We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place for business & pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Ranked #4 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
chennai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent place for business & pleasure”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is a great place to stay and the location is also very central . There are many places to see in chennai and can be made possible from here. The location is lively and we can move out all the time as the road is always with traffic round the clock.

Room Tip: The rooms above the 5th floor are peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepaksvora2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor.
I would like to inform you that we have just launched Captivating Chennai – a bouquet of bespoke destination experiences curated by the Hotel. We do hope you will be able to experience one of these tours to explore the deep-rooted art, heritage and culture of this vibrant city.
We are grateful to you for choosing to stay at the Taj Coromandel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    310
    65
    19
    15
See reviews for
122
113
80
727
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dammam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Amazing Experience in Taj. Very calm location. Rooms are excellent. Nice lighting. Well Furnisshed Rooms. Very Cooperative Staffs. Amazing Food and Lot of Verieties. Rooms are comfortable. Very good Cable and Wifi Services

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajukamco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to note that the newly renovated room with enhanced technology at Taj Coromandel has met your expectations. Our associates are motivated to receive your appreciation.
I hope you had a chance to dine at our award-winning South Indian specialty restaurant – Southern Spice. If not, please do try it on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at the Taj for 10 days. I can honestly say that I have never stayed in a nicer hotel. The service was impeccable. Th.e staff paid attention to the most minute details. My favorite items? The dining experiences within the hotel and the health club. I also enjoyed the room amenities such as the sound system and the incredible shower. I KNOW I will be staying at the Taj during my next visit to Chennai!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMobilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am elated to note that your experience at the Taj Coromandel has met your expectations. It is heartening to read that our associates have taken care of your every need during your stay.
I would like to inform you that we will soon be launching the Jiva Spa complex adjacent to the pool, which will further enhance the leisure experience at the Hotel.
It would be our pleasure to have you with us at Taj Coromandel on your next visit to Chennai.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is pretty decent and would appear generally good, but not quite as good as the usual Taj standard. Its a fairly old property and has a classic feel to it. The bathrooms could do with some renovation though. Nice sizeable rooms.

Staff is generally polite and attentive, though on an earlier occasion I had a nightmare of a time trying to make a reservation, so much so, that I chose to book another hotel.

The Indian food is really good, they have got it exactly right.

Rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: go to a higher floor and get a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanmayamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
The Taj Coromandel has been going through a phase-wise renovation, which will soon be extended to the rooms that you have stayed in as well. I am glad to note that your recent experience has helped changed your perception about interacting with our associates.
We are grateful to you for choosing to stay at the Taj Coromandel and look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had an osm experience being in Taj coromandel. Very calm ambience. Excellent, rooms, with full electronic lighting and climate control. extremely comfy sofa settee in room and beds. Cable. Wi-fi. Well appointed with tasteful, modern decor. Bathrooms are roomy with excellent amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KARTIK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to note that your stay was comfortable and that the amenities in our newly-renovated rooms have met your expectations. We hope you had a chance to dine at our specialty restaurants – Golden Dragon serving authentic Schezwan and Cantonese cuisine, and Southern Spice, the iconic South Indian cuisine restaurant. If not, I would like to recommend you do so on your next visit.
Look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Coromandel soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We used the Taj Coromandel for a well-earned break after a busy business trip, to unwind and get a bit of pampering.

Mission accomplished. The levels of service were second to none, across the board. The hardest decision is which department to praise the most. Our vote comes down in favour of Chipstead bar and cocktail lounge. The staff were wonderful, highly skilled and clearly loved their job. Bless you, boys for looking after us so well and yes Haroon, that was my best Martini of he year.

The pool and spa area were a joy too, and we were well looked after. Likewise in all of the restaurants. The only slight downer is the quality of the room, which looks a little bit tired and is just a bit smaller than we expected, but that was not the main focus of our stay.

We would love to stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Surgeoncyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that my team has taken good care of you on your recent visit to Taj Coromandel. Your words of praise will definitely encourage us in our endeavour to achieve greater excellence.
I would like to share that we will soon be launching the Jiva spa complex adjacent to the pool, which will further enhance the leisure experience at the Hotel.
Taj Coromandel is undergoing a phase-wise renovation and the Taj Club Rooms and Suites will be renewed in keeping with the international standards of luxury.
I am happy to note that you will be back with us again. It would be our pleasure and privilege to look after you.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Everything at the Taj Coromandel is superb. Excellent, "smart rooms", with full electronic lighting and climate control. Extremely comfy beds. Cable. Wi-fi. Well appointed with tasteful, modern decor. Bathrooms are roomy with excellent amenities.

The Italian restaurant was so delicious.

From arrival to departure, every single need was instantly taken care of. Impeccable service that you expect from a Taj.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ms Amanda,
Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to note that the newly-renovated room and enhanced amenities at Taj Coromandel have met your expectations. We are grateful to you for your compliments for our Italian specialty restaurant, Prego.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#6 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,458 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,776 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#19 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
997 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,424 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#28 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Coromandel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Coromandel Chennai

Property: Taj Coromandel Chennai
Address: 37 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Coromandel Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a fusion of rich South Indian design and classic elegance, the Taj Coromandel has been a landmark of fine living and hospitality in Chennai for the past four decades. Named after the Coromandel coast, the Hotel presents an urban oasis of bespoke experiences for both business and leisure guests, with attentive service and state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Taj Coromandel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Coromandel Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Taj Coromandel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing