We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel, Supporting Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand by GRT Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand by GRT Hotels
Ranked #12 of 374 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Supporting Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed there for around two nights in month of Dec. The rooms are nice with a little signs of aging in Bathroom. The Breakfast was very nice and staff found was supportive. One advice for all to book it through the websites online as booking.com or else you will have to pay a quite extra charge (around 20% more). Similar is the taxi charges almost double (in fact more than double) what you can get directly through the prepaid.
The staff was very supportive and I had to get a lock cut in my bag and they helped out even at night. The food is quite good even the North Indian is tolerable (better than any hotel in South). The Hotel doesn't look nice in their website but it's better than the pictures.
The location is nice, a market (don't remember the name) is walkable though the market was really not walkable (all pathways were full of rubbish and construction material).

Room Tip: Book in advance through some online booking sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    261
    71
    15
    13
See reviews for
142
60
62
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel, though this used to be my last choice because of the hefty tariffs. The hotel is an excellent property, and the ambience would just blow you off, for what appears to be a 4-star Hotel. The food is simply excellent, but excuse me folks as I had to avoid all meat on this trip, because of an allergy I developed. I instead wanted to taste some authentic south Indian stuff, and asked for the chef's recommendation, along with some Rice. They served me Vattha Kozhambu (pardon me), which was just too good, that I got to ask the chef the recipe.

Rooms are classic, well kept and I did get to use some seriously fast Internet.. though for the price I'd settle in for a bit more cheaper hotel around the place.. Centrally located, though the travel desk doesn't come that cheap.

Room Tip: I didn't get a great view from the room I was in. hard to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lixonsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have stayed in GRT Grand more than once and will continue to stay for business visits within the city. The hotel is very accessible to nearby markets and business places. The look interiors of the Hotel are done tastefully and do provide a Grand look. The ground floor restaurant offers very nice food and excellent breakfast menu. The hotel has a decent lobby for business meeting.
The staff is very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBAGGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel property is beautiful. The staff is very warm, welcoming and helpful. The room was tastefully done. The bathroom was disappointing however. The shower did not work and there was no hot water in the tap in evening. Some toiletries were missing from the bathroom. The internet was slow and the connectivity was poor. The staff at the desk tried to do his best to help us but the whole experience was very annoying. The overall experience was very disappointing and one expects better management from a luxury hotel. Thorough checks of the room and bathroom before a guest arrives and better internet experience would definitely help improve the ratings of the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NishaBothra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in November for a seminar in their convention center. The seminar halls are actually good and spacious.

+'s: Clean facility, well set room, good breakfast spread, food taste, gym

^'s: staff attentiveness, managing rush

Overall the place could give more for the price charged.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naval G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Friendly welcome, nice and spacious room, good food specially Indian dishes, very close to the business places and shopping. Very cost effective purchase in Pondy bazar. Not very far from Airport. Outside the hotel you get taxis and auto rickshwas for local travelling

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonishPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

A well maintained Hotel in busy area and good for business meetings and get togethers.
Good food and very good ambience. Excellent in service and courteous service staff.
Over all my experience is very good. We'll spread breakfast and Lunches.

Room Tip: I stayed in 5th floor room over looking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venugoapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#11 of 374 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 374 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#20 of 374 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Accord Metropolitan
#28 of 374 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 374 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#4 of 374 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120 Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#37 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing