We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust the bad reviews! It's really terrible here!”
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #48 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here for 4 months as my bf's company let them stay here. We are constantly complaining about this hotel, but nothing improved by now. Room is never clean since they don't really clean the floor unless you request. The leaking problem is getting worse, they tried to cover it by paint but only make it look cheap and disgusting. All of us experienced clothes and stuff molding which is really gross and unbelievable! The hotel plays loud music till midnight every week on both weekdays and weekends. We have trouble sleeping often yet they don't really care. It's a hotel not a night club, but they seem more keen to make profile with parties than providing a nice comfortable stay experience for customers. I've seen other customers arguing or complaining with the staff a few times. Food is ok but we've seen waiters grabbing bread and snacks by hands... putting back the fallen forks and spoons from the ground... We would never suggest anyone stay here since there are so many nice hotels in Chennai located in good area providing good services.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Angel100480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at The Park Chennai.

We sincerely apologise for the issues you have faced with our services and facilities during your stay. I would like to assure you that we have taken your observations very seriously. We have addressed the Service and Housekeeping teams, among others, to work on the most immediate issues highlighted in your feedback. I would also like to inform you that we are working on upgrading our rooms in a phased manner.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Park Chennai for a better experience.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Right from the airport representative, greeting you at the airport on arrival to checking in. The Park Chennai welcomes you in style. The well furnished rooms, great housekeeping, excellent Room Service further enhance the stay. The food is excellent and worth every bite. The friendly, warm staff are ever ready to assist and makes one feel completely at home. Was there for 5 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. When in Chennai, it is strongly recommended to stay at The Park, Chennai not only for its central location, but, for a real experience of luxury and styled.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghoshneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Park Chennai during your recent visit to the city and for your feedback on the same.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We also appreciate your positive comments about the staff.

We do hope to welcome you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

In terms of fixtures and fittings and amities this hotel is good value for money. Some things are a little rough around the edges but the rooms are fairly priced, however the beds are extremely comfortable.

The thing that sets this hotel apart from the competition is its staff. We found all the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous. The bar staff in the small bar were exceptional and their signature cocktail which from memory was made with chilli infused vodka, Martini and passion fruit just was delicious. I am not a big fan of cocktails but these were fantastic. Along with the fantastic drinks the resident DJ played some very good music which made for an enjoyable night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt140973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai and for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with our team and it will help boost their morale. We are working on smoothening the rough edges phase by phase.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the cocktails and music at the bar and look forward to welcoming you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of the city and is well connected. I am regularly staying in this hotel during mu routine business visit to the city. Please be cautious while booking online as this chain has got one more property nearby in the name of The Park Pod which is a very small property basically with no amenities. The Park is a very good property for a stay mainly with lot of happening Restaurants, Pubs and a good night life especially Pasha which energizes you after a long working day. They are under the process of renovating the property phase wise and fortunately i managed to get a newly built up room which was excellent. Dont forget to try there soothing SPA

Room Tip: Try taking room facing Gemini Parson Complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BhuvneshSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Mr. Bhuvnesh,

Thank you for staying at The Park Chennai on your business visits to the city.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stays with us, especially your experiences at our restaurants, entertainment spaces and the spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Staff was very good. Food was fine but not best suited for families and children. May suit business guests best. Hotel was clean and fine but not wow. Kids did not like the meals. We had to order separately for kids stuff like at an extra cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janakard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We appreciate your positive comments about the staff. We have also made note of your other comments including the need to have more child-friendly meals and will work on the same.

We hope to welcome you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel has nice public areas - the lobby, the bar and the terrace. We also enjoyed a fabulous lunch of tandoori chicken with accompaniments. Another plus point is the 8th floor swimming area. The biggest disappointment though were the rooms. Those of both myself and my colleagues were outdated, a bit shabby and just in need of a makeover (these rooms were on 5th floor). At breakfast, there was a good choice of food. It was ok but not great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Mr. Andrew,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our public spaces and the tandoori chicken with accompaniments.

We regret that the rooms allotted to you and your colleague were shabby and would like to inform you that we are working on upgrading the facilities in a phased manner.

We hope to welcome you back at The Park Chennai on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Unfortunately we are long stay customers here due to company's contract with The Park Chennai. We've been here a year. You can see the leaks, mold, mildew on the walls. We even have some cockroaches in the room... Can you imagine!? But those are not the worst things here. The hotel holds activities pretty often, and there is always crazy loud music lasting till midnight even to early morning sometimes. You call them to complain, they would just tell you they are sorry and music goes on. They don't care about customer's feelings or if customers need quality sleep. We just couldn't understand why they keep holding loud outdoor parties despite of customers keep complaining. The service here sucks just like many other reviews on Tripadvisor. There were a few times they cut the hot water without a notice that we could only use cold water for shower. The food in restaurant is ok but over-priced compared with other hotels in Chennai. It's normal if you couldn't find one single clean table because all the staff is busy. More than one time we were sleeping with a "do not disturb" sign on the door, yet the hotel staff opened the door and tried to get in! That's really Crazy!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JY_0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at The Park Chennai.

We are very sorry about the issues you faced with regards to the service and facilities here. While we can offer no excuses for the problems you faced, we would like to assure you that we are working on the points you have commented on including the state of the facilities, restaurant cleanliness and service related issues.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Park Chennai for a better experience.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Mylapore
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#45 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,064 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#31 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,397 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#9 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,123 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,230 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#17 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $73 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Park Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotel Chennai
The Park Hotels Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing