We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Party!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #26 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
coimbatore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year Party!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

it was fun time at the hotel during the new year eve and M/s Payal & troupe from mumbai entertained us with Mujra dance; DJ was good and so also the MC. Food was satisfactory.All in all an enjoyable evening!
The most admirable time I had was the previous evening at the hotel when I noticed the Chairman leave the premises for the day - - he shook hands with all the employees present in the lobby including senior Executives, Reception staff,bell boys,desk captain and finally the Doorman! Such humility and humbleness is rarely seen in today's corporate world! A fine example of a Team Leader! no wonder the spirit & atmosphere is so good in the hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank garycoimbatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai.

Many thanks for giving us an opportunity to host you at New Year’s party at our hotel. It was a pleasure having you and your family with us and your wonderful review encourages us to work more diligently towards excellence in hospitality to our valued guests.

At Le Royal Meridien Chennai, we know the importance of small gestures and consider the entire team as well as our guests as one cohesive unit which comes together to create an unique hospitality experience. We deeply appreciate your nice and kind words about our chairman. We are touched by your wonderful and deep observations. We have passed on your comments to our Chairman and he felt very happy about this. He is very much thankful for your nice words and he remains grateful to you.

We thank you again for taking time to share your thoughts and hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Best Regards,

Stanley Menon
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    326
    153
    72
    50
See reviews for
140
58
99
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This Meridien is an older hotel with a nice homely feel to it. The room was well appointed and comfortable although the plumbing was a little noisy and the decor a little tired in places, this however did not spoil my stay.
Staff were helpful and friendly the bar was pleasant and we ate in the buffet restaurant which was good.It had a fair selection of various cuisines and breakfast was also varied and of a good standard.
About a 40 minute drive from the airport the hotel would be on my list to stay at on my next visit to Chennai.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
It was nice to have you with us during your recent visit to Chennai. Located centrally, our hotel serves as a preferred destination for both the leisure and business travelers. We are glad to know that our location, accommodation, services, and dining facility met your expectations. We have noted your concerns regarding the decor and plumbing and the same has been forwarded to our housekeeping team.
We look forward to your continued patronage in the near future.
Best Regards,

Stanley Menon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were on a trip to south India and had stayed in Le Royal Meridian for a couple of nights. The hotel location is good as it is near to the airport. The lobby is massive with a beautifully decorated ceiling and the rooms are spacious. The food is excellent. The food at cilantro was also superb.
overall had an excellent stay. Thanks for the hospitality provided.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anuradha71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!

Many thanks for giving us an opportunity to welcome you at our hotel in Chennai. It was a pleasure to host you and we are happy to receive your kind appreciation on this public platform.

Located in proximity to the airport and other prominent landmarks, Le Royal Meridien Chennai strives to provide the best of everything to its esteemed patrons. We are glad that you found our location and hospitality standards at par with your expectation. Your kind words in regards to our food quality, interior and service have inspired the entire team to continue to strive for excellence and offer the best experience to the guests.

We thank you again for your patronage and hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Best Regards,

Stanley Menon
Front Office Manager
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I would give this property easy 4 stars, if it wasn't for these two issues:

1) Fraudulent additional charges on my credit card

2) A/C in the room that you couldn't turn off.

So, first the bad:

1) I was shocked that a reputable property like Le Meridien would pull a cheap credit card fraud trick on me. (Yes, I have already reported this to my credit card company.) This is a typical scam I've seen - you're presented a bill in local currency, and then they convert it to USD "for your convenience" charging you a 4% fee for this. First of all, there is no benefit for the customer here - if your bank charges you for foreign transactions, they will charge you the same fee whether the transaction was in USD or INR. Second, most experienced travelers use cards that don't charge you foreign transaction fees.. and finally - THIS IS FRAUD. Charging your customer a hidden fee while providing no value is just bad.

2) The rooms were loud and cold as you could not turn the AC off. Now, being in India.. most people may be just happy to have the AC working... but my standards for a place that charges more than $100/night are a bit higher.

Other minor issues:
- While checking out, they wanted to charge me for a third night.. even though I was there less than two days.
- Lights kept going on and off one night...
- There was no water in my room for about 30mins the same night...
- It was hard to get a regular cab at the hotel.. and they would just push you toward their overpriced hotel car service.
- the light switches in the room were kind of fancy.. but then didn't really work right. There was a few lights i couldn't turn on or off. (I would hear a switch click.. but nothing happened.)

The good
- Breakfast buffet was good. (food in general was good)
- Staff was quite friendly and tried to anticipate my needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IFlyCarryOnOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!

Many thanks for staying with us and reviewing our hotel on this public forum. It is our endeavor to provide the best stay experience to patrons and we regret that your stay with us was marked by a series of unfortunate incidents. We want to assure you that we would investigate the issues that you have mentioned and get them amended at the earliest.

Once again, we are disappointed to learn about your experience. However, we request you not to judge us by your recent experience and give us another chance to serve you with the hospitality standards that we are actually known for.

Best Regards,

Stanley Menon
Room Division Manager
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

As part of my business trip to Chennai, I checked in on 17th Dec & checked out on 18th Dec, 2013. It’s a decent 5-star hotel with spacious room and quality interiors.

Hotel is ideally located in close proximity of IT business parks as well as Airport.

I took dinner in one of the north Indian restaurant. Restaurant serves yummy starters as well as main course. Breakfast buffet spread as well as two live counters, one dedicated to south Indian dishes, are really great.

I was bit disappointed with Sauna in the gym not effective as well as most of the staff being not as pro-active as other 5 star hotels in India. Otherwise it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetan_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai!
We thank you for staying at our hotel in Chennai and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.
Located centrally, our hotel is a preferred choice of both the business and leisure travelers. We are glad that you found our location convenient during your stay and liked our accommodation and dining facility. We have taken a note of your concern regarding Sauna facility and will look into the matter and ensure that corrective measures are taken at the earliest.
We look forward to welcome you back with amended services and facilities on your next visit.
Regards,

Stanley Menon
Front Office Manager
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Le Royal Meridien last month for a couple of days. Overall, it was a good experience - we could see some areas for improvement.

As you enter, the main lobby is vast and very nice to behold. With all the space available, it looks like a good place to relax and meet people. We booked a standard room, but we got what looked like a small suite (2 rooms). However, the sitting area in the room was very small and only had space for a desk and chair - no couch. It seemed like an odd design for a room. The bed was comfortable.

A couple of irritating little things... First, I couldn't figure out how to turn off the lights with the rather fancy device they provided. This was so complicated that I started to wonder what was wrong with the traditional bedside switches. Second, there was no view from the room to speak of. The shades were drawn for a reason. The room overlooked an unclean part of the property (or was it the neighboring area?). Third, the bathroom fixtures were dated. It was tough the hold the shower in place so that the water would hit me and not the wall.

That said, I thought that I got a fantastic deal that included breakfast. The restaurant was just fine. The bar ambience and food was okay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kovilkalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyMenon, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai.
We thank you for staying at Le Royal Meridien Chennai and sharing your experience on this public platform.
Our hotel is highly preferred by our patrons for our exquisite hospitality and excellent services. We are glad that our accommodation, dining facility, and the overall ambiance of the hotel met with your expectations. We have noted the concerns expressed by you and will definitely look into the matter and see to it that the next time you visit our hotel you will have a pleasant and comfortable stay.
We look forward to your continued patronage in the near future.
Thanks and Regards,

Stanley Menon
Front Office Manger
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hospitality is obviously the most important factor for a hotel and this one scores on it. Add to it, well maintained rooms, courteous staff and a plesant ambience in general. No real cause for complains. Recommended. Bonus point for proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaldempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NalinaS, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Chennai.
We thank you for staying at our hotel in Chennai and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. At Le Royal Meridien Chennai, we always endeavor to offer the best services and facilities to our esteemed guests. And, we are pleased to know that you liked our accommodation, hospitality, and the overall ambiance of our hotel. Your note of appreciation will definitely encourage our associates to continue with your excellent work.
We look forward to your continued patronage in the near future.
Thanks & Regards,

Nalina Saravanan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#23 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel GRT Chennai
#19 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Trident, Chennai
#9 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Chennai Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing