We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as others make out (IMHO)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My Fortune, Chennai
Ranked #31 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Nagpur, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not as bad as others make out (IMHO)”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was placed into this hotel by my company as a last minute arrangement. The reception at the front desk was maybe a little slow but then my reservation was not yet on their system so I think it understandable... I received two calls to my room apologising for the slow check-in (which really wasn't a problem to me as the guy was really friendly anyway).
The room (a suite) was well appointed and clean though I found the matress a little soft for my personal liking. Bathroom was clean and with "named" toilletries for shampoo, shower gel and lotion. There was a bath and a shower... though I am not sure how to start the shower without getting a blast of cold water (the shower door opens the wrong way to be able to slip your hand to open the water).
Food was of acceptable quality and the service friendly if a little slow and disjointed.. but this is not a cause for serious concern. Breakfast had the normal mix of fayre from western through Indian to Asian... take your pick.
The hotel is a long way from the best in Chennai but I was not displeased with the service or the cleanliness of the place...!
If I needed a room in the close vicinity to my office again I would not be against staying here again though I have an other favourite closer to the office in Chennai.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGOMEZULU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

Thank you for the detailed observations and valued suggestions

We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for a more delightful experience.

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    166
    56
    12
    12
See reviews for
61
23
57
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Note to TripAdvisor folks: We need more options for overall ratings. 1 is too much in some cases, for example, for this hotel.

It claims to be a 5 star! Going by the prices, well, yes, 5 star prices indeed. Quality is another story: Dingy rooms, electricity that keeps tripping, weird smell in the rooms. We ordered coffee in room, reached us barely lukewarm. Complained to the hotel, but no news. Swimming pool is dingy, with bad flooring that looks very unappealing. Entrance to some of the rooms, after the lift, seems like one is stepping into some service area. Food quality: very average!

Avoid it, don't let it be your "mis fortune"!

Room Tip: Stay here if you get a free stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venkym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We also thank you for the detailed observations and valued suggestions and wish to assure you that appropriate measures have been taken.

We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for a more delightful experience.

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great Hotel. Stayed for 2 nights. Room was compact & clean, well maintained. Though food no choice same repetitive menu both lunch & dinner.Enjoyed the stay.Good for both luxury & Business, centrally located in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SagiRand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted the areas where
you we could not meet your expectations

Your review motivates us to try even harder to achieve a higher Guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.

Thanking you once again

Regards,
Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
My Fortune Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

When I came to Chennai on 24/11/2013 and checked in at Chola My fortune it was around 5.45 pm. They have provided a room which is full of dust and accessories broken in the wash room. I squawked to the people in the hotel as she was allergic for the dust.

They have changed the room which is so atrocious. The carpet in the second room is full of dust and the room is occupied with mosquitoes. After informing this to the hotel staffs, they brought a mosquito repellent machine to the room.

In this depraved situation I requested the staff to give a small room without carpet so that it will be at least clean. When I entered the third room i got annoyed and decided to stay in that room with no other options as i doesn’t have the strength to discuss the issues further. I would like to tell you that I have been travelling from Varanasi since morning and every customer wish would be to take rest in the hotel after the long travel. It took more than 4 hours for a guest to get settled in the 5 star hotel.????? I had been looked after very well by the Hotels in Katra as well as Varanasi. But in Chennai the Hotel staff doesn’t have a courteousness to call her once she has been settled. I received calls from both the previous hotels once been settled in the room. In brief my stay ened up in disaster.

I would not recommend this hotel to any one.

Room Tip: Please don't ever choose chola my fortune instead choose chola grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mala_Ponnusamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !

We also thank you for the detailed observations and valued suggestions and wish to assure you that appropriate measures have been taken.

We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.

Regards,
Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
My Fortune Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My Fortune is a great hotel for business travellers. I stayed at the hotel for 1 night. The staff of the hotel is extremely courteous and helpful. Food is great. I was very impressed with the buffet spread. Rooms are pretty large. And all this at competitive rates.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnab_saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, and found it an excellent value for money.

It is reviews like this which motivate us to try even harder to achieve even higher Guest satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.
Thanking you once again

Regards,
Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
My Fortune Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are looking for a taste of the real India, look no further. I have stayed at this hotel many times and am always welcomed back generously. It is not new and could do with some facelifts but the staff, service and food are always excellent. It has a colonial charm missing in many of the newer builds. You get the feeling that people actually like working there as the same happy faces rarely change!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 761DDDBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your appreciative comments have been shared with the team.
It is reviews like this which motivate us to try even harder to achieve even higher Guest satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.
Thanking you once again

Regards,
Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
My Fortune Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great hotel overall and has an amazing restaurant with delicous indian cuisine and helpful & polite staff!

And the hotel staff was great also, helpful and very kind.

The only issue I had wass some missunderstanding re. the wi-fi which was later on clarified.

I would definitely recomend this hotel to others in Chennai and will definitely chose it again and again and again for whenever I visit !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_R_Uthup, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind review of your stay with us at My Fortune Chennai !
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your appreciative comments have been shared with the team.
It is reviews like this which motivate us to try even harder to achieve even higher Guest satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back to My Fortune Chennai for an even more delightful experience.
Thanking you once again

Regards,
Matthew Roby Uthup
General Manager
My Fortune Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Fortune Select Grand
#44 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
128 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#19 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,191 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
987 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#16 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
281 reviews
Alwarpet South
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
#22 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Fortune, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Fortune, Chennai

Property: My Fortune, Chennai
Address: Cathedral Road, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — My Fortune, Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your My Fortune, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Fortune, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chola Chennai
Chennai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing