We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, yummy food!”
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #47 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good location, yummy food!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at the park, Chennai during June 2012 for the business trip. Hotel is centrally located in Chennai. I really enjoyed the food (breakfast as well as dinner). I believe they've one of the best restaurant in the town. Staff is friendly and assisted me with required inputs even after my stay.

Room Tip: Select higher floor with inside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your appreciative words of our staff, quality of restaurants and food, this is indeed very flattering. We are glad to hear of your enjoyable stay at the hotel and look forward to serving you better with your every visit.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    375
    290
    172
    171
See reviews for
212
129
139
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

V. good staff, good food, fantastic ambiance !!
Centrally located , best place to stay when you are on business trip
Formerly it was some film studio and the memoirs of that era still alive in overall theme impact specially on open air pool side restaurant
Nice decorated rooms with glass and paintings with season flowers
Staff very cordial 6 buffet breakfast really very good and multiple cuisine option, v.nice filter coffee

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arpanmehta2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are glad you found the hotel suitably located to meet your needs. Your kind and encouraging words towards the quality and service of the hotel and the ambience are truly warming for us. Hoping to welcome you back very soon!!

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed four nights in total with two nights at different times. The desk staff on our arrival not friendly and feel they set the trend for the hotel. We were placed in a room that was clean and comfortable but was noisy and smelly. We we were told that they were renovating. However, walking the floor and speaking to the housekeeping we found empty rooms on our floor that didn't have these issues. After much complaining we were moved. Rooms good and food good. Our next problem was not giving us messages which meant we missed our plane. However, on our next visit better room, and they were accommodating with assisting us to get o the airport, bent over backwards. The hotel looks very nice and special hen you first come in but the front desk need to be friendlier and less stiff. The rest of the staff are great. Would I go there again, possibly not as we didn't think it was central to a lot.

Room Tip: If they renovating, ask what floors and where
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastyge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for your discomfort with our services. We hope that the change of room helped make it a better experience for you, on the whole. We have commenced the renovation process in a phased manner since June of 2011 and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back personally. It feels great to know that you enjoyed the food at the hotel. We hope to be given the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit!!

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

1.centrally located
2. formerly it was some film studio and the memoirs of that era still alive in overall theme impact
3. beautifully decorated rooms with glass and paintings
4. right from entrance you feel special
5. staff very cordial
6 buffet breakfast really very good and multiple cuisine option

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drajay2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed the quality of food, standard of service by our staff and the design element of the hotel. It is these encouraging words that help us surge forward and serve you better. We look forward to your next visit !!

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
170 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This property is located in the heart of Chennai - Nungambakkam area. Was here for a business trip in the month of September 2012. The staff is warm and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean and we faced no problems whatsoever. Aqua, the bar by the poolside is a beautiful place to have a drink in the afternoons. Also the Thai restaurant has authentic Thai food which is highly recommended. The staff was helpful in arranging a small tour for us on the weekend to Pondicherry. The location is just right if you do not mind the hustle bustle of the city. The rooms maybe slightly expensive, but it is worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
The staff at The Park Chennai is excited over the comments of your stay with us which seems to have been a very happy one from your arrival to departure. It is very kind of you to have penned this down for our other prospective guests as well as the team

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bad homburg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

many years staying in chennai in the park hotel, unfortunally, its not getting better, the restaurants are good, the thai, the normal restaurant, good quality food for not expensive prices, but the room are quite old, still they started to renovate some floors, i am not staying in one of these floors, and the smell from the elevator to the room is really unique, unique bad

the service is good, but some points are not acceptable, for example that they started to renovate the room next to me until 2 in the night

nice gym

Room Tip: look for a renovated floor, first floor for example
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Extremely sorry that you experienced an unpleasant odour in the corridor that you stayed on while with us. This is certainly not normal and could have been an engineering problem. Please rest assure that this situation does not exist anymore as we have not received any negative feedback in the recent past from our other guests. The hotel is undergoing renovations and we will definitely do our best to control the disturbance this could cause to our guests. Thank you for your positive comments on Food and Service.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

No venturlation for shower, could hear disco music at night / was told all rooms were quiet - dishonest, food prices 10 x more than the street, no free wifi what a joke, floor uneven. Hotel taxi 4 x more than the street. This place needs a total refit. Will never go there again. Sterile atmosphere.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Sorry to hear your views on our hotel. We regret that you were told that all rooms are quiet because while the larger part of the Hotel is definitely quiet our Bar and Night Club music does carry to some rooms which are located directly above them. If you had enquired our staff should have allotted a room to you where the sound would not reach. We must however point out that our pricing is the same if not lesser than any other hotel in the same category and we are certainly not in any way dishonest in our dealings with our valued customer. When you do visit Chennai next, even if you stay in any other hotel I look forward to the opportunity of meeting with you to help you see us differently.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#11 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#94 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Accord Metropolitan
#28 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#29 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#23 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Property: The Park Chennai
Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotels Chennai
The Park Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing