We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #54 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Toronto
1 review
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

My colleagues and me were here on a 10 day long business trip and were glad we picked the Park to stay at. The rooms were clean, cosy and comfortable with the cleaning team taking special care of our preferences without being asked to. The many dining options made sure we dint have to go out of the hotel and there was something for everyone. The chef would always be around and we felt well taken care off. A colleagues birthday was made special by a surprise cake from the hotels side. The staff in all areas expecially the front desk where exceptionally courteous and friendly, not to mention helpful and went the extra mile to meet our requests.....

My 8 other colleagues join me in saying that we cant wait till our next project in Chennai to experience the hospitality at The Park!

  • Liked — Food, Spa, Staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheOwl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    360
    282
    169
    168
See reviews for
201
128
129
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed in this hotel at the end of January. it was very expensive, but we did not get the service or quality for the top prices.

We had two rooms. In room 1: - the telephone stopped working and someone spent 20 minutes trying to fix it before bringing a second one
Room 2 - one of the phones (two in room) didn't work altogether
- fridge did not work
- television had to be mended on a number of ocassions

The decor is very fashionable, but not at all practical e.g. there is a glass sink in the bathroom, but no-where to hang your clothes or put a towel without it getting wet. The hairdryer is in the bathroom - no good as the mirror steams up during a shower.

The pool is nice, but spoilt by the fact that the changing room at that level has no shower. Showers are available in the gym upstairs, but there is barely any private changing area and marble (therefore very slippery) steps up to the jacuzzi. There is a phone in the changing area, but it was not possible to use this to call my friend's room and on one ocassion neither of the hairdrfyers was working.

Prices were very high - I paid more for a dosa then it costs in Britain and the quality wasn't great.

As you can tell we would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The staff were friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — The fact that the facilities and rooms did not reflect the high prices.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingerMGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

India Bollywood and Kollywood flavours are beautifully blended here. While the discotheque too is a hot-spot, I had a taste of true italian style thin crust ethnic pizzas. I had stayed here so many times, and every time It grew on me.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
187 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

This was my second stay here and I was here for almost a week this time instead of just a couple of days. After spending more time here, I will definitely be looking elsewhere when back in Chennai in a few months.

The Park used to be trendy, but it's obvious age without any renovation work is really taking its toll. It is very worn out. Everything from the walls, to the carpet, to the furniture, to the bathroom appliances are well past their prime and most any hotel in the world would have done a renovation by now.

Having a weekend to kill here, I also found that there is really nowhere in the hotel to pass the time. The lobby is ok for waiting for guests / visitors, but you really would not want to just lounge there.

So I retreated to my room, where I found the internet to be extremely slow my entire stay. The hotel needs a fatter internet connection to service all of the rooms there.

The breakfast buffet was the highlight.

Given the prices at the hotel (food, internet, and room), they really need to invest. Until they do, I'll be looking elsewhere.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank brian796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

it was a fine evening me and my wife entered the hotel a warm welcome for the reception then we went to room relaxed for some time then went to roof top garden there we ordered a glass of juice and then had a great dinner in the restaurent and enjoyed the nite and check out in 24 hours.it was just mind blowing stay at the hotel unforgetable stay with my wife.

  • Liked — presentation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kotadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

Please whatever you do, do not stay at this hotel. you will be utterly disappointed and leave with a bitter taste in your mouth. this is a 5 star rated hotel, but upon receiving, they couldnt keep up their standard. the hotel is wet, damp, smells awful, walls bubbling, toilet leaks, they dont tell you that the buffet for dinner is only on wed, fri and sat. They promise 8hours car hire for all the days, but took us for fools by informing us its just for 1 day. we were not allowed to use our vouchers for room service and they made a fuss about it. i slipped and hit my knee badly in the tub due to not foot holding and the toilet flowed a river! the walls, tiles, grouting is moldy and stinks! we changed rooms 3 times and were exhausted so ordered room service and they made a fuss about that!!! the green park deserves to be a 5 star. the park needs to be revisted and reauditing. its a disgrace to still hold onto their 5 star rating!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joles2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

In October 2008, we booked a package on the Park Hotel Chennai website, Dine and Drive package which most suited our needs for our 2 day stay in Chennai. Though on arrival I was most disappointed from our previous experiences with the Park Hotel Group.

The Hotel, The Room, The Restaurant
Negatives:
1. The Entrance, with 2 huge uninviting doors opens to an even more uninviting foyer, with three desk that has no names. One is apprently for recceipts, booking and one for travel.
2. The Foyer has a distinctive smell. Dampness or wood.
3. The staff dont understand the package we purchased.
4. The room which we had to change more than 3 times, smelt damp and more damp and variants of damp.
5. The bathroom leaked, had rusty edges, was old and not impressive.
6. The special we booked was limited to only one restaurant, and the offer for buffet meals were not on the days we stayed at the hotel.
7. One is expected to have a calculator,to ensure one doesnt exceed the dinner limit, especially as there are no taxes inclusive meals on the menu.
8. They have an amazing pool with a view to remember, just remember to ensure that one has the proper swimming attire, as the "pool attire inspector" directed us to stores that sell swimming attire that can be used in their exceptional pool.
9. Also remember that all hotels charge service tax on their published rates and not on thier discounted rates, as I was suprised that the taxes were a quarter of the price of the daily rate. The hotel should instead advertise the total cost per night and not just the hotel special rate.

Positives
1. The employee who was allocated to move our baggage several times was most friendly and helpful.
2. The restaurant staff and meals were exceptional, except that they dont offer room service on the special we booked, and that they reminded us that they made an exception for us. Not that this helped their service rating.
3. The driver who was allocated for our free usage of the vehicle per the special was also exceptional and friendly and provided a worthwhile tour of Chennai and to local stores and sights.

  • Liked — The variety of food on their buffet
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#94 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Savera Hotel
#38 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#11 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Courtyard Chennai
#20 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Property: The Park Chennai
Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotel Chennai
The Park Hotels Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing