We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hablis Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OYO 1443 Hotel Mount Heera(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Familia(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Mount Plaza Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Sri Ganesha Palace(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Tiara(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashok Residency(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mount Manor(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,296 results
Traveler rating
599
393
168
79
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
599
393
168
79
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscilantro restaurantclose to the airportsea foodhealth clubexcellent servicestar hotelget togetherbanquet hallroom serviceexcellent stayswimming poolspecial mentionspecial thanksbusiness triptravel deskcourteous staffhouse keeping
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,166 - 1,171 of 1,296 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2010

le royal is a awesome hotel with a luxurious look in outside as well as inside the hotel. its kind of party making hotel, its a better place for party making. In third floor of the hotel there is a restaurent it has a theme of garden and the food provided the is mostly sea foods.Its a nice and cozy experience to got stayed in that hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I was there twice in the last 15 days to Le Meridian. Both the times my guests stayed in the hotel. I went to meet them. Once to have a discussion and 2nd time for a mini conference. The lobby is fantastic and one has to only visit to experience it. About 50-60 people can sit and have chat/discussions. The lobby is huge and cirular in shape. It has a beautiful and small waterfall in the middle. A bigger one can be seen next to the lobby, visible through the glass wall. If you can wait for some time on the opposite side of the entrance, within the lobby, you will see flights alighting, as the hotel is very near to airport. You will never forget this memorable experience of watching flights moving down towards airport. This is one of the best lobbys i have ever seen in the hotels i visited.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank bsp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I use to visit chennai regularly for business purpose and everytime i use to stay in Meridien . This hotel is excellent place to stay, rooms will be very clean, hotel located in center of city and very safe and secure. Staffs and service provided will be extremely satisfactory.
I never missed to take my breakfast and dinner during my stay from there. Food is delicious and very good. Rooms are decorated in a clean, modern style. This place is easy accessible from all the place in city near to city bus terminal.
Price wise bit expensive but really worth staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuva2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Please stay away from this hotel. This one looks great from outside, however the rooms smells like a old den. Carpet stinks. Their customer the worse I have ever seen in this type of hotels.

There are lot of other options in Chennai, stay in Marriott instead this one.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jijo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed in the Meridien Chennai for two nights. Lobby ok. Exterior of the hotel - hmm - tatty to name it (example: when the walls were painted the contractors obviously did not know about adhesive tape to protect the window frames from colour spots).

The room was old and smelly. Furniture was used up almost completely, electrical insulation from the 1970ies, old TV and the room was not really clean.

The breakfast was average to poor - the service was bad. The cook forgot my order on all two occasions. Orange juice was available only in Tetra packs - not fresh. The staff was ripping the plates off the table before you could empty your mouth. Not a great esperience.

The discounted rate was EURO 270 for two nights including tax. Don`t forget the tax in India. This has always been an issue when discussing room rates.

Final verdict: Not a 5-star place. Not at all.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grafschafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews