We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cocktails”
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #47 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

In terms of fixtures and fittings and amities this hotel is good value for money. Some things are a little rough around the edges but the rooms are fairly priced, however the beds are extremely comfortable.

The thing that sets this hotel apart from the competition is its staff. We found all the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous. The bar staff in the small bar were exceptional and their signature cocktail which from memory was made with chilli infused vodka, Martini and passion fruit just was delicious. I am not a big fan of cocktails but these were fantastic. Along with the fantastic drinks the resident DJ played some very good music which made for an enjoyable night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt140973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai and for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with our team and it will help boost their morale. We are working on smoothening the rough edges phase by phase.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the cocktails and music at the bar and look forward to welcoming you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    391
    297
    174
    174
See reviews for
225
133
140
844
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of the city and is well connected. I am regularly staying in this hotel during mu routine business visit to the city. Please be cautious while booking online as this chain has got one more property nearby in the name of The Park Pod which is a very small property basically with no amenities. The Park is a very good property for a stay mainly with lot of happening Restaurants, Pubs and a good night life especially Pasha which energizes you after a long working day. They are under the process of renovating the property phase wise and fortunately i managed to get a newly built up room which was excellent. Dont forget to try there soothing SPA

Room Tip: Try taking room facing Gemini Parson Complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhuvneshSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Bhuvnesh,

Thank you for staying at The Park Chennai on your business visits to the city.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stays with us, especially your experiences at our restaurants, entertainment spaces and the spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Staff was very good. Food was fine but not best suited for families and children. May suit business guests best. Hotel was clean and fine but not wow. Kids did not like the meals. We had to order separately for kids stuff like at an extra cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janakard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We appreciate your positive comments about the staff. We have also made note of your other comments including the need to have more child-friendly meals and will work on the same.

We hope to welcome you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel has nice public areas - the lobby, the bar and the terrace. We also enjoyed a fabulous lunch of tandoori chicken with accompaniments. Another plus point is the 8th floor swimming area. The biggest disappointment though were the rooms. Those of both myself and my colleagues were outdated, a bit shabby and just in need of a makeover (these rooms were on 5th floor). At breakfast, there was a good choice of food. It was ok but not great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our public spaces and the tandoori chicken with accompaniments.

We regret that the rooms allotted to you and your colleague were shabby and would like to inform you that we are working on upgrading the facilities in a phased manner.

We hope to welcome you back at The Park Chennai on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Unfortunately we are long stay customers here due to company's contract with The Park Chennai. We've been here a year. You can see the leaks, mold, mildew on the walls. We even have some cockroaches in the room... Can you imagine!? But those are not the worst things here. The hotel holds activities pretty often, and there is always crazy loud music lasting till midnight even to early morning sometimes. You call them to complain, they would just tell you they are sorry and music goes on. They don't care about customer's feelings or if customers need quality sleep. We just couldn't understand why they keep holding loud outdoor parties despite of customers keep complaining. The service here sucks just like many other reviews on Tripadvisor. There were a few times they cut the hot water without a notice that we could only use cold water for shower. The food in restaurant is ok but over-priced compared with other hotels in Chennai. It's normal if you couldn't find one single clean table because all the staff is busy. More than one time we were sleeping with a "do not disturb" sign on the door, yet the hotel staff opened the door and tried to get in! That's really Crazy!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JY_0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at The Park Chennai.

We are very sorry about the issues you faced with regards to the service and facilities here. While we can offer no excuses for the problems you faced, we would like to assure you that we are working on the points you have commented on including the state of the facilities, restaurant cleanliness and service related issues.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Park Chennai for a better experience.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in spite of bad reviews. Only reason being close to US embassy.
Only thing that was good about the entire stay was the breakfast.
We arrived at the hotel on Nov 3 2013 and provided my details and the receptions dint even give a smile she was doing check in formalities as if she was allowing us to stay at Park free of cost. And the rooms were to small that my kid was getting irritated as he couldn't get enough space to walk around. And the view from the room was pathetic and there were wall hangings were so sick that i got so damn irritated that i took it of the wall.

We arrived at 11 AM and there was no hot water in the room for almost three hours after we checked in, i had called at least some 15 times for the hot water and finally water arrived in one bucket and we had to adjust with that. How pathetic, i have never seen this kind of a scenario anywhere. Next morning me and my husband went for the visa interview after having an awesome breakfast, as i said that was the only thing that was good. And when we came back to the hotel my mom had called the reception couple of times for water to give bath to my son (again water problem, very strange, isn't it?), finally we dint get water, when asked they said some problem with the generator, whatever..
The staff other than the receptionist were friendly and guided us for whatever we asked.

The hotel people dint even ask for the feedback of our stay.

I would definitely say a big NO NO to this hotel. If u still wannna try, please do so at your own risk

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshAdi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Park Chennai.

At the outset, we would like to apologise for the issues you and your family faced during your stay at The Park Chennai. We have no excuses for the water problems and the slow response of our team to your requirements.

We would also like to thank you for your positive comments on the breakfast you enjoyed as well as the helpfulness of the other staff.

We are working on improving our facilities and services and do hope that you will give us a chance to offer you a better experience here at The Park Chennai the next time you visit.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Not worthy of a five star property. Rooms had seepage and wooden flooring was chipped off. Room was not even vacuumed properly. Not recommended for business or family stay. Terrible value for money. Pls avoid if you have other options.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nona1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We are sorry that the room allotted to you was in such bad condition and offer no excuses for it.

We are in the process of improving our facilities in a phased manner and do hope to welcome you back to The Park Chennai to give you a better experience.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,140 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
979 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#95 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#19 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,191 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,248 reviews
The Residency
#38 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Property: The Park Chennai
Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotel Chennai
The Park Hotels Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing