We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WelcomHotel Chennai
Ranked #34 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
39
Reviewed December 27, 2005

Flew in from Mumbai to Chennai. I had booked an Executive Double Room online with Sheraton. Got to the Hotel and to my room, I was disappointed. This was no way an executive room, it was just a simple double room with a totally outdated bathroom. I immediately went downstairs to reception and politely told the lady manager that that the room can no way be an executive room. She suggested that i move into the executive suite. I said ok no prob.(She did not mention if there was any additional costs) The Suite was big, lounge area on one half and the bedroom on the other half, still all outdated wooden furniture and a really horrible dark blue tiled bathroom. Chennai is an upcoming business city and i expected better. The staff are good, and very hospitable. the bar is an old British colonial style retreat but closes at 11pm. There is another Sheraton down the road from this place called Park Sheraton which i hear is a lot modern. what is the point of having this outdated monument? If sheraton don't renovate this place then they may as well demolish the place.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 511 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2005

The hotel is essentially a 4 star business hotel that needs a little paint and spruce to revistalise it, but is perfectly acceptable and strives to give you a high level of service. We booked into the executive floor and had the happy hour in the main lounge at night - get there early to get a seat. Drinks generally are local but fine. The room we had, a suite, was large and well equipped if tired. Reception at the hotel is bright and a 3 piece local band plays there at night - definately worth a viewing. The hotel is clean and the in house restaurants fine - the largest being a Chinese, not the second floor indian populated entirely by Western guests. I always worry when I do not see local people eating in a restaurant but the food was adequate if not southern Indian. Location is central but right on a busy road and flyover, be prepared for hassle if you walk out.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank StefanoBiasillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_My_Fortune, General Manager at WelcomHotel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalinaDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_My_Fortune, General Manager at WelcomHotel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goyave51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marius97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at WelcomHotel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#18 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,213 reviews
Mylapore
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#45 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,048 reviews
The Park Chennai
#47 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Egmore
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City ...
#30 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
798 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#14 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,331 reviews
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHotel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHotel Chennai

Address: Cathedral Road, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India (Formerly My Fortune, Chennai)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $86 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — WelcomHotel Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHotel Chennai erst while My Fortune Chennai is located in the heart of the city that is known for enchanting temples,warm people and delicious Cusine.Beautifully blending the traditional Indian hospitality with the efficiency of modern technology, this upscale hotel provides the convinience and comfort of home with warm and efficient service, making 'WelcomHotel Chennai' truly yours. WelcomHotel Chennai was opened on 18 October 1975, marking the entry of ITC Limited - into the hotel business. ITC Hotels is the now the largest hotel chain in India. The hotel is 8 stories high and has 90 rooms, including 05 Executive Suites (with an area of 750 sq ft). 43 Club rooms (with an area of 650 sq ft) and 42 Superior rooms (with an area of 450 sq ft) Food and beverages include Earthen Oven- a North Indian specialty restaurant, WelcomCafe Marina, 24-hour multi-cuisine restaurant, My Deli, serving light snacks and Durrant’s Bar. Also equipped with three meeting rooms and two banquet halls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your WelcomHotel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Fortune, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chola Chennai
Chennai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing