We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the good ones available”
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #47 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed there with my family to visit the US consulate. I had a bad experience in one of the cheaper hotels (Palm groove) last time. So thought to spend some dough expecting a better experience. With The Park, I was not disappointed. They didnt make me too happy too :/

The Good:
Its one of the cheaper of the high end hotels.
Awesome location.
Awesome breakfast.
Decent amenities. (I expected more for the price)
I got fairly good service from the staff.


The bad:
The rates are expensive compared to the US hotels, but the amenities are not at par.
No free wifi in room. For the price, i didnt think they are gonna charge another 500Rs for an hour of wifi. Free wifi in common areas, but it was not that easy to access.
A bit overpriced.
Construction/repair going on inside the hotel. It was close to the room and was loud at times!

Room Tip: "Check the areas that are being repaired and get a room far from there"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We appreciate your comments on our facilities and services. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast, among other things, and will work on the areas for improvement that you have highlighted.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Park Chennai for a better experience.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Park is situated in the centre of the city and hence very easy to travel to a lot of places. The staff is very helpful and the service is amazing, right from the reception to all the restaurants. Rooms aren't that spacious. Revisitors are not treated the way they should have or is the case generally at other hotels. The lounge and the club are good places to go late evenings. Do have a meal at Aqua.. Overall, worth a stay, and many more hotels to explore in Chennai

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Aditya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Mr. Aditya,

Thank you for staying at The Park Chennai.

We appreciate your comments on the staff and services and are working on improving services for our returning guests. We are also glad that you enjoyed your experiences at Aqua and the night club.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Park Chennai for a better experience.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Pathetic place.horrible service.rude staff.not worth the money u are spending.the rooms are dingy n small.the hotel lives up to the over all stds set by park .please avoid booking with these guys they are really pathetic.overall a very avoidable stay

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinusidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Park Chennai.

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at The Park Chennai. We are working on improving the services and facilities and will pay special attention to the points you have highlighted.

We hope you will give us a chance to give you a better experience at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I used the hotel when it was launched 10 years back....and what a delight it was. Great location, bold contemporary design, pushing the boundaries on decor and design and food. It showed such promise. Then last week I booked a room and got a great rate. The low rate should have warned me...but i was in for a very rude shock. The hotel has deteriorated beyond imagine. It is in utter state of neglect. The rooms are completely worn out. I requested for a room change since the one i got was smelly and musty. It took them 1 hour to shift me to a room that at least did noir stink on another floor. The corridors had paint peeling off on at least the 2 floors I was on. The rooms were BAD...the wooden flooring was uneven and warping, the taps were leaking, the shower had green moss, the paint in the room had seepage and was peeling, the beds were old and not comfortable. The TV is small and old...I can go on and on....and will have to strain myself to come up with ONE positive comment about the property. Pushed, I will agree that the staff was warm and tried hard to please...but what do you do with such a bad product. I was so frustrated, that I checked out in a few hours...did not even ask for a refund. It is sad to see a property with so much promise go down the drain. Please Avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

At the outset, we sincerely regret your experience at The Park Chennai.

We are concerned about the product and are working on upgrading our facilities.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back at The Park Chennai for a better experience.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I have travelled around the world and for a business traveller the most important thing in a hotel is good service and good food, I was lucky with both at the park chennai. I do not usually write but I think the the hotel and staff deserve to be praised. The front office staff were highly courteous and that was just the beginning and my 5 day stay just got better. The food at the park was truly delightful as was the staff and I would also like to thank the people who cleaned my room, the sheets were crisp ! Thank you park chennai, looking forward to visiting again, maybe next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhichari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, the food and services and will pass on your appreciation to our team, especially those in our Housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcome you back next year, if not sooner, at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed twice n I feel the hotel is not who made difference the staff is t one who create memories the park should be happy tat they have staff like that at t same room needs renovation also since it bit old but the staff they do their level best to make sure ur stay go good n peaceful so thanks a lot for hospitality

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Park Chennai.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our team will be encouraged by your words of appreciation.

We are working on upgrading our rooms and hope to welcome you back at The Park Chennai to create even better memories.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Good personal connectivity wd customer. 601 serves delicious food :) n Ricky duty manager vl make ur life easy n comfortable at the park Chennai... Deluxe room r superb vl make feel worth of ur money ! hotel ambience z out of d box wd pretty purplish lights n music !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khushgoair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass on your comments to Ricky, who we are sure will be motivated by your appreciation of her work.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,177 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,012 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#16 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
953 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#26 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,320 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $65 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotels Chennai
The Park Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing