We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good after long flight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand by GRT Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand by GRT Hotels
Ranked #14 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Good after long flight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Arrived after a long flight, to a comfortable one night stay with excellent service.
We were part of a group, and though the dining room got busy and full, both with locals and tourists, the staff very efficiently made up a table in the lobby for us and we had a very pleasant meal.
Bedroom/bathroom was modern and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ary60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    309
    82
    14
    14
See reviews for
184
83
72
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed for the one night after an early arrival. Its an excellent hotel, to get over an international flight, as the rooms were superb, with every attention to detail. Excellent bathrooms too, that
was the good side.

The dining area was having a bad night, as the young staff couldnt cope and our very simple meal took 2 hours to arrive, coming in stages, so we were all fed at different times, and they couldnt work out that starters come before the main course. In the end we just helped ourselves to the buffet.
The young manager that night tried hard to rectify it but didnt have the ability.
We were a table of 8, and there were only a few other diners so they were not stretched.
The chef came to the table to see what was going on, and offered a special breakfast for the next morning. We arranged 8 am and of course no one knew anything about it. As we left
after having a different breakfast, of course our food arrived, an hour late.
It needs to sort these timing problems out, travellers wanting a quick meal after an exhausting
trip needs their food quickly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosslyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was a long trip for us to reach India and we were worried about our stay in Chennai! Comfort, cost and Locality was our concern! GRT Grand is the perfect answer one can get!! (The cost of GRT Grand is little expensive for the Category they offer!!) Overall we stayed for 19 days in GRT Grand and we enjoyed and each and every day of our stay there! Our overall India trip was for one month and we stayed in ITC GRAND CHOLA for 10 days and the rest in GRT Grand! Even though the ITC Grand Chola is a 7 Star, The GRT Grand wins in the personalized attention of the staff and the Locality!
The staff makes the biggest difference of any hotel! We want to Thank the staff of Housekeeping, Anytime restaurant staff, Bell boys and the lobby particularly! The attention they give you is of 7 Star even though the Hotel is of 4*Plus! Anything you want, you can get the answer from Mr. Arun Raj of GRT Grand! He is the Man!! I want to Thank him personally for all the help he provided to my family during our stay!
The food:
1. Anytime: we had Breakfast, Lunch and some times dinner here! The food is excellent in Anytime and the varieties they offer is too good! My family still speaks about the Dosa we had here!!! We appreciate highly of Waiter Mr. Karthi's services here in this Restaurant!!
2. Azulia: The quality of food is very good in Azulia!! My daughter prepared her own pizza inside the kitchen!! Delicious Food!
3. Copper Point: One of the Best south Indian Restaurant you can find in Chennai! The quality, the taste and the ambient is too good here! Highly recommendable!!!

We are 100% sure that we will come back to GRT Grand in Chennai!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragumaransa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
287 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

GRT Grand is a relatively new hotel in Chennai...originally Madras. Its an excellent place to stay, not cheap, but you pay for what you get. An hour away from the airport, in bumper to bumper traffic...but thats Madras, which has grown from a small town to a large city. The hotel was very impressive from the outside and even more so from within. The rooms are large and airy and the bathroom as modern as it can get. The rooms have their own coffee tea makers and as always a bowl of fruits. Large flat TV with all channels available.The service is excellent, polite and friendly. The reception area is large and the lunch time buffet was on when I got there, probably thats also the coffee shop. The food here was a spread of all the regional specialities...though I did not eat here, but preferred room service, which was excellent and quick.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Housed in a modern building with floor-to-ceiling windows,GRT grand is a 25-minute travel from Chennai airport.

Air conditioned rooms offer the comfort of classic furnishings, carpeted floors and sitting area. They are equipped with a flat-screen TV, safe and bathrobes.

Rooms are equipped with a minibar, coffee/tea maker, desk and attached bathroom with hairdryer. 24-hour room service is offered.


Azulia restaurant creates delicious meditterian dishes. The Coffee Bar serves a fine selection of multi cuisine

Room Tip: Suites are more comfortable for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arivu128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drvivekgarg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Unlucky to be in GRT Grand this time. With Swimming pool and Fitness center under renovation there was hardly any Good Times are GRT. Though Hyderabadi Fete was awesome, the food in the main cafe is average. Definitely not true value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drvivekgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed for 3 days in the hotel. Hotel has a very nice ambience, well maintained. Rooms and washrooms are spacious and well equipped. Hotel staff is gentle, warm and friendly. Breakfast had a good lot of varieties. I couldn’t taste all in three days. Room service is very prompt. Ordered for coffee at mid night and it was worth. Hotel has a good blend of restaurants for various menus. If you can pay little extra, please go for it and make your stay in Chennai great. I wish I could enjoy swimming pool also but alas, it was under renovation. No Complaints or regrets!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Hotel is in mid of city , so pretty much all rooms will have city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuppleJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
The Residency
#31 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120 Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing