We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to buck up!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #26 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bangalore
Level Contributor
247 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Needs to buck up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have been staying here regularly over the years. Frankly, my experiences here have been hot/cold! Some of my stays have been great and some have been downright bad.

The property is nice and is located close to the airport and business locations. The rooms are spacious but not many of them have good views. I found most rooms dark with less outside light. Room controls do not work well (last stay - bath light switch did not work).

Service is good and bad. My past 2-3 stays have been OK but sometime back, the service was very poor.

The hotel has all facilities - gym, pool, spa, conference rooms etc. I think this has gone through quite a few management changes.

It is a good hotel but with some renovation and better management this could be a much better one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeshkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai.,

We would like to thank you for choosing at Le Royal Méridien Chennai for your stay and sharing your feedback which will surely help us to improve.

It is always disappointing to hear that the people failed to deliver on this occasion. Please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience.Though we strive to offer the best value to our patrons, it is disappointing for us to learn of the inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. We would like to assure you that your concern has been duly noted and we are taking corrective measures to avoid such instances in future.

I do hope that you will be able to put this one off experience deviation behind you and give us another opportunity to serve you. Once again, thank you for sparing your valuable time for your feedback and we look forward to be your hosts soon again.

Warm Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    326
    153
    72
    50
See reviews for
140
58
99
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here for one night only. The room was good, spacious and clean. The breakfast had an excellent spread.

The only drawback was being asked by three people who claimed to be the "manager" if everything was okay while I was having my breakfast. I think asking once should be enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in 1073 which faced inwards to the lobby area. I would prefer rooms that had a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeldsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and appreciating our services and offerings on this public forum. Le Royal Meridien Chennai offers the best of everything to guests to make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and that our associates were able to take good care of you. We have also shared your feedback with our manager's to give supreme guest experience. We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in october 2013. Hotel rooms and other decor is good, but services and staff was not good. I stayed for five nights and asked for free pickup on arrival but was told that it was not possible with my room category ,later call was transfered to a senior manager who agreed to send me a vehicle for free pick up from airport. Later at time of check out pick up charges were added to my bill , and inqury i was told that it was not free , when i wanted to talk with the person who promised me for free pickup on phone , no one knew who he was. also the charges were three times more than normal branded taxi service charges.Housekeeping service was also very slow and responded after several reminders. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Hotel is good but dont believe in any verbal promises for any service by staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shriniket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor. We are disappointed that your stay at our hotel was less than perfect and regret the inconvenience that you faced while staying with us and have noted your concerns. We have informed the relevant departments regarding the issues you faced and the false promises given by our staffs. We will ensure that the necessary actions are taken to avoid such instances in future.
We assure you that this was a one off occurrence and we would love to have you again and promise you a better experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful south Indian food is the identification of this grand hotel.I loved the Sambhar,the rasam,the Thali at Navaratna and above all the Anjeer ka halwa at Navaratna.I can say for sure that south Indian food available is one of the best in entire India.
Hotel is decorated like a palace with clean swimming pool,lush green centre garden and reception hall under a big dome.
Rooms are lavishly decorated,amenities are perfect.
Overall ,staying here is a nice experience.

Room Tip: Take a room with view of inner garden,swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and appreciating our services and offerings on this public forum. Le Royal Meridien Chennai offers the best of everything to guests to make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and enjoyed the south Indian thali food at Navaratna. We have shared your kind remarks with our team members that have motivated them to continue performing to the best of their abilities.
We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I checked into this hotel on 28th of February and so far it has been an excellent experience. I really like how every body is so kind and at your service attitude. They have excellent food and house keeping is amazing. I wanted to give special recognition to Rajasekar from house keeping who has really provided a great service.

Thanks,
Mohammed Aleem.
Room No: 3073.

Room Tip: i was staying on 3rd floor rm number 3073 - good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mabdulaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and appreciating our services and offerings on this public forum. Le Royal Meridien Chennai offers the best of everything to guests to make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are glad that the convenient location of our hotel, in proximity to airport and other commercial hubs, added value to your stay.
At Le Royal Meridien Chennai, the services and amenities are designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers and your review is a testimony to our efforts. We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and that our associates were able to take good care of you. We have shared your kind remarks with our team members that have motivated them to continue performing to the best of their abilities.
We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an upscale, old world, business traveller's hotel. It is clean, comfortable, and has attentive staff.
Emirates lost my luggage on my flight into Chennai (they lost the luggage in Dubai, it never made it onto my flight) and the hotel staff was very understanding of the difficulty this placed on me. The porters stayed on Emirates, calling the airport every few hours pressing on them to find and deliver the luggage -- every shift of porters was aware of the situation and stayed on top of it. In addition the hotel offered same day laundry for free in an attempt to make life a little easier -- a very nice gesture.
The restaurant staff also made every attempt to please us.
Is it the grandest, most beautiful hotel in Chennai? No. But it is a very nice hotel, staffed by quality people who will make every effort to take care of you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LePirateDeAvalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and appreciating our services and offerings on this public forum. Le Royal Meridien Chennai offers the best of everything to guests to make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and that our associates were able to take good care of you. We have shared your kind remarks with our team members that have motivated them to continue performing to the best of their abilities.
We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Both the restaurants were very good. The hotel is neither close to the airport or the centre of Chennai and is almost surrounded by a building site for the new Metro. It will probably be better when this is completed but it will still have a lot of concrete structures right outside.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwm531gbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!!
We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and that our associates were able to take good care of you. We have shared your kind remarks with our team members that have motivated them to continue performing to the best of their abilities. We regret the inconvenience caused due to the location and the construction going on.
We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#23 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel GRT Chennai
#19 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Trident, Chennai
#9 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Starwood APAC and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Chennai Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing