We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Choice @ T.Nagar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand by GRT Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand by GRT Hotels
Ranked #12 of 380 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Choice @ T.Nagar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

It is well connect with all parts of the city and room were in good condition. Ambience was also very nice. Choice of Channels to enjoy was also good. Food and hospitality was also nice.
I would suggest that room service can be improved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRamsaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    275
    74
    14
    13
See reviews for
155
66
67
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have stayed here many times on my business visits to chennai. The hotel is ideally located close to pondy bazaar in T nagar. The hotel has some good extra services like offering a DVD player and some good world cinema movies. Some rooms come with electric foot massagers as well. The staff is friendly and always helpful. However, the aesthetics of the hotel could have been better. And a renovation is due.. if nothing at all, at least change the carpets in the corridors.

The food menu also needs to improve a lot more especially if they want to differentiate themselves from the other hotels. Breakfast spread is good however compared to the Park pod where I have also stayed frequently.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunRamakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed there for a night on a business trip to chennai. The hotel is good , rooms are spacious ( a bit old and needs furnishing). The food in the resturant is very good ( if you are found of south indian foos).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kumar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel though a bit old has great charm and is quite imposing. Must have been a grand one during it's opening.

We stayed there for 3 nights and have very positive experience with our stay there.

The breakfast at All day dining was great and the service staff was very prompt.

Another thing i liked about the hotel was that they automatically gave me a late checkout of 4pm the moment they found out i had to reach the airport at 6:30. Very nice of them and i did not even ask for it. This was excellent, very proactive.

Their location is excellent too. Close to some of the main shopping areas and also autos / taxis are easily available outside.

Good stay and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yasheshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed there for around two nights in month of Dec. The rooms are nice with a little signs of aging in Bathroom. The Breakfast was very nice and staff found was supportive. One advice for all to book it through the websites online as booking.com or else you will have to pay a quite extra charge (around 20% more). Similar is the taxi charges almost double (in fact more than double) what you can get directly through the prepaid.
The staff was very supportive and I had to get a lock cut in my bag and they helped out even at night. The food is quite good even the North Indian is tolerable (better than any hotel in South). The Hotel doesn't look nice in their website but it's better than the pictures.
The location is nice, a market (don't remember the name) is walkable though the market was really not walkable (all pathways were full of rubbish and construction material).

Room Tip: Book in advance through some online booking sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel, though this used to be my last choice because of the hefty tariffs. The hotel is an excellent property, and the ambience would just blow you off, for what appears to be a 4-star Hotel. The food is simply excellent, but excuse me folks as I had to avoid all meat on this trip, because of an allergy I developed. I instead wanted to taste some authentic south Indian stuff, and asked for the chef's recommendation, along with some Rice. They served me Vattha Kozhambu (pardon me), which was just too good, that I got to ask the chef the recipe.

Rooms are classic, well kept and I did get to use some seriously fast Internet.. though for the price I'd settle in for a bit more cheaper hotel around the place.. Centrally located, though the travel desk doesn't come that cheap.

Room Tip: I didn't get a great view from the room I was in. hard to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lixonsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have stayed in GRT Grand more than once and will continue to stay for business visits within the city. The hotel is very accessible to nearby markets and business places. The look interiors of the Hotel are done tastefully and do provide a Grand look. The ground floor restaurant offers very nice food and excellent breakfast menu. The hotel has a decent lobby for business meeting.
The staff is very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBAGGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#3 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#25 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#27 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#6 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120 Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing