We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My Fortune, Chennai
Ranked #30 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

One of the iconic hotels.
Very close to the American consulate.
The rooms are a bit dated and could definitely do with some refurbishing.
Otherwise the place more than makes up in terms of the enthusiastic staff and central location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JnKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and have noted your observation.


We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.

Thanking you once again

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    166
    56
    12
    12
See reviews for
61
23
57
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed here during 27-28 April 2014. I had stayed here a couple of times before. This is a good hotel, the rooms are big, but you can see it is old and lacks energy. The staff are good and food is also good... nice breakfast, etc. This time the corridors were smelling paint and room slightly damp smell.. They may have to do something about this. I believe they closed one set of elevators and you have to walk a lot reach your room if it is at the other end.

Room Tip: Select a room near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKDRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and have noted your observation.


We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.

Thanking you once again

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My stay in My fortune was very comfortable. The most I liked the hotel is friendly staff. The Fitness instructor was very helpful with very good knowledge about the instruments. Very courteous, friendly and helpful. The break-fast was excellent. Definitely would recommend this hotel to my friends and would like to stay in this hotel in near future. Shanthi - Legal Advisor, Dubai - UAE

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legalshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay .


We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.

Thanking you once again

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

It was awesome experience with a nice large, neat and clean rooms with excellent services. Incredible experience. Nice and quiet rooms. Breakfast layout was pretty good and hygienic. Overall experience was very good. I have decided to stay with them during my future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD10012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay .


We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.

Thanking you once again

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Came back to this hotel after a long time. Its now called My Fortune Chennai. Rooms are still beautiful and food is delicious. Service of food takes a bit long; however both the restaurants - the coffee shop and the indian restaurant have amazing food. Definitely recommended in case
one decides to stay in city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARMAANM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and have noted your observation.


We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.

Thanking you once again

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

formerly known as Chola Sheraton, this is one of Chennai's iconic hotels. since its rebranding as MyFortune, i have been here a few times & my first stay was bad. but my feedback was taken seriously & during my second stay, the hotel & staff had undergone a major facelift that was nice to see. a very small driveway & absence of spa services are major misses, but the location, rooms & staff nature are excellent. without a doubt, a great VFM destination in Chennai.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the newly refurbished wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and have noted your observations.


We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.

Thanking you once again

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very central location and a great place to do events. The staff are helpful. But the property is quite old. The rooms are large and well done up but things like telephone and electrical touch connections don't work! However they get the repairs done very quickly once you bring it to their notice. Their mughlai restaurant is awful. Don't try the food there.. its just rich and tasteless and full of masala. When I went there for a early morning swim, it was just closed because it had been chlorinated a day before! strange !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganga D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We have noted your observations and do look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.

Thanking you once again

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Fortune Select Grand
#43 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
128 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#19 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,191 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
987 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#16 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
281 reviews
Alwarpet South
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
#22 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Fortune, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Fortune, Chennai

Property: My Fortune, Chennai
Address: Cathedral Road, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — My Fortune, Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your My Fortune, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Fortune, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chola Chennai
Chennai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing