We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #24 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Vadodara, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel was clean and neat. The breakfast spread was very good. It has one of the best gyms with the best equipment. The swimming pool should be protected from pigeons with nets, otherwise the water was clean and good. Inside the room, the cupboard doors make a little sound and so attention should be paid for their upkeep. Overall experience is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Bala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
We thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your feedback on this traveler’s forum.
It makes us happy to know that you were impressed with our service and amenities. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we strive to please our guests with our world-class hospitality standards. We are indeed glad to learn that our upkeep, facilities and breakfast spread were in sync with your desired expectations.
We also thank you for highlighting our areas of improvement that will certainly help us make our services even better.
Once again, many thanks for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit with an even better stay experience.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    356
    158
    75
    56
See reviews for
160
65
103
733
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

What an increadible experience. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty and made my stay so wonderful. The all day dining was sublime and absolutely delicious. The facilities where also fantastic including a wonderfully relaxing pool area and great newly refurbished workout space. I had such a wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 731mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
We thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Located centrally, our hotel is a preferred choice for both the business and the leisure travelers. We are glad that you found our pool area wonderfully relaxing and had a good workout session at our state-of-the-art gymnasium. We have shared your kind words with the staff and this has certainly motivated them to perform their duties to the best of their abilities.
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Dilawar Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hi All,

I stayed there just for a night on a business trip and everything fell apart since beginning. Reception was stinking with pesticides and beds were spotted with curry stains. A five star hotel and the least you would like have a is a clean room. I had buffet lunch and that was very limited. I could have a better food if i have gone out. The only good thing happened was I met the great Mr. Anupam Kher. I can suggest you some good options but definitely not this one. You can try Hyatt Regency, Sheraton or any other equivalent hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indiansaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilawarN, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!!

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor. We are disappointed that your stay at our hotel was less than perfect and regret the inconvenience that you faced while staying with us and have noted your concerns. We have informed the relevant departments regarding the issues you faced and will ensure that the necessary changes are made.
We assure you that this was a one off occurrence and we would love to have you again and promise you a better experience.

Best Regards,

Dilawar Nindra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here for 3 weeks in December 2009 but noticed the it was no longer listed in my profile so am just re-adding this in. The hotel itself was tidy, clean, well appointed with great facilities (pool, gym etc) and very convenient for the airport which is close by. Food was excellent with plenty of choice every day at breakfast and evening meal (didn't have lunch there).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the kitchens and laundry as the noise will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
We thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.
Located centrally, our hotel is a preferred choice for both the business and the leisure travellers. We are glad that you found our location convenient and liked our dining facility. All our rooms at Le Royal Meridien Chennai are well furnished, elegantly decorated, and perfectly maintained. We are glad that our accommodations, facilities, services, and the overall ambiance of the hotel met your expectations.
We thank you for your patronage and look forward to hosting you at our hotel in future.
Best Regards,

Stanley Menon
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Royal Meridien is a good hotel with good breakfast & food
The location is close to airpoet and fair grounds , but not in the city
the hotel has cars, which had very fair price , we paid $ 13 for 3 hours (Rupee 1100)
the car was waiting while we were shopping
you must make deal before leaving
one of our friend had his birthday and they gave us a free car
When he entered his room in the evening, the manager Mr.Sairam, had arranged beautiful cake
which was very thoughtful.
Internet very slowish , they put a router in the room but it comes and goes

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai.
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.
Located in proximity to the airport and other prominent landmarks, Le Royal Meridien Chennai strives to provide the best of everything to its esteemed patrons. We are glad that you found our location and hospitality standards at par with your expectation. Your kind words with regards to our food quality have motivated the entire team to continue to strive for excellence. We value even the small gestures and are happy that you liked the arrangements for your friend’s birthday. Your concern regarding the internet has been noted and we assure you that appropriate action will be taken.
We look forward to your continued patronage in the near future.
Best Regards,

Stanley Menon
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We recently stayed here and I can say that the hotel is actually a beautiful old building in Chennai. It's perfectly suitable for a business trip and possibly even for a quick stop in Chennai as you jump off to other towns beyond, which you should be doing on your trip to India. It's supposed to be a luxury hotel so I am rating it as one and it would almost be there except you do notice the frays at the edges. You go out to the pool area and you will notice that it's been a while since they renovate or clean up in general. It doesn't have the sheen that you would expect from a luxury hotel and one that charges what they do. That said, in general, the rooms are perfectly nice for Chennai and I had no trouble with hot water. Also, the best thing about the place is the food - it seems as though they have some great cooks working there now and it shows. The buffet would be the best thing about

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0esnttravelen0ugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien, Chennai!
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to welcome you at our hotel and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Located in proximity to the airport and other prominent landmarks, Le Royal Meridien Chennai strives to provide the best of everything to its esteemed patrons. We are glad to know that your stay with us was peaceful, relaxing and comfortable as we strive to serve the very best to our guests.It is our constant endeavor to exceed expectations of our guests and to build a long-term relationship with them. Your comments will be immediately brought into attention of our Executive committee.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the food being served at our hotel. We have shared your kind words with the team in the kitchen and this has certainly motivated them to perform their duties to the best of their abilities.
We thank you for your appreciation and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Regards,

Stanley Menon
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Looks like a very old property but nicely kept. Not enough people moving around so I had a lot of Privacy. Staff was very good and also the FOOD was the BEST Part. The North Indian Style Foods where simply tasty. The breakfast menu was very good. The hotel being near to Airport is a little noisy from the nearby Flyover but since not exactly on the main road. Your peace isn't disturbed.

Room Tip: Choose the Swimming Pool View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samarth15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien, Chennai!
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to welcome you at our hotel and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Located in proximity to the airport and other prominent landmarks, Le Royal Meridien Chennai strives to provide the best of everything to its esteemed patrons. We are glad to know that your stay with us was peaceful, relaxing and comfortable as we strive to serve the very best to our guests. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the food being served at our hotel. We have shared your kind words with the team in the kitchen and this has certainly motivated them to perform their duties to the best of their abilities.
We thank you for your appreciation and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best Regards,
Stanley Menon
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,653 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
997 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Chennai
#10 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,218 reviews
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#31 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
750 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing