We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad and poorly maintained”
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #47 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel needs a complete renovation the wooden floor needs to be fixed. Bathroom fixtures were dirty. I would never come back again. I stayed in room 2023 and there were few holes on the wooden floor near the window due to termites. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckumarshankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is valuable to us. We are so sorry an old room that should have been under repair was given to you. we have taken up your complaint internally. We do hope you visit us once again during your next visit to Chennai & give us another opportunity to ensure you have a great stay with us.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

the first thing when you get to the hotel is to figure out where is the entrance. it has a huge door that is always closed and there is no one to mind the door and open it when someone is visiting. I actually had to ask if that huge door which looked more like a prison door was really the entrance. the theme is excellent. i absolutely loved it with old cinema posters adorning the walls. the staff were also very courteous to let me do an early check in. but the rooms and the hotel smells damp. when i was leaving and had to carry my bags from the door to the car, no staff were willing to come and help even though they were around. they were just standing by the concierge desk and watching me carry it. at the last minute when it was time for me to sit in teh car they came running to help open the car doors. absolutely pathetic. will never visit again.

Room Tip: dont go for the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasoonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

The doors are part of the contemporary design which is meant to withhold the drama of the lobby till one actually enters it. We regret the lack of response from our team in assisting you with your luggage. Due to the onset of monsoons and drop in ambient temperature, you may have experienced a feeling of dampness. Thank you for bringing this to our notice. The air conditioning has been programmed to counter this.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Really the best in Chennai in terms of everything.Ever welcoming staff who gives you the feeling of being at home.Rooms are extremely good and the cleanliness maintained is excellent.Food served is much better than any other hotels.Staff are highly efficient and attentive.Buffet Breakfast has a lavish spread.

This hotel is really value for money.I would recommend this hotel hundred times and would always visit this place for the high quality hospitality rendered by the highly trained hotel staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gagan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

The Park team would like to thank you for your compliments. It has been a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to seeing at The Park soo

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I'm very glad i choose The Park during my visit ti Chennai..good rooms, great foods and even better are the services. Warm welcome as soon as we entered the lobby. Duty manager Ranvijay was helpful and gave us an excellent room even better the check in was quick! B'fast at the coffee shop 601 had varied items to choose from. Our experience was made even more amazing after we dined @ aqua.. Perfect ambience, good selection of food and drinks! Mr prashant and praveen were effecient and quick! Even suggested us what we could eat! Overall it was a WOW experience! Truly it was " home away from home".. All the best guys! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameira123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a wonderful feeling to know that we have succeeded in delivering the 'WOW' experience to you. Thank you for your feedback & taking time to share this with us & many who are reading this online!

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed at The Park for 2 nights. It was a good and soothing experience. Rooms give yu a very different look. Aqua is the perfect place to dine at especially for me as I was travelling with my wife. Aqua Manager Mr.Prashant, was effecient, attentive and ready to render his services. Good job Prashant. At the Lobby,we interacted with Duty Manager Virender. He heard what we wanted and allocated us a very good room keeping in mind our requests! Qudos to both!!well it is rightly said, people make the place! Good job guys! Park rockz!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shweta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

The Park has always been ahead of the gane for it's personalised warm service. We are very happy to know that you & your family enjoyed the stay as well as our pretty spaces. Aqua is our jewel with a beautiful view of the city's skyline. Wishing you a great week ahead & we hope to see you soon at The Park, Chenna

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am from Barclays Bank and staying in 'The Park' for couple of weeks. I am really loving the experience here. The staff here is extremely polite and well behaved specially Prashant(Manager), who i got to interact with for most of the time during my stay!
I would say, its worth every penny they charge. Infact, you will be more than delighted with the over all service and the variety of food served in 'The Park'.

Room Tip: Any room here, will make your stay an experience of lifetime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansh_Shukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time out to post such a sunny review. The team was excited to read it. We wish you a wonderful stay at The Park.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I usually prefer to stay at Taj, But this time around i had to stay at The Park Hotel, as Taj was sold out. I never have had a great opinion about this Hotel, but after my stay i have changed my mind. I was given a room in one of the rennovated floors and the room was quite nice. No wonder their restauarants are talk of the town , coz of delicious food with variety in food options, i could not stop my self but to devour. PASHA- The night club is a great experience, and glad they made it free entry for the stayers. But, i was bit disappointed for not having given the city facing room, and will make it a point to ask for the same while booking.

Room Tip: Request for a city facing room, and try out the roof top restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rithvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good feedback. The newly renovated rooms are pretty & plush. We are so happy you liked them as well as the food at our award winning restaurants. We are sorry that you didn’t get to stay in the city facing room. Do let us know in advance when you are visiting.Looking forward to your next stay with The Park.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,177 reviews
Savera Hotel
#43 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,012 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#16 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
953 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#26 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,320 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $65 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotels Chennai
The Park Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing