We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #24 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location is closer to airport and Guindy area. The interior is pleasing, the lobby is large. The check in and check out was smooth. The staff very pleasing and courteous. The room was fairly large with big flat tv, the bathroom was also of decent size. The room service was fast and food was yummy. The buffet breakfast had very good spread of continental and local south Indian . Overall good experience with full marks to service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

A wonderful grand hotel!! The foyer is large and lush, and staff is helpful, friendly and available. Head up to the Kuval, the seafood restaurant and enjoy yummy fresh food. Everything was impeccable from the airport pick up to the day trips. Loved my time here, and will do it again!

Room Tip: Have the staff members show you how to get to the pool or else you will be lost in the maze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The interior of Le Meridien reminds you that this hotel has had its glory days but it is now just a shadow of its past. For such a big name, this hotel feels like it is way past its expiry date. The wall panelling, carpeting, furnitures and bathroom fixtures are just screaming old, old and old. The vast lobby area does not exude grandness but sadly abandonment by potential guests who are probably flocking to a more fresh and modern establishments.There is a fitness centre available but again it is ancient and cramped given that it is situated in 2 small rooms (cardio and weights separated) through a maze like corridors.

Nevertheless, the great service and friendly staff compensates a little some of the above shortcomings. Breakfast at Cilantro cafe was quite delicious if you try the south Indian menu from the buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

this is great place for business travellers. rooms are are large and are with all amenities including well stocked bar. our plan included breakfast- which was great. staff was great help and the service was excellent. hotel is 20 minutes drive from airport

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwamedh1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I usually visit places and hotels as across different cities & it's an immense to express that how much I enjoyed my Monday evening and over night stay @ Le Royal, such a great honor and amazing service visiting has been an extraordinary experience. With great respect and admiration

The host was expected to make sure the needs of his guests were seen to, a feel of WOW exp for me.

I wish to thank everyone for the amazing welcome and hospitality here at Le Royal Meridien. Absolutely the best and the service even better.

And how can I forget to mention about "Happy Hours" just too good.

Looking forward for another visit !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apexab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have been there for a week. My 1st day experience was awesome but with each passing day service and quality loopholes got exposed. It reached to the extent that 2 day before I had to leave the hotel, they were not picking up the laundry even after calling my times. At last they told me that they won't be able to give it back on time, after 2 days!. Many things were missing from the room. Basic things were absent- hair dryer, shaving kit, shampoo, slippers to name a few. I had to call them to provide me these things. The quality of shaving razor, toothpaste was horrible. That razor cut me at various places on the neck. Don't use that even by mistake. They gave me Rs.10 toothbrush. I advise you to carry all these basic utility things with yourself.
Coming to food now. Every morning I was getting the same typical south Indian breakfast(buffet system). If you are going there for 1 or 2 day then its okay. But eating same breakfast over and over..I can't tell you how it feels. Lunch and dinner was good though.
They have got only 60 TV channels there, many of which are in Tamil.
Internet charges are too high considering the speed they are providing. Rs.337 for one hour for that speed! You got to be kidding me.
Loved the Dome. Every evening, a pianist used to play the likes of Beethoven, Bach there which felt great. Very soothing.
And one more thing, putting aside receptionist, none of the staff of the hotel I talked to was proficient in English. I had a horrible time explaining the laundryman when to give clothes back.
I know I am too critical, but again everyone is appreciating the hotel. You should know the other half.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJS786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I normally go to the restaurants in Le Royal Meridien Chennai. This time, I stayed in the hotel with my friends for a night. I found the pleasant reception, very good environment in the room, excellent food and service in Cilantro Restaurant and marvelous SPA services.

Room Tip: Choose Royal Meridien at Chennai if you want to enjoy stay and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#20 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,691 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,469 reviews
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#30 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Chennai
#9 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,239 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,039 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $103 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing