We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average here... there must be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand by GRT Hotels
Ranked #15 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average here... there must be better”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed for two nights on a trip to India. After staying 3 nights at the Hyatt Mumbai, we flew to Chennai and stayed here. The lobby fools you, it's great. But once you get upstairs.... watch out. The carpets are all very old and because of the high level of humidity in the rooms they smell. BAD! They moved me to the 9th floor where the floors were wood. The smell wasnt as bad but the drapes in the room seriously needed replacing. The bed was comfortable enough but the AC was horrible. What's worse, the hotel was on generator at night and you could smell the diesel fuel. The staff was accommodating but the hotel is in serious need of a makeover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgliradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    340
    84
    16
    16
See reviews for
211
97
80
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for two days; excellent rooms, neat and clean... friendly staff and reception ... excellent food and restaurants.... since we were there on friday there was a live music in the bar... overall wonderful stay and recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujit1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My dad booked this hotel for my honeymoon. We were there for two days. A car from hotel came to our venue to pick up and there was manager in front who received us and the great part was room was well decorared with flowers , Sweet, etc .....

Food at coffee shop, and candle light buffet dinner was an fantastic experience.

Thanks to GRT staff and to my dad.... who gifted me a fantastic experience

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had been to GRT Grand on 28th February for a day for business trip.. Hotel is situated at very good location i.e. T Nagar. Rooms are neat & clean. Suggestion is to improve room service.. Overall v.good experience...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

located in tje central areal of Chennai, this hotel is about an hour's drive from the airport. The hotel is tidy with friendly staff & free internet access. food is limited to the indian variety.. The hotel can arrange for daily sight seeing trips & limo service within city limits as well.

Helpful?
Thank MohammedJaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pune
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first stay at GRT Grand. The hotel has a impressive lobby and a large reception area. I was initially given a room with two single beds but on my request they changed my room to one having a queen bed. The rooms are large but look a little jaded. Wifi is provided in the room though the speed is slow. They have a good security system with security staff on alternate floors and the layout of the rooms is such that the security can observe rooms on couple of floors below and above.The staff was friendly and room service was prompt. The food at the restaurants is steeply priced and a non veg sandwitch can set you back by almost 400 Rs. However the location of the hotel is in the upmarket T nagar and you can walk out of the hotel and have your meals in the various options available within walking distance. There is also a street closeby where you can enjoy your shopping. The hotel swimming pool is well maintained and not very crowded.The buffet breakfast has a large spread but it gets crowded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I would rate this hotel much higher if there have not been so many hidden taxes which sensitively increase the end prices for everything. It is a complete cheat!!! The room price you have got from booking.com or venere.com is increased by the following taxes: 7% service tax, so called luxury tax of 20% and at the end - 3% education tax so your known price is increased by 30 % when you check out!!! Nobody informs yo in advance that you have to take into account these in your budget. In fact it is a short description in the booking sites somewhere between the lines that the taxes are not included and these taxes are not described....but if we already have some common knowledge that in India a tax of 7% service is applied and put on your end bill you can not expect so many hidden taxes....they can charge you by 25% tax for luggage ,10% for nature presefvation, or some other cheat....and yo do not know this in advance...
If you decide to have a dinner in some of the hotel-restaurants - again bed even worse luck. In the so called Italian restautant we got competely spoiled salami and ham on our piza. We seleccted a boutle of wine which was about 2000 rupees according to the menu. But after being already cheated 2 times we asked about the taxes.....just before boutle oppening the waiter announced the taxes....65% import tax, 20 % government tax and 7 % service tax....it is clear that we rejected that wine fully disgusted by the policy of tha place. Our customers right in all cases is to be fully informed about any END price and we do not care about what they put on afterwards.
If somebody goes there - ask about taxes in advance!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

We have gone into the details with regards to your feedback and the stay at our hotel. We have made note of your observations with regards to the tax structure and would like to inform you that all these are Government levied taxes as per the policy and only the same has been charged to you and informed during the time of check in. We would like to assure you that your feedback has been taken in all due earnest and will be analysed for betterment in future.

Thank you very much for having stayed with us and do get in touch with me on my hand phone, incase I could be off any further assistance to you.

Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,140 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#23 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
875 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,437 reviews
The Residency
#39 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120 Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, Grand by GRT Hotels provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing