikes. It also contains quite a good selection of free weights as well. The pool also looked reasonable as well, although I didn’t use it.

The Copper Point restaurant on the ground floor also serves good range of Indian food. However, if you’re staying for a while, and as a westerner like myself, you may need the odd night where the food is more savoury, which wasn’t an option in the hotel. There was a second restaurant about to open while I was staying, and I believe it was going to be serving either western (possibly Mediterranean) or south Asian food.

Overall, the hotel was just about acceptable, although I stayed in the Raintree for another week, which is about a 10minute drive from the GRT, and personally it was much more preferential!

  • Liked — Size of rooms if I had to comment
  • Disliked — General Tardiness of the rooms, and noise from outside
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank turbovoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
193 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

Nice decor but substandard attention to detail for exterior noise, restarutant service, audio/visual features, bedding design, closet features. Minimum minibar features - only Kingfisher bottleed beer and no refrigeration.. Nice wide barhroom ttub. Internittent A/C power. Poor satellite TV selction and no movie offerings. Great laundry service.
Very friendly staff for room service and lobby. Very slow restaurant service. Poor lobby bar beer offerings (only Kingfisher draught). Very expensive bar offerings. Designated bar cold, dark and smoky with poor drink selections and inhospitable settings.
Hard bedding and pillows. Noisy vaccuming at 7am in hallway. No ATM in hotel but friendly hotel taxi driver.High-speed wireless avail\able but dropped out frequently. Cable version OKAY and complementary. Overall, staff was friendly but unaware of iiternational standards of quality.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beerdrinker2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

For the most part, this hotel was comfortable. It was clean and the staff at breakfast were cheerful and provided great service. The staff at the front desk were helpful and you can easily exchange currency there. The staff helped us get cabs and were extremely helpful with directions. The man that worked the travel desk was not helpful, was rude, and expected us to book our own hotel and travel to our next destination.

I went to their spa for a massage. I encourage you to ask for clarification regarding the type of massage you choose since it is MUCH different than massages we are used to in the US.

I think that this hotel provides adequate services such as internet service, photocopying, etc for those that are there for work.

  • Liked — helpful staff--except at travel desk
  • Disliked — bad service at travel desk
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kimrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#3 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#25 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#27 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#6 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120 Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing