We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my second visit to le royal meridian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #23 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Chennai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my second visit to le royal meridian”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

it is a wonderful hotel to be visited at least for one time. But this is my second time out there i already explored many things out there about its features i have enjoyed. This time i gone alone not to stay but to visit my friend who was checked in there, he was quiet happy with the hotel placement is near the airport and a wonderful room service. i too stayed with him and enjoyed there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    356
    158
    75
    56
See reviews for
161
65
103
733
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Although rooms are a bit dated, hotel is very clean and staff very helpful. Couple notes:
1. Desk lamp in room is very dim and not useful for writing purpose.
2. Check out processing time is long (typical of Starwood hotels in India.)
3. Airport drop off driver is annoying when constantly reminding passenger that they must tip.
4. Room is very clean. It would be nicer if they had floor instead of carpet in the humid southern Indian climate.
5. Coffee shop is very good and Indian food at Navaratna is very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I stayed at the Le royal meridien hotel a few months ago when I was on a business trip. Even though the hotel was huge and had lots of guests staying there, the service was impeccable. The rooms were as luxurious as I expected and the other amenities in the hotel were really superb as well. I like to work out and keep fit as much as possible.
The gym at the hotel was up to the highest standards and the jogging track on the terrace of the hotel was a joy to run on. I had one meal at Cilantro which offers international cuisine and the food there was good. It was not as good as I hoped it would be, though. Maybe the high standards of hotel in other areas increased my expectations. But overall, the experience was memorable and I found it to be worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Food vanishes on the fly, roti's never reach nor does the pulao. Satisfy with what ever is available. Not even curd rice to hit your tastebud. But one thing constantly assured throughout the buffet party is pulao, roti and rice is arriving. It;s the enchanted buffet for sure - Only @ Re Royal Meridien Chennai . This in my 10's visit, and the buffet service for all business meets during these visit is in the same order. They never change the Enchanted buffet service - You should only dream of having satisfied your pallet.
COmmon Toilets never get cleaned, could find overflowing men's washroom

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trueepisode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I was fasting for it being the holy month of Ramdaan. What impressed me the most was the arrangements Le Meridian had made for the fasting guests. They had complimentary snacks and meal available in their restaurant from 12 AM to 5 AM daily. This was very considerate of the hotel management. My customers were delighted by the services offered and the ease of travel from this hotel to our office.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonisAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I stayed for two nights this week. I had asked for a non-smoking room but was given a smoking. This was promptly and quite agreeably corrected. The room was nice, with a couch, bedside console for monitoring lights, temp, etc. Bathroom was spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was not over-the-top, but perfectly good, and in fact, more to my liking than the wasteful extravaganzas you sometimes see.

My sole complaint was room temp. Set at the warmest setting (26C) it was still uncomfortably cold. Almost windy from the force of the vents. I got up in the night and put on half my clothes. I finally puuled some down pillows over myself as a wind/col barrier. In the morning I requested and received an extra blanket and that was fine for sleep. Still cold for doing work, etc.

I tried it without AC but the humidity and emp climbed uncomfortably and quickly.
At checkout I was charged for someone else's trip using the hotel car and although I was late for a plane and they knew it, I had to stay while they went to bookkeeping and found signed trip vouchers, even though they were clearly not in my name. I chalk that up to inexperience at the desk... they were otherwise charming.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel location is not very good....but food quality is good..good place to do meeting...but the place location is very bad......overall it is ok..but not one of the best le meridian hotels...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drrishijain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,653 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
997 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Chennai
#10 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,220 reviews
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#31 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
751 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing