We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintaining the Pride of Sheraton CHola”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WelcomHotel Chennai
Ranked #42 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Well,I read about some of the poor reviews on this site about this hotel, when it changed from SHeraton CHola to My Fortune. I beg to differ from them though.

A hotel very nicely located with a nice shape in plan and elevation. Rooms are bigger compared to other hotels. Hotel staff behaviour really nice. It appears though that the hotel needs some kind of a face lift which may be done in "installments".

There are 3 restaurants.... alll are really great ones. The best thing I liked about the buffet breakfast & meals is that the hotel cares to prepare food which are not only hygienic but also cater to those who want low fat/cholestrol/salt meals. Kudos to restaurant manager for the same.

Room Tip: Select rooms on higher floor away from Cathedral Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiitkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 472 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel when I visited Chennai for my wife's US VISA interview. At the time of check-in we were told that the room has been upgraded to club and it felt really nice. But once we visited our room, our perception changed. The room had a switch panel which was broken and the lamp shades had stains all over it. The room looked nothing more than a 2 star room. We immediately requested to change our room and this time they promptly changed it back to a room of standard class which was our original booking. The new room was of rectangular shape with decent looks. The floors were tiled and nothing like a 5 star hotel room which they claim it to be.

The pool is very small with depth of 3ft-5ft. It is suitable for a small family with 2 kids and parents and if more people enter it will be crowded. We were fortunate that no one else was using the pool that evening. We tried ordering soft drinks/mock tails but as per the policy of the hotel, you can't use anything of glass in or near the pool. So we had to drop our plan. Also, the water of the pool is salty and you can make out that it has not been treated.

We had lunch at the only restaurant which was functioning. We were told the other one is under renovation. The buffet lunch was only o.k. with decent choices but all of bland taste. We both are a bit biased towards Indian taste but isn't this home advantage all about :) Considering the cost of Rs. 3000 for two, it was surely not value for money.

We decided to have dinner in our room. We specifically asked for spicy Indian food and then we got some spice. The Aloo gobhi was the best part of our stay in this trip :) We seriously recommend people with Indian taste to order in room - as below average taste of the buffet may be too much to tolerate.

The lobby area was of medium size and looked nothing like a real 5 star which they claimed. I specifically asked them about the star rating of the hotel and they said it is 5 star. I only laughed. If I was a rating agent, I would not have not given anything more than 3 star.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meetdestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
My Fortune C, General Manager at WelcomHotel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice. I am indeed distressed to know of your recent experience at My Fortune Chennai.

While I regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may I assure you that we have taken the corrective steps to address needs improvement points. I would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services

At My Fortune Chennai, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.


Regards,

Ram Misra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

the property was earlier known as chola sheraton which was a 5 star chain and then later converted to My Fortune . except for the name change I didnt find any much changes in the Hotel . the rooms were still old and refurbishments have been done as was expected since " My Fortune " is supposed to be one level above the other fortune hotels .
one big disappointment in the rooms was absence of a sofa or a couch and table . I had to eat my dinner on the bed as that was the only option available other than the study tables .
rooms are poorly lit and is difficult to read in night . the outside facade of the property from my window was all dirty and poorly maintained .
room service did not had basic vegetable like mushroom which could be ordered for dinner and they called me in middle of night almost after 2 hours to check if my dinner was ok .
the hotel has only coffee shop for dining option .
breakfast was good and sumptuous
overall I expected more from them but disappointed

Room Tip: rooms on front side are more spacious , request for rooms near the lift else be prepared for long wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
My Fortune C, General Manager at WelcomHotel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

We regret that we have fallen short of your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with our team and we will follow up on all the points including plans for the refurbishment on some of our rooms. Since this is by no means the standard that we aim for, and I do hope that you return to My Fortune Chennai and give us a chance to provide you our actual and recognized class service.

I would like to thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

I do look forward to your continued patronage and hope to meet you on your next visit.

Regards,

Ram Misra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I still remember the first time I used this hotel and it was called the Chola Sheraton. It was the piece of pride for ITC Hotels back then. It looks like ITC has moved on but the property has hung back in time.

Small rooms. One time I stayed in a room which was obviously the ante room of a suite in its previous life.

The property has seen better days, plumbing is old, up-keep lacks the five star touch. But great pricing. Having said which, to stay in the heart of Chennai at the price they offer is otherwise impossible to find.

Restaurant is adequate. Breakfast is good. On occasions, other meals aren't too bad either. Bar is excellent

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, non smoking room looking over the Eastern horizon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Bring back Sheraton! This used to be a decent hotel but I'm afraid it's on a downward spiral with Fortune.

In the three weeks between reserving a room and check in, I received four emails asking for reconfirmation of my reservation. I stayed here in Oct 2012 for five nights. At the time of check in, I was asked to prepay for two nights and then on the third day, I was asked to prepay again for the remainder of my stay. This was an annoyance more than anything else, but clearly a better policy needs to be put in place for a hotel that claims to be 5-star.

The room was excellent. It had a living space and a bedroom. The bathroom was a bit dated, but nothing to complain about. As others have noted, the hotel's location is excellent.

To summarize, I really liked the room, but the service and hotel policies leave a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times and the rooms are much bigger than normal hotels . The staff are very helpful. When it changed from Sheraton to My Fortune I thought it would be poor but nothing has changed. The breakfast is nice and I found the AC a little on the cold side even when adjusted. I would reccomend this hotel to any traveller as it is a nice friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a high floor as the traffic noise is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

For those who have stayed when this property was know by the name Chola I felt the service is the same but te hotel need a face life the toilet taps etc are old and are asking for replacement other wise well pance in terms of location and service and food I give it 9/10

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gautam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#16 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
953 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Chennai
The Park Chennai
#47 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#43 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,012 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
909 reviews
25.7 mi away
Fortune Select Grand
Fortune Select Grand
#37 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHotel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHotel Chennai

Address: Cathedral Road, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India (Formerly My Fortune, Chennai)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $73 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — WelcomHotel Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHotel Chennai erst while My Fortune Chennai is located in the heart of the city that is known for enchanting temples,warm people and delicious Cusine.Beautifully blending the traditional Indian hospitality with the efficiency of modern technology, this upscale hotel provides the convinience and comfort of home with warm and efficient service, making 'WelcomHotel Chennai' truly yours. WelcomHotel Chennai was opened on 18 October 1975, marking the entry of ITC Limited - into the hotel business. ITC Hotels is the now the largest hotel chain in India. The hotel is 8 stories high and has 90 rooms, including 05 Executive Suites (with an area of 750 sq ft). 43 Club rooms (with an area of 650 sq ft) and 42 Superior rooms (with an area of 450 sq ft) Food and beverages include Earthen Oven- a North Indian specialty restaurant, WelcomCafe Marina, 24-hour multi-cuisine restaurant, My Deli, serving light snacks and Durrant’s Bar. Also equipped with three meeting rooms and two banquet halls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your WelcomHotel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Fortune, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chola Chennai
Chennai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing