We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good, neither that bad..”
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #47 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
1 review
“Not so good, neither that bad..”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for a day, i must say the hotel definitely need renovation. the rooms are not done properly, lack of cleanliness.
as for food being veg, i was disappointed with indian cuisine. even pasta and other things i tried were not up to the mark.

Hotel is well located close to to US Embassy works.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbihani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com. Your feedback is indeed important to us & we have taken note of your comments with regards to the rooms & food. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the food during your recent stay with us, & our Chef’s are looking into the matter. This is very rare as The Park Chennai is known specifically for it’s award winning restaurants & food. We do hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you better during your next visit to Chennai.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    384
    293
    174
    171
See reviews for
222
131
140
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am a regular at this hotel, like this yet cant help whining and complaining about the horrible infrastructure.

Valet staff (super visor/maitre de) in the evening shift
Very uncourteous, lazy and behave as if they own the hotel.

Check in/check out
Staff are courteous, the process was smooth and quick.

Rooms
Need renovation badly
there are marks of water logging in the bathroom corners
The bathtub has broken scratches on it.
The entire room needs sanitation.
Phone handset cannot be used for speaking, as it stinks to the core.
One is better off using the speaker phone than the actual device
Cordless device in the room is just for display purposes and it does not work at all.
Non smoking room is just sham, the bedsheets and pillow covers indeed smell of smoke and stink of prior usage.
The TV provided in the room for a 3rd category upwards was a basic 29 inch flat TV. Disgusted with such a offering. makes me feel if the hotel is doing me a favour or what?
I could just go on and one out about this. but it would never end.
Just felt like conned whilst staying this time.

Restaurant -
the food service and ambience was quite good, it needs a separate review by itself and will be coming up soon.

Room Tip: Stay in the higher floors and ask for a renovated room. Old rooms are as bad as a 2 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

We regret your disappointing experience during your recent stay with us during your holiday. We are looking in to all the points mentioned in your review in detail. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort you faced with regard to the upkeep of the room.

Thank you for your appreciative words on our food & service at our restaurant. We do hope you give us another chance to ensure you have a great stay with us during your next visit to Chennai.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stay in the park chennai atleast twice a week. The best part of the hotel is the roof top pool and the lobby. Sunday brunch is truely amazing there. The restaurent manager Mr. Suraj is extreme humble and have high quality of customer service skills and he goes out of his way to deliver them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrishikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for your generous comments on our spaces, food & our staff. We are very happy to know that we succeeded in delivering a great experience to you during your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you soon at The Park Chennai.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Park, Chennai in September with family. It was a holiday trip and thought to have a stay at this hotel as I got a good deal online.
The check in was smooth and they upgraded the room. However as it is mentioned as a 5 star property, the rooms are not up to the standard of a 5 star property, it needs big time renovation. The wooden floors were chipped at several places, all the furniture looked very old ..I did not feel like I was staying at a 5 star property at all.
The bathroom fittings were worn off completely however I enjoyed the water pressure of the shower... the entire property needs a renovation to keep up the name.
Service was very slow..many a times the phone extensions were not working. Enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, the service was good out there..
Would say RENOVATION time now for the hotel...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlienan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We regret your disappointing experience during your recent stay with us during your holiday. We are looking in to all the points mentioned in your review in detail. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort you faced with regard to the upkeep of the room. As the telephone lines were down, our Engineering team was working towards fixing the problem, although we do regret that you were not informed of the same. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast spread & service at our award winning restaurant, 601.

We do hope you give us another chance to ensure you have a great stay with us during your next visit to Chennai.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in park last month while appearing for my visa interview. Though overall the hotel looks good but due to the fact it is converted to hotel from some other place it still contains some loose ends. Room walls and bathrooms rooms are not so properly finished even the overall size of the bathroom looks a little bit smaller.

Food wise breakfast was quite good and again the drinks area was too small.

Room service was again a little bit disappointing since i have to remind them twice before they turn in with my oder.

Check in and checkout both took quite a time with only two person managing that , i definitely believe if they can have two more people it would make things move quicker.

Location wise its excellent if you came for USA visa interview since the US embassy is walkable.

So there is a lot to improve but still I had a decent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harishlohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and we have taken note of all the points mentioned in your review. We regret your disappointing experience and the lapses you faced with regard to the room & room service. We are sorry that your check in & check out was delayed; we will definitely look into the matter.

We do hope you visit us once again during your next visit to Chennai & give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in Park Chennai from 14th to the 16th of September 2013. I was alloted room number 3011 and the room had a horrible stench. I called up the front desk and requested for room change and they got the house keeping staff to meet me. I also showed him blisters on the walls of the bathroom and the stains. The house keeping staff was sincere and candidly told me all rooms are alike and i would get the same stench in any room. He however said he would go get some room freshner. After waiting for half hour, i called the house keeping again and the person said he was still trying to find a room freshner. The house keeping staff did not show up at all after that.

I had complimentary wi-fi usage but the speed was rather poor. The only positive about the hotel is the breakfast spread. It had a good mix of continental and Indian dishes.

The spa is usually packed and i could not get a booking. If you are staying there for a few days you may book spa well in advance.

I would stay in this hotel only if you have no choice and/or looking at going to US embassy which is walkable distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harryvarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

We regret your disappointing experience during your recent stay with us. Your opinion of our hotel is indeed important to us & we will definitely look into the matter. At the outset, please accept our most sincere apologies for the discomfort you experienced due to the smell in the room. We are sorry that the House Keeping staff had conveyed a wrong impression on the rest of the rooms instead of offering to change your room. We have Wi-fi with a speed of 8 mbps in our rooms & public spaces. However, we are sorry for the technical problems you faced in the connectivity. This rarely ever happens.

Please view our lapses with a small degree of tolerance and do allow us a chance to receive you at The Park Chennai for a great stay next time.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

the Park staff were pretty friendly, decent service was provided.
i had a good stay. breakfast options could have been better.
the room was quite small and slightly overpriced from the comfort point of view.
passport office is extremely close by so we could just walk down from The Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pooja2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us & we are delighted to read that you a comfortable stay with us. Our hotel rooms sizes conform to 5 star deluxe standards, sorry you found the space restrictive. We will definitely take into account your comments on our breakfast. On request we have several breakfast items available, apart from the buffet spread which you could order from during your stay with us next. We hope to see you soon at The Park Chennai.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Savera Hotel
#42 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
970 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#15 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,129 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#91 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#28 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,231 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
893 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#20 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Property: The Park Chennai
Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotels Chennai
The Park Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing