We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just gets better....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Ranked #4 of 407 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel on three separate occasions and i am never left disappointed. From the moment you get out of the car you are looked after. The staff are what make a hotel and from my point of view, they get no better than at this hotel. Everyone is friendly, but not in a forced way.
The Southern Spice restaurant is just amazing and the waiters were very knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast chef is a star. Some glorious recommendations for what to have for breakfast
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well maintained. Overall another great stay. Whilst they continue to provide great customer service , I will continue to give them a good review – keep up the good work

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

I didn't stay here but I came in to have tea, cake and use the spa. Its out of my price range but on my last day in India I wanted to do something nice with my mum.
The hotel is beautiful; very ornate, grand and a bit over the top In their splendour but if you like that kind of stuff you will feel at home. :) Im used to shabby budget hotels but have to admit it was very nice.
The staff are incredible; so polite, genuine and friendly. they cant do enough for you! And they don't even ask for a tip ( obviously give them one anyway!)
The pool is incredible; set outside with loungers set in the shallow edges under palm trees, we sat here and were bought delicious egg free walnut cake, coffees and biscuits that were among the best I have had in the whole on India.
The prices were ok too considering it is a 5 star hotel: 250 rupees for a coffee: considering its about 110 rupees in the westernised café coffee day this isn't too bad. The cake was 150 rupees which is actually very good especially as it was very high quality.
I had a deep tissue massage which was excellent. It was actually a deep tissue massage and not being stroked gently which is what I have had several times in india despite asking for a deep tissue massage. The spa is lovely, and the option is there to have an ayurvedic stroke if you feel the need to do so ;)
My massage was with Prani, a lovely lady who also gave me a free hand massage.
The tea lounge is inside in the upper lobby ( there are 2 lobbies!! and near the coffee lounge). tea Is about 200 rupees, very nice, and the atmosphere and ambience is relaxed, chilled and pleasant.
We had a look in the restaurants but didn't eat there. They looked very nice, some very posh with private dining some less exclusive. Prices seemed to range from 300 rupees for snack to 400-1200 rupees for main courses.
Overall brilliant experience, would recommend the spa, pool and tea/coffee lounges, staff are brilliant :) thanks

Room Tip: go to the spa :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becky-camille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very nice place . Stayed there for our wedding anniversary .
Hotel rooms are a bit old but maintained well . Stayed at executive suite room no 538 .
A bit refurbishment with the present day trends would be appreciated .
Our anniversary eve dinner at southern spice was mind blowing . Super food and super hospitality . Golden dragon was the same . The gym was well maintained .
The club on the 6 floor was ok and less crowded .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karthic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed on the Club Floor as this is what we have found best in the past. Well trained staff throughout, tried Prego restaurant (not impressed, see review) Chinese was good. Anais is the main restaurant where we had both breakfast and lunch, staff were good but do try to get you to use the buffet, they soon got to know us and what we wanted, service from the kitchen a bit slow. We had dinner in there one night, not much ambience but although a la carte takes some time it is good. All European wine and cocktails are expensive but same throughout India. One small thing, although this hotel is predominately businessmen, they do insist on serving men first even when there are ladies present, I was the only one on the Club Floor and when we went in one evening for a drink there was a symphony of burping loudly from Indian men, really rude behaviour and disrespectful. Rooms are quite small and a bit tired, carpet faded but service and cleanliness and bed linen all high standard. Hotel is well situated and pool area is lovely but no food served there, very quite, almost empty but warm water, bliss. To summarise, rather overpriced but a city hotel and the best place to stay in Chennai.

Room Tip: Club floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Excellent is the word for the all the services provided at Taj Coromandel whether its the check in, the courtesy and responsiveness of the staff. If you like south Indian cuisine than eating at Southern Spice is a must must must visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jain_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recommend all my clients from abroad to stay in Taj Coromandel. The service rendered by the staff is impeccable. The welcome, the rooms, the restaurants, the health club, the bar every thing is perfect. All my guests have almost always thanked me for putting them in Taj Cormandel. The location of the hotel is perfect and is in the city's business district. The hotels touch starts from the airport to its perfect send offs. I am glad this place is in Chennai. I am sure there will be thousands who will vouch for my views.

Room Tip: There is a happy hour and make use of this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oppraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very good hotel, worth spending money. Excellent services and professional staff. Breakfast and lunch buffet has variety of food. Staff understand customer's requirement and ready to bend backward to keep the client happy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandhya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
1,530 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
2,954 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
1,062 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
1,496 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Coromandel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Coromandel Chennai

Address: 37 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $162 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Coromandel Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a fusion of rich South Indian design and classic elegance, the Taj Coromandel has been a landmark of fine living and hospitality in Chennai for the past four decades. Named after the Coromandel coast, the Hotel presents an urban oasis of bespoke experiences for both business and leisure guests, with attentive service and state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Coromandel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Coromandel Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Taj Coromandel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing