We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #25 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here for one night only. The room was good, spacious and clean. The breakfast had an excellent spread.

The only drawback was being asked by three people who claimed to be the "manager" if everything was okay while I was having my breakfast. I think asking once should be enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in 1073 which faced inwards to the lobby area. I would prefer rooms that had a view of the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeldsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and appreciating our services and offerings on this public forum. Le Royal Meridien Chennai offers the best of everything to guests to make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and that our associates were able to take good care of you. We have also shared your feedback with our manager's to give supreme guest experience. We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
There are newer reviews for Le Royal Meridien Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in october 2013. Hotel rooms and other decor is good, but services and staff was not good. I stayed for five nights and asked for free pickup on arrival but was told that it was not possible with my room category ,later call was transfered to a senior manager who agreed to send me a vehicle for free pick up from airport. Later at time of check out pick up charges were added to my bill , and inqury i was told that it was not free , when i wanted to talk with the person who promised me for free pickup on phone , no one knew who he was. also the charges were three times more than normal branded taxi service charges.Housekeeping service was also very slow and responded after several reminders. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Hotel is good but dont believe in any verbal promises for any service by staff
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shriniket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor. We are disappointed that your stay at our hotel was less than perfect and regret the inconvenience that you faced while staying with us and have noted your concerns. We have informed the relevant departments regarding the issues you faced and the false promises given by our staffs. We will ensure that the necessary actions are taken to avoid such instances in future.
We assure you that this was a one off occurrence and we would love to have you again and promise you a better experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful south Indian food is the identification of this grand hotel.I loved the Sambhar,the rasam,the Thali at Navaratna and above all the Anjeer ka halwa at Navaratna.I can say for sure that south Indian food available is one of the best in entire India.
Hotel is decorated like a palace with clean swimming pool,lush green centre garden and reception hall under a big dome.
Rooms are lavishly decorated,amenities are perfect.
Overall ,staying here is a nice experience.

Room Tip: Take a room with view of inner garden,swimming pool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and appreciating our services and offerings on this public forum. Le Royal Meridien Chennai offers the best of everything to guests to make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and enjoyed the south Indian thali food at Navaratna. We have shared your kind remarks with our team members that have motivated them to continue performing to the best of their abilities.
We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I checked into this hotel on 28th of February and so far it has been an excellent experience. I really like how every body is so kind and at your service attitude. They have excellent food and house keeping is amazing. I wanted to give special recognition to Rajasekar from house keeping who has really provided a great service.

Thanks,
Mohammed Aleem.
Room No: 3073.

Room Tip: i was staying on 3rd floor rm number 3073 - good room
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabdulaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and appreciating our services and offerings on this public forum. Le Royal Meridien Chennai offers the best of everything to guests to make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are glad that the convenient location of our hotel, in proximity to airport and other commercial hubs, added value to your stay.
At Le Royal Meridien Chennai, the services and amenities are designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers and your review is a testimony to our efforts. We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and that our associates were able to take good care of you. We have shared your kind remarks with our team members that have motivated them to continue performing to the best of their abilities.
We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is an upscale, old world, business traveller's hotel. It is clean, comfortable, and has attentive staff.
Emirates lost my luggage on my flight into Chennai (they lost the luggage in Dubai, it never made it onto my flight) and the hotel staff was very understanding of the difficulty this placed on me. The porters stayed on Emirates, calling the airport every few hours pressing on them to find and deliver the luggage -- every shift of porters was aware of the situation and stayed on top of it. In addition the hotel offered same day laundry for free in an attempt to make life a little easier -- a very nice gesture.
The restaurant staff also made every attempt to please us.
Is it the grandest, most beautiful hotel in Chennai? No. But it is a very nice hotel, staffed by quality people who will make every effort to take care of you.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank LePirateDeAvalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and appreciating our services and offerings on this public forum. Le Royal Meridien Chennai offers the best of everything to guests to make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and that our associates were able to take good care of you. We have shared your kind remarks with our team members that have motivated them to continue performing to the best of their abilities.
We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Both the restaurants were very good. The hotel is neither close to the airport or the centre of Chennai and is almost surrounded by a building site for the new Metro. It will probably be better when this is completed but it will still have a lot of concrete structures right outside.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwm531gbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!!
We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and that our associates were able to take good care of you. We have shared your kind remarks with our team members that have motivated them to continue performing to the best of their abilities. We regret the inconvenience caused due to the location and the construction going on.
We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I booked a room#2021 in Le Royal Meridian on 21st Feb.

The warm welcome in the reception was very cordial and created a homely feeling. Check-in process was so quick and escort to the room happened very smoothly. The room was located in the second floor facing the lobby. Very nice view. :-) And the checkout was done within few minutes.
It was very cozy and I liked the stay over there.

Comments: The lighting in the room can be made little brighter.

I visited Le Meridian to organize a corporate event for 800 pax. The Grand Madras Pavilion was huge to accommodate a big crowd. Everyone enjoyed the food and praised about it. It was very sumptuous. The staff was very courteous and supported us with a smiling face. Since it is close to airport and all IT corridors like OMR and GST, it is ideal for a business stay.

I would definitely recommend Le Royal Meridian to everyone for a pleasant and memorable stay in Chennai.

Room Tip: Book a room viewing the lobby. It gave a bird's eye view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issacarulraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and appreciating our services and offerings on this public forum. Le Royal Meridien Chennai offers the best of everything to guests to make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are glad that the convenient location of our hotel, in proximity to airport and other commercial hubs, added value to your stay.
At Le Royal Meridien Chennai, the services and amenities are designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers and your review is a testimony to our efforts. We are pleased to know that you found our offering in sync with your expectations and that our associates were able to take good care of you. We have shared your kind remarks with our team members that have motivated them to continue performing to the best of their abilities.
We thank you again for your patronage and wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again with another enriching experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Singh Nindra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#19 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,677 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,450 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Chennai
#10 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,227 reviews
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#30 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
762 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $105 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing