We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Nearby Hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$218
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$79
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$128
$72
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Towers(Chennai (Madras))
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$62
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$80
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$81
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$169
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset Greenways Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveler rating
815
334
71
19
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
334
71
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern spicegolden dragonanise restaurantpregojiva spaclub floorsouth indian restaurantexcellent servicebusiness tripfive star hotelwonderful hotelcoffee shopthe hotel staffin room diningthe heart of the cityroom serviceduty manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
850 - 855 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

One of the best hotels. I was really impressed with the service. Spacious room. Breakfast was really nice. In dinner i had indian food which was really delicious. In all a good five star hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puneet U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am grateful to you for your compliments regarding our renovated facilities, service and dining experience at the Taj Coromandel.
I would like to inform you that we will soon be launching the Jiva Spa, adjacent to the pool, which will further enhance the relaxation experience at the Hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel is centrally located. The check in was quickly and efficiently done and my luggage was quickly taken to my room. The room was spacious with twin beds and a large window. The bathroom was clean. There was a hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. A complimentary fruit platter was placed on the table. The hotel is centrally air conditioned with individual temperature control in each room. The service was excellent. The room lights can be operated from the bed using an electronic control which also draws the curtains, This is very useful and helpful when retiring for the night.
The room has a stock of interesting magazines including the hotel’s own in house magazine. Amongst the many TV channels covering news, sports, movies, one of them describes the hotel and its facilities while another showed the life and times of the founder and the scions of the Tata Group (to which the Taj group of hotels belong). I found this most interesting and loved watching it.
The hotel has a number of restaurants and a coffee shop. The buffet breakfast is served in the coffee shop and is a sumptuous spread. The Chinese Restaurant is very good. I had a Pecking Duck which was excellently cooked. There is also a South Indian Restaurant which I had not the occasion to visit. There is a large sitting area in the lobby serving variety of tea and coffee and cakes. In the basement there is an specialty Italian restaurant where I had an excellent dinner.

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper floors offer a better view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sen1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your stay on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to note that the newly-renovated Luxury Room and other facilities at the Taj Coromandel have met your expectations.
I would definitely urge you to dine at our award-winning South Indian specialty cuisine restaurant – Southern Spice - on your next visit. The restaurant showcases delicacies from the four Southern states of India. I would also like you to experience one of our Captivating Chennai tours, which take you to nooks of the city that are shielded from the public eye.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Taj Coromandel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is one of best in town. The service has high standard (even if it could be possible to complain for some small mistakes). The location is quite good and the hotel provide car transfer (of course not complementary) for every place in town. The rooms are well furnished and the staff provide continue services. Inside hotel are located 4 restaurant. The Indian, of course, is the best one. Anyway, both Chinese and Italian restaurants deserve a visit. Maybe the less perfect service is concierge that still miss some minimum standard. Just one note about the small club at entrance of the hotel. There is provided to access without shorts and it is not possible to do not respect this rule.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxury_and_Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are grateful to you for your compliments regarding the newly-renovated facilities as well as our associates. Please be assured that we have taken corrective measures regarding the concierge experience at the Hotel.
Regarding the dress code at the bar, I would like to bring to your attention that as per the law, all bars across star Hotels of any category in the country are expected to adhere to Club Rules.
It was a pleasure and privilege to have you stay with us at the Taj Coromandel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as a treat following one month backpacking in India. The hotel doesn't look anything special from the outside but the rooms are very luxurious and we really enjoyed the pool. Breakfast was great - an amazing selection. The staff are superb - nothing is too much trouble, including making sure breakfast was available for us at 6 am before an early flight. The location is good - you can't walk to any of the main tourist sights but Chennai is very spread out and we travelled around cheaply by auto-rickshaw. As is common in big hotels, wifi access isn't free. All in all, a very comfortable stay and good value for money if you're looking for a five-star hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to note that the renovated facilities at the Taj Coromandel have met your expectations. Thank you for your compliments for our associates – this will encourage us in our endeavour to achieve excellence in service and hospitality.
I would like to inform you that we have launched unique destination experience called Captivating Chennai. Please do sign up for one of these tours on your visit to get an exclusive peek into Chennai’s treasures which are shielded from the public eye.
Thank you for choosing the Taj Coromandel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

It's a good central hotel but rooms are old. Good staff and wonderful ambience. The location of the hotel is the key attraction if you are working in the city of chennai. Taj must invest in quality of rooms and modernise them, the best part of the hotel is terrific modern gym facing the tranquil poolside.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank UtsavManjari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to note that our associates have looked after you well during your stay at the Taj Coromandel. The Hotel has undergone a phase-wise renovation and the Luxury Rooms have been updated in keeping with the international hospitality standards. Rest assured, Club Floors will also be taken up for renovation too shortly.
Adding to the recently renovated fitness area, I would like to inform you we will soon be launching the Jiva Spa complex which will further elevate the relaxation experience at the Hotel.
Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash, Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews