We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six O One is just another one”
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #49 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was looking for a riveting ambiance, some quiet and of course great food for my dinner with my son yesterday night. I thought The Park's restaurants will provide me all these as I was guided to its 24 hr restaurant Six O One.

The initial experience was very good as the polite lady at the entrance ushered us in and we chose what we thought was a amiable seat. The spread looked good with local, Indian, Chinese and international selections, a tempting corner full of desserts and a wide selection of salads. Near the buffet counter were lit a few terracotta ovens to cater to the demands for local dishes like Pongal and others. These fire places added character to the setting.

The sea food broth made a good beginning, but starters played truant as we had to wait for an age to be served our seekh kabab and veg tandoori item. The main course provided some relief with choices like of Indian and Chinese chicken, aromatic and succulent fish chops, veg curries, stew, dal and made-to-order India roti, naan and kulcha. Noodles, Fried rice, Chicken dum biriyani completed the picture.

The dessert corner was a feast for the eye with a choice of Indian sweetmeats, sugar free peda, gajar halwa, fruit salads, pastries, and a variety of ice creams to gorge on. Son liked Banana mousse the most.

Now the flip side. The interior of the place looked tired to me and not the kind of luxurious elegance I was looking for. Some of the food items were missing when I went for them, like starters, raita and one particular sugar-free dessert I was eyein g at the beginning. Whether they were taking their time to refill or they had simply run out of the stock I didn't have a clue, but it left me high and dry. And all this at 10.30 PM!

About the quiet I was seeking, the atmosphere was noisy with a bunch of foreigner ladies having blast party close by. Not a mistake of the hotel of course! A little further away someone was angrily demanding for the Asset Manager to come on line to explain things. Why blame it on the poor asset manager when the whole economy has derailed?

Overall I had a good evening out but Six O One just didn't stand out: it was just another restaurant in its high-end category.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinmayHota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the food at our award winning dining restaurant 601. Although, we are sorry that the restaurant ambiance was not up to your expectations. we have taken note of your feedback regarding restaurant ambiance & service and we will surely look into the matter.

We do hope you visit us once again during your next visit to Chennai & give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
There are newer reviews for The Park Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had hosted a team dinner out of the Six O One Restaurant today. Was really impressed with the Buffet spread and the warm personalized service by Suraj and his team. Highly appreciable and looking forward to be there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shyam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your appreciative words on our staff & services. We are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations in delivering personalized service while you dined at our award winning all day dining restaurant, 601. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Chennai.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We are frequent visitors at park Hotel Chennai and i would really like to appreciate the service given by the whole team at Park, especially the team at 106 restaurant (Suraj the restaurant Manager) has been taken care of us everytime we visit Park Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to say that Park Chennai is the best among all the Park Hotels in India.
Hats Off to all the staff.
Thanks & Regards,
Winston & David ( GO AIRLINES CREW )

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

The Park Chennai team is delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations and succeeded in delivering great service during you visit to Chennai. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed the food and service at our award winning & all day dining restaurant,601.
Thank you so much for your gracious comments on your experience at The Park Chennai. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us.We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am just finishing my stay at The Park Chennai and I have to say I am very disappointed. Not only is my room falling apart (walls in the bathroom is peeling off) but my room phone which hasn't been working for 4 hours still hasn't been fixed. The management is clearly slacking off. It is definitely NOT a 5 Star hotel that it boasts. The Park in Delhi is on another level compared to this one. I am going to The Park Bangalore, and will compare the three Parks.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at couple of bathrooms before picking your room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReechainDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret your disappointing experience during you recent stay with us. As the telephone lines were down, our Engineering team was working towards fixing the problem, although we do regret that you were not informed of the same. Please accept our apologies for your discomfort with our services. We do hope you visit us once again during your next visit to Chennai & give us another opportunity to serve you better.
Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have visited this place not just once but many times.
Everything here is modern and precisely designed!
Be it the interiors of the rooms, the leather bar and its sit out; the roof top swimming pool and the restaurant..
Food is equally tasty with quick and sensible hospitality.
Overall, its my destination in chennai for any number of times I visit.

Room Tip: Any rooms in 1st floor is great especially on weekends coz of the music u get to hear.. :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geenaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to read about your experience during your recent stay at The Park Chennai. Thank you for your continued patronage. The Park Chennai team is delighted to read that you enjoyed the music & food at our award winning restaurants & bars during your stay with us.
Thank you so much once again for your generous comments. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had an absolutely brilliant stay here at this incredibly hospitable hotel in Chennai.
Our Suite was absolutely wonderful and we loved all of the available facilities. The rooftop pool and the bar were great fun and we had a Great time in the local club Pasha, (until we met some shady characters). Nevertheless, we had a great stay here and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were really helpful and The breakfast was great too!
Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a delightful feeling to know that we have exceeded your expectations and succeeded in delivering a great experience to you during your recent visit to Chennai. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the facilities & our night club, Pasha although we are sorry that you had an unfavourable experience with the crowd. I trust our capable bouncers & security were at hand to help out. Thank you for your strong recommendation; it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
We do hope you visit us once again with your friends & give us another opportunity to ensure you have a great stay with us.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Park Hotel, Chennai is a wonderful place to stay, the management, hospitality services rendered are really very good..... The staff is indeed very helpful . I simply loved this place and its people. Wonderfully located. Distance from airport and long travelling time is the only grey Area in the deal of this Hotel. Thai food is what I liked during the stay. Rooms were clean and large and very functional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishjnewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous comments on your experience during your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food at our speciality Thai Restaurant,Lotus & we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Chennai.
Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#18 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,239 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,162 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savera Hotel
#43 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,011 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
924 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#92 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $67 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotel Chennai
The Park Hotels Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing